
  Page 1 

Clearinghouse Rule 21-032 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD 

DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES 

      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE             ) 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

PROPOSED ORDER 

An order of the Dentistry Examining Board to create DE 2.035, relating to reciprocal credentials 

for service members, former service members, and their spouses. 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted:   

Section 440.09, Stats. 

Statutory authority:   

Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 440.09 (5), Stats. 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.08 (5) (b), Stats., provides that an examining board “[s]hall promulgate rules for its 

own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains, and define and 

enforce professional conduct and unethical practices not inconsistent with the law relating to the 

particular trade or profession.” 

Section 440.09 (5), Stats., provides that “[t]he department or credentialing board, as appropriate, 

may promulgate rules necessary to implement this section.” 

Related statute or rule:   

Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to service 

members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and former service 

members. 

Plain language analysis: 

The proposed rule creates a provision to implement s. 440.09, Stats., as amended by 2019 

Wisconsin Act 143. Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal 

credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members 

and former service members. 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 
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None. 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

Illinois:   

The Illinois Statutes provide for the expedited licensure of service members and their spouses 

(20 ILCS 5/5-715). “Service member” includes a person whose active duty service concluded 

within the 2 years preceding application for licensure. A license issued to a service member or 

the spouse of a service member may be renewed.   

Iowa:   

Rules of the Professional Licensure Division of the Iowa Department of Public Health provide 

for the expedited reciprocal licensure of a veteran or a spouse of an active duty service member 

(645 IAC 645.20.3). A reciprocal license issued to a veteran or a spouse of an active duty service 

member may be renewed. 

Michigan:   

The Michigan Statutes provide for temporary licensure of the spouse of an active duty service 

member (MCL 339.213). A temporary license is valid for 6 months and may be renewed for one 

additional 6-month term if it is determined the licensee continues to meet the requirements for 

temporary licensure and needs additional time to fulfill the requirements for initial licensure. 

Minnesota:   

The Minnesota Statutes provide for temporary licensure of an individual who is an active duty 

military member, the spouse of an active duty military member, or a veteran who has left service 

in the 2 years preceding the date of license application (2020 Minnesota Statutes, Section 

197.4552). A temporary license allows a qualified individual to perform regulated professional 

services for a limited length of time as determined by the applicable licensing board. During the 

temporary license period, the individual must complete the full application procedure as required 

by applicable law. 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of s. 440.09, Stats., as amended 

by 2019 Wisconsin Act 143, and obtaining input and feedback from the Dentistry Examining 

Board. 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

The proposed rules will be posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic 

impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local government units, and 

individuals. 

Effect on small business: 
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These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 

227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by 

email at Daniel.Hereth@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435. 

 

Agency contact person: 

Kassandra Walbrun, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 

Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8306; 

phone at 608-261-4463; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov . 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

TEXT OF RULE 

SECTION 1.  DE 2.035 is created to read: 

 DE 2.035 Application procedure for service members, former service members, and 

their spouses.   (1)  In this section: 

 (a) “Former service member” has the meaning given in s. 440.09 (1) (a), Stats. 

 (b) “Service member” has the meaning given in s. 440.09 (1) (b), Stats. 

 (c) “Spouse” has the meaning given in s. 440.09 (1) (c), Stats. 

 (2) Each applicant for reciprocal licensure as a dentist or dental hygienist shall submit all 

of the following: 

 (a)  A completed application form with the signature of the applicant and fee as 

determined by the department under s. 440.05 (2), Stats. 

 (b)  A statement that the applicant resides in this state. 

 (c)  Documentation that the applicant is a service member, former service member, or the 

spouse of a service member or former service member.  If an applicant is unable to provide the 

documentation, the applicant may submit an affidavit to the board stating that the applicant is a 

service member, former service member, or the spouse of a service member or former service 

member. 

 (d)  Evidence the applicant is in good standing with the governmental authorities in a 

every jurisdiction outside this state that have granted the applicant a license, certification, 

registration, or permit that qualifies the individual to perform acts authorized under a dentist or 

dental hygienist license granted by the board. 

 (3)  A license granted under this section expires on the renewal date specified in s. 440.08 

(2) (a), Stats., except that if the first renewal date specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a), Stats., after the 

date on which the license is granted is within 180 days of the date on which the license is 

granted, the license expires on the 2nd renewal date specified in s. 440.08 (2) (a), Stats., after the 

date on which the license is granted. 

SECTION  2.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of 

the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to s. 227.22 

(2) (intro.), Stats. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
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(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 
         

 


