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Clearinghouse Rule 21-001 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK THERAPY AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING 

BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK 

MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK : THERAPY AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING 

THERAPY AFFILIATED    : BOARD ADOPTING RULES 

CREDENTIALING BOARD   : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE             ) 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

PROPOSED ORDER 

An order of the Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Affiliated Credentialing Board to 

amend MTBT 2.03 (1) (intro.) and create MTBT 2.035, relating to reciprocal credentials for 

service members, former service members, and their spouses. 

 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted: 

Section 440.09, Stats. 

Statutory authority: 

Sections 15.085 (5) (b) and 440.09 (5), Stats. 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.085 (5) (b), Stats., provides an affiliated credentialing board, such as the Massage 

Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Affiliated Credentialing Board, “shall promulgate rules for its 

own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to which it pertains . . .” 

Section 440.09 (5), Stats., provides that “[t]he department or credentialing board, as appropriate, 

may promulgate rules necessary to implement this section.” 

Related statute or rule: 

Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal credentials to service 

members, former service members, and the spouses of service members and former service 

members. 

 

Plain language analysis: 

The proposed rule creates a provision to implement s. 440.09, Stats., as created by 2019 

Wisconsin Act 143. Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing reciprocal 

credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of service members 

and former service members. 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 
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None. 

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

Illinois: 

The Illinois Statutes provide for the expedited licensure of service members and their spouses 

(20 ILCS 5/5-715). “Service member” includes a person whose active duty service concluded 

within the 2 years preceding application for licensure. A license issued to a service member or 

the spouse of a service member may be renewed. 

Iowa:  

Rules of the Professional Licensure Division of the Iowa Department of Public Health provide 

for the expedited reciprocal licensure of a veteran or a spouse of an active duty service member 

(645 IAC 645.20.3). A reciprocal license issued to a veteran or a spouse of an active duty service 

member may be renewed. 

Michigan: 

The Michigan Statutes provide for temporary licensure of the spouse of an active duty service 

member (MCL 339.213). A temporary license is valid for 6 months and may be renewed for one 

additional 6-month term if it is determined the licensee continues to meet the requirements for 

temporary licensure and needs additional time to fulfill the requirements for initial licensure. 

Minnesota: 

The Minnesota Statutes provide for temporary licensure of an individual who is an active duty 

military member, the spouse of an active duty military member, or a veteran who has left service 

in the 2 years preceding the date of license application (2019 Minnesota Statutes, Section 

197.4552). A temporary license allows a qualified individual to perform regulated professional 

services for a limited length of time as determined by the applicable licensing board. During the 

temporary license period, the individual must complete the full application procedure as required 

by applicable law. 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

The proposed rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of s. 440.09, Stats., as created by 

2019 Wisconsin Act 143, and obtaining input and feedback from the Massage Therapy and 

Bodywork Therapy Affiliated Credentialing Board. 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic 

impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local government units, and 

individuals. No comments were received. 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis document is attached. 

Effect on small business: 
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These rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), 

Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator, Dan Hereth, may be contacted by 

calling (608) 267-2435. 

 

Agency contact person: 

Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 

Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8366; 

telephone 608-261-4472; email at DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

Comments may be submitted to Dale Kleven, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of 

Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 

53708-8366, or by email to DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be received at 

or before the public hearing to be held at 9:00 a.m. on March 16, 2021, to be included in the 

record of rule-making proceedings. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION  1.  MTBT 2.03 (1) (intro.) is amended to read: 

 MTBT 2.03 (1) (intro.)   An Except as provided under s. MTBT 2.035, an applicant for 

a license on the basis of a similar license, registration, or license in another state or territory of 

the United States or another country shall submit all of the following to the board:  

SECTION  2.  MTBT 2.035 is created to read: 

 MTBT 2.035   Reciprocal credentials for service members, former service 

members, and their spouses. A reciprocal license to practice massage therapy or bodywork 

therapy shall be granted to a service member, former service member, or the spouse of a service 

member or former service member who the board determines meets all of the requirements under 

s. 440.09 (2), Stats. Subject to s. 440.09 (2m), Stats., the board may request verification 

necessary to make a determination under this section.  

SECTION  3. EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day 

of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, pursuant to s. 

227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

  

 

 


