#### Clearinghouse Rule 21-086

## STATE OF WISCONSIN DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD

\_\_\_\_\_

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES

: (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE

· (CLEARCH VOITO COE ROLL)

#### PROPOSED ORDER

An order of the Dentistry Examining Board to revise DE 11.025 (3) (i), relating to requirements for class III permits for anesthesia.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

-----

#### **ANALYSIS**

Statutes interpreted: s. 447.02 (2) (b), Stats.

**Statutory authority:** ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 447.02 (2) (b), Stats.

#### **Explanation of agency authority:**

Each Examining Board shall promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the profession to which it pertains, and define and enforce professional conduct and unethical practices not inconsistent with the law relating to the particular profession. [ s. 15.08 (5) (b), Stats.]

The Examining Board shall promulgate rules specifying the standards, conditions and any educational requirements that are in addition to the requirements specified in s. 447.04 (1) that must be met by a dentist to be permitted to induce general anesthesia or conscious sedation in connection with the practice of dentistry. [s. 447.02 (2) (b), Stats.]

**Related statute or rule:** s. 447.04 (1), Stats.

### Plain language analysis:

The rule clarifies that dentists who apply for a Class 3 anesthesia permit allowing a dentist to perform deep sedation or general anesthesia, as an option for receiving the permit complete a postdoctoral residency in an accredited dental program in dental anesthesiology.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None.

Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of how and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in drafting the proposed rule: No comments were received on the statement of scope.

## Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

**Illinois**: Illinois does not require a permit for minimal sedation. Moderate sedation requires a Permit A. Deep sedation or general anesthesia requires a Permit B. To receive a Permit B, a dentist must be a diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, or complete 2 years of advanced training in anesthesiology or have a specialty license in oral and maxillofacial surgery. (225 ILCS 25/8.1)

**Iowa**: Iowa requires a general anesthesia permit if the dentist is applying deep sedation or general anesthesia. To qualify for a moderate sedation permit, the applicant shall complete a training program approved by the board that consists of a minimum of 60 hours of instruction and management of at least 20 patients or an accredited residency program that includes: formal training and clinical experiences in moderate sedation; a training that includes rescuing patients from a deeper level of sedation than intended; and if intends to utilize on pediatric or ASA III or IV patients, an accredited residency program that includes formal training in anesthesia and clinical experience in managing pediatric or ASA III or IV patients. To qualify for a general anesthesia permit, the applicant shall compete an advanced education program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation that provides training in deep sedation and general anesthesia; a minimum of one year of advanced training in anesthesiology and related academic subjects in a training program approved by the anesthesia credentials committee of the board; formal training in airway management; and current ACLS certification. (IAC 650-29.11)

Michigan: Under Chapter 6 of the Michigan Administrative Rules, R338.11601 - R338.11605, the requirements for general anesthesia, intervenous conscience sedation and enteral sedation are identified. Under R338.11603, Michigan adopts the standards for advanced training in anesthesia and pain control and training in intravenous conscious sedation as identified by the Commission on Dental Education of the American Dental Association in the publication entitled "Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students" (October 2012). Michigan adopts the standards for enteral sedation course as outlined in the Dental Education of the American Dental Association in the publication entitled "Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students" (October 2012).

**Minnesota:** Minnesota requires the following education for deep sedation or general anesthesia: a didactic and clinical program at a dental school, hospital, or graduate medical or dental program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation equivalent to a program for advanced specialty education in oral and maxillofacial surgery or a one year residency in general anesthesia at an institution certified by the American Society of Anesthesiology, the American Medical Association, or the Joint Commission on Hospital Accreditation with minimum number of hours for various

procedures. The dentist must also have ACLS or PALS certification and CPR certification. (Minnesota Administrative Rules 3100.3600)

#### **Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:**

The Dentistry Examining Board members were consulted in the development of this rule project.

# Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact analysis:

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local government units, and individuals. No comments were received.

#### Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis:

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached.

#### **Effect on small business:**

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats. The Department's Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at <a href="mailto:Daniel.Hereth@wisconsin.gov">Daniel.Hereth@wisconsin.gov</a>, or by calling (608) 267-2435.

### Agency contact person:

Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8306; telephone 608-267-7139; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov.

#### Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

Comments may be submitted to Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 4822 Madison Yards Way, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8366, or by email to DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received at or before the public hearing, held on January 5, 2022 at 9:00 a.m., to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings.

-----

#### TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1 DE 11.025 (3) (i) 4. is amended to read:

**DE 11.025** (3) (i) 4. Completion of a postdoctoral residency in an accredited dental program in dental anesthesiology.

first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.
(END OF TEXT OF RULE)