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RULEMAKING REPORT TO LEGISLATURE

CLEARINGHOUSE RULE CR 19-110
Ch. DHS 163

Basis and Purpose of Proposed Rule
The Department of Health Services (“The Department”) is required to administer a comprehensive statewide lead

poisoning prevention program that includes certification, accreditation and approval requirements. Requirements for
lead certification, training course accreditation and instructor approval are established in Ch. DHS 163. The
Department proposes to make the following revisions to the rule chapter:

1. Lead inspection is defined in Ch. DHS 163 and work practice standards are provided. The Department proposes to
revise the rule to reflect language in 2015 Wisconsin Act 122 that exempts certain partial lead inspection activities
from meeting lead inspection requirements under Ch. DHS 163.

2. Lead-bearing paint is defined in current rule to comply with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s
definition as set in 1978. 2015 Wisconsin Act 55, Section 4045p, amended the statutory definition of lead-bearing
paint in § 254.11 (8). The Department proposes to amend the definition of “lead-based paint or lead-bearing paint”
to comply with the statutory definition in Wis. Stat., Ch. 254.

3.1n 2011, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) revised its Lead-Based Paint Poisoning Prevention in
Certain Residential Structures regulation under 40 CFR Part 745 to require states authorized by EPA to administer a
lead-based paint program in lieu of the EPA to meet a minimum standard for flexible remedies that includes the
authority to assess civil penalties, including a maximum penalty authority for any violation in an amount no less than
$5,000 per violation per day. At the time, the maximum penalty authority for lead-based paint violations in Wisconsin
statute and rule was $1,000 per violation per day. 2015 Wisconsin Act 55, Section 4049d, increased the civil penalty
authority for violations of lead paint regulations from up to $1,000 per violation per day to up to $5,000 per violation
per day in compliance with the federal requirements. The Department proposes to amend the current maximum
penalty in rule from $1,000 to $5,000 per violation per day in compliance with Wis. Stat., Ch. 254,

4. The current rule required the Department to process certification applications within 10 days of receipt. With the
addition in 2010 of certification requirements for lead-safe renovation to the rule, certification workload has tripled
with no additional staff position provided, making it difficult and at times impossible to routinely meet the 10 day
requirement. A review of other Midwest states showed that no other state has such a self-limiting expectation. The
Department proposes to revise the number of days it has to process certification applications from 10 days to 15
days.

5. The current asbestos rule, Ch. DHS 159, provides for provisional certification for applicants to be able to work using
their training completion diploma until they receive their certification card. This allows a person to be able to work
immediately once they have submitted their application. Provisional certification would effectively offset any harm
potentially created by extending the Department’s certification processing time in item #4 from 10 to 15 days. The
Department proposes to add provisional certification to Ch. DHS 163, similar to Ch. DHS 159.
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6. Current certification language in Ch. DHS 163 is unnecessarily complicated and difficult to understand, even for
employees charged with administering it. For instance, lead disciplines that require an initial state exam may only be
for 1 year initially, but thereafter may be renewed for either 1 or 2 year lengths depending on the refresher training
cycle, while others are only offered with a 2-year option. To help simplify and standardize the certification options for
everyone, the Department proposes to eliminate all 1-year certifications and make all certifications good for 2 years,
reducing the frequency of re-certifications.

7. Since Ch. DHS 163 was last amended, significant changes in work practice guidelines have been published.
Specifically, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) published a significantly revised new
edition of its HUD Guidelines for the Evaluation and Control of Lead-Based Paint Hazards in Housing in 2012. These
guidelines are the most definitive documented source for work practices for lead hazard reduction and lead
investigation professionals. The Department proposes updating the work practice standards language and
requirements for lead abatement, lead-safe renovation, and lead investigation activities to be in compliance with the
revisions to the HUD Guidelines. This may include adding or updating some definitions, as well.

8. Under the lead rule, companies may apply for course accreditation to offer lead courses in the various disciplines
leading to certification. Once accredited the course must continue to meet the requirements for an accredited
course, including meeting a student to instructor ratio of not less than 8:1 for all student hands-on practice
requirements, ranging from 2 to 6 hours for 1- to 2-day courses. Maintaining a low student to instructor ratio is
important for initial courses where many students come in with minimal skills, but may be less important for
refresher classes where students have already been certified for at least 2 years. The Department proposes to allow a
student to instructor ratio for refresher classes of 12:1 in recognition that students come into the refresher with a
skill set in place and to ease the instructor burden on training providers.

9. The U.S. EPA requires refresher classes for lead sampling technicians to be 4 hours in length. The current state lead
rule requires this refresher course to be only 2 hours in length, which experience has shown is not enough time to
adequately review all course material, provide hands-on practice time and a course test. The Department proposes to
increase the required course length for the Lead Sampling Technician Refresher course to 4 hours.

10. Some people wishing to take training and become certified to conduct regulated lead activities have little
education and low literacy levels. In addition, English may be a second language for some. All the courses require a
course completion test be administered and that students pass the test with a score of at least 70% correct. To assist
students with reading difficulties, the Department proposes to amend the rule to allow the training provider to read
the course test to any student at the student’s request.

11. The lead program is funded partially by a continuing lead grant from the U.S. EPA and through program revenue
from certification fees. Fees have not been increase in rule since 2002. Proposed fee increases would be $25 for the
following individual 2-year certifications:

eLead abatement supervisor: increase from $225 to $250.
eLead abatement worker: increase from $75 to $100.
eLead hazard investigator and lead inspector: increase from $275 to $300.

eLead project designer and lead risk assessor: increase from $325 to $350.
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eLead sampling technician and lead-safe renovator: increase from $50 to $75.

A fee increase is proposed for company certifications of $50, from $75 to $125 for a 2-year certification. A fee
increase is proposed for the state lead examination from $50 to $75. In addition, training providers are currently the
only regulated entity not also required to be a certified lead company. The program proposes adding the requirement
for a training provider to also be a certified lead company.

12. Major sections of Ch. DHS 163 have not been substantially revised since 2002 or before. The Department
proposes to update, correct, clarify and simplify or eliminate any outdated provisions in order to reflect current
definitions, standards and best practices. There are no reasonable alternatives to the proposed rulemaking. The
Department is required by Wis. Stats. § 254.15 (1), to develop and implement certification, training accreditation, and
instructor approval requirements for lead-based paint activities.

Department Response to Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse Recommendations
The Department accepted the recommendations made by the Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse ands modified

the proposed rules where suggested with the following exception:
"1. Statutory Authority

c. Should the department add a cite to s. 254.168, Stats., as statutory authority? That section provides that the
department may promulgate rules that require certain child-occupied facilities to have periodic lead investigations at
intervals determined by the department or to otherwise demonstrate that the facility does not contain a lead hazard.
It appears the rule modifies provisions within ch. DHS 163 promulgated pursuant to that authority."

While DHS 163 does establish standards for the conduct of lead risk assessment activities, it does not actually
establish requirements for periodic lead investigations of certain child-occupied facilities.

Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The issues raised by each small business during the public hearing(s).

The only public hearing testimony and comments received were from representatives of small businesses. None
requested additional regulatory flexibility reviews or other measures to make it easier for small businesses to
comply with the regulation. Each comment is described in detail in the Public Hearing Summary below along
with the Department's response to the comments where applicable.

Any changes in the rule as a result of an alternative suggested by a small business and the reasons for rejecting any of
those alternatives.

Please see the Public Hearing Summary.

The nature of any reports and estimated cost of their preparation by small businesses that must comply with the rule.

The revisions proposed do not involve any changes to existing reporting requirements, nor were any changes
requested through public comment or the public hearing.

The nature and estimated costs of other measures and investments that will be required by small businesses in
complying with the rule.

1. Certified lead companies (abatement contractors, renovation contractors, and lead hazard investigation
companies) that have certified lead abatement workers, supervisors, risk assessors, hazard investigators and
inspectors: This rule will add a minor increase in biennial certification fees for companies and individuals, increasing
the 2-year company fee by $50, from $75 to $125, and each of the various individual 2-year certification fees by $25
each. These fee increases would apply to approximately 2650 lead companies with a sector-wide impact of about
$66,250 per year with a cost per company of $25 per year. The impact on individual certifications would be
approximately $63,750 per year, with a cost per person of $12.50 per year.
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2. Lead training providers: fees for training providers will only increase for one course, the Lead Sampling Technician
Refresher course, for renewal of a 2-year accreditation, from $50 to $100, because the course is increasing from 2
hours to 4 hours in length. Accreditation fees are based on course hours.

The reason for including or not including in the proposed rule any of the following methods for reducing the rule’s
impact on small businesses, including additional cost, if any, to the department for administering or enforcing a rule
which includes methods for reducing the rule’s impact on small businesses and the impact on public health, safety and
welfare, if any, caused by including methods in rules

The Department incorporated provisional certification to lessen any potential impact to lengthening the time period
within which the Department is required to issue individual certification upon receipt of a complete application. The
Department did not include in the proposed revision any measures to loosen reporting requirements or deadlines as
those types of changes were not requested and would be outside of the scope of this revision.

Changes to the Analysis or Fiscal Estimate/Economic Impact Analysis

Analysis
In response to the Clearinghouse Report, the following changes were made to the proposed rule order:

e Sections 254.167 and 254.168 were added as statutory authority in the rule summary.
e Formatting and punctuation changes were made throughout the rule summary and rule text.
¢ Notes referencing contact information for the department were standardized throughout the rule text.

Fiscal Estimate/Economic Impact Analysis

No changes were made to the fiscal estimate/economic impact analysis as a result of the public hearing and
comment period.

Public Hearing Summary

The department began accepting public comments on the proposed rule via the Wisconsin Legislature Administrative
Rules website, and through the Department’s Administrative Rules Website on April 9, 2020. A public hearing was held
on April 23, 2020, in via Skype or telephone. Public comments on the proposed rule were accepted until April 23, 2020.
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List of the persons who appeared or registered for or against the Proposed Rule at the Public Hearing.
Position Taken

Registrant

(Support or Opposed)
Doug Dalsing No position taken
Oscar Aguirre No position taken

Rocky Everly No position taken
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Summary of Public Comments to the Proposed Rule and the Agency’s response to those comments, and an
explanation of any modification made in the proposed rule as a result of public comments or testimony
received at the Public Hearing.

Rule Provision

Public Comment

Department Response

DHS 163.14 (5)
(c) 8.am.

=

What is the definition of a "Porch" as used
for clearance testing? Does a stoop, patio or
a deck qualify as a porch? Is a fully enclosed
unheated room attached to a dwelling
considered a porch or is it an "unconditioned
living space", as HUD defines it, rather than
porch. It would make a difference as to
which dust wipe would be used for
clearance; i.e. 10 micrograms of lead per
square foot for an unconditioned space
(totally enclosed porch) or 40 micrograms of
lead per square foot for a deck, stoop or
open porch. Does only the porch where the
waste was taken out need to be tested
during clearance.

2. Define Porch: Two parts to this. 1) Define

what you call a porch, 2) Define WHICH
porch they should do clearance on if there
are multiple porches. (I understand that
HUD’s concept is it would be the porch used
by the Lead Company to enter and exit for
the project).

The department agrees that defining “porch”
would clarify the applicability of the new dust
wipe clearance standard. The department has
reviewed other state and/or federal
regulations and identified an existing
regulatory definition of “porch” in Ch. DSPS
320: “Porch’ means an unenclosed exterior
structure at or near grade attached or
adjacent to the exterior wall of any building,
and having a roof and floor.” DHS has added
this definition to the proposed rule order.

The department determined that selection for
sampling of one porch among multiple is more
appropriate for technical guidance than for
rule, since there are multiple factors that
could determine which of any porches should
be sampled.

DHS 163.03 (82)

Which is the definition of a "Lead-Safe
Company" is being repealed. The rest of the
rule needs to be proof-read to eliminate the
term "Lead Safe Company" such as the changes
to DHS 163.10(1) where "Lead Safe Company
has not been eliminated.

The department verified that all references to
“lead-safe company” have been removed and
replaced with “lead company.”

DHS 163.03(16)

Should be amended to read: "Common Area"
means a portion of a building, the land on
which the building stands and other
improvements on that land that are generally
accessible to occupants of the a multifamily
or child occupied building, The current
definition implies that the use of the term
"common area" relates to a multi-family or
child care building. This change would clarify
where the term should be used.

The current definition of “common area”
includes a note specifying that it includes
garages and boundary fences. Therefore, this
change would necessitate careful review of at
least some provisions of the rule concerning
lead-safe property investigations and
certificates to assure garages and fences are
not inadvertently excluded. The nature of that
review is outside the scope of this revision but
will be noted for the future.
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DHS 163.03 (61)

Should be amended to read: "Lead-based paint"
or "lead-bearing paint" means paint of any
other surface coating material containing more
than 0.009% by weight, calculated as lead
metal, in the total nonvolatile content of liquid
paint, equal to more than 0.5% lead by weight
in the dried film of applied paint, or equal to or
more than 1 milligram of lead per square
centimeter in the dried film of applied paint.

Wasn't the definition of lead in the liquid paint
changed to 0.009% on April 19, 2009 with the
problem of lead in the paint on children's toys?
In the past the definition of lead-based paint
has been equal to or more than 0.06% and
equal to or more than 0.7 milligram of lead per
square centimeter? The term "equal to" has
been left out in the proposed rule. Setting the
Action Level on a XRF would mean that the level
of positive detection of lead must be set at 1.1
milligrams of lead per square centimeter which
would be less stringent. Why was the definition
changed to a lesser value? When the new
definition was introduced in July of 2015 DHS
said that the "more than" portion of the
definition was wrong in 254 and that the "equal
to or more than" should be used.

The department is required to use the
definition of “lead-bearing paint” thatisin s.
254.11 (8), Stats.

163.10 (7) (b)
2.,(8) (a) &(e)

Make Certified Renovators certification good
for 4-years. This is VERY confusing for
renovators since their training is good for 4
years and the certification only 2 years. Some
sign up for class after 2 years, and some skip
the payment in the middle and then want to
take a refresher after 4 years. | have polled
renovators since February, and they almost ALL
say make it 4 years — if you cannot afford to pay
for double the license cost — you should not be
in business.

The department determined that this option is
permissible under current rule language. Under
DHS 163.10 (7) (b), initial certification remains
valid for two years after the completion of the
most recent training required under the
discipline. Under 163.10 (8) (a), an individual
may apply for recertification before certification
expires, and the length of recertification under
(e) is two years from the expiration date. As the
department moves forward with implementing
the rule revision, it will develop an
administrative process, including revising
application forms, to let applicants know of the
option to apply for both initial and renewal
lead-safe renovator certification at once in
order to align the certification duration with
the timeline for required refresher training.

DHS 163.10 (3)
(c) 2.

Section 19: Please add wording that Lead
Supervisors that fail will be Lead Workers.
Otherwise they are out of work for a year.

Individuals who complete initial lead-safe
renovation and lead abatement training are
eligible for certification as lead abatement
workers. All individuals who meet the
requirements to attempt the lead supervisor
certification exam have completed those
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trainings and are therefore eligible for
certification as lead abatement workers in the
event they are unable to pass the certification
exam. Therefore, no change to the rule is
needed. However, the department will
incorporate notification of this option to
applicants into its standard operating
procedures as it makes other adjustments
necessary to implement the rule revision.

DHS 163.10 (5)
(c)1.&2.

Section 24: QUESTION, Is it true we do not need
to ask for ID for REFRESHERS?

No. Section 24 applies only to the requirements
for application to the department and not to
requirements for accredited training courses.
Training providers are required to comply with
163.20 (9) (a) and (am) relating to verifying
student identification.

DHS 163.14 (1)
(e)

Section 53: (DHS 163.14 (1) (e) 4. b.) THANK
YOU: Plastic on vents.

No response needed.

DHS 163.14 (5)
(c)9.cr.

It is unclear what “the specific location on the
property where clearance samples were taken”
means in clearance reports. Are clearance
reports supposed to somehow be more specific
about sample locations, and if so, how?

This language is not new but in the proposed
rule has been moved from DHS 163.14 (5) (c) 9.
d. to DHS 163.14 (5) (c) 9. cr. The requirement
has not changed. Documented methodologies
must be used in determining and recording
sampling locations.

DHS 163.14 (11)
(g) 4.

What was DHS’s reasoning behind removing
language allowing for the use of impermeable
coverings, such as landscape fabric, other than
plastic sheeting on exterior surfaces?

The department proposes removing this
language to comply with U.S. EPA language
under 40 CFR Part 763 and align with the U.S.
Department of Housing and Urban
Development Guidelines for Evaluation and
Control of Lead-Based Paint, 2012 Edition,
which had the option to use landscape fabric
removed.

DHS 163.14 (11)
(g) 1, DHS
163.14 (1) (e)

(2)

The need to pre-clean being made a specific
requirement for renovators is a good change,
though the requirement should be made as
clear in the abatement section.

The department’s proposed revision to the rule
does require pre-cleaning prior to setting up
interior and exterior containment for
abatement. See DHS 163.14 (1)(e)2.

DHS 163.14 (1)
(i); DHS 163.14

(11) (i)

Include a provision prohibiting bringing dirty
furniture back into a home after cleaning.

While it is possible that bringing furniture
contaminated with lead dust into a clean room
after renovation or abatement could be
hazardous, this change is outside the scope of
this revision. The department has noted your
concern and will monitor for additional
information on this risk in order to provide
evidence-based guidance on the matter when
possible.
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Summary of Items Submitted with this Report to the Legislature

Below is a checklist of the items that are attached to or included in this report to the legislature under s. 227.19 (3),

Stats.

Documents/Information

Included
in Report

Attached

Not
Applicable

Final proposed rule -- Rule Summary and Rule Text

Department response to Rules Clearinghouse recommendations

Final Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Changes to the Analysis or Fiscal Estimate/Economic Impact Analysis

Public Hearing Summary

List of Public Hearing Attendees and Commenters

Summary of Public Comments and Department Responses

X[ X[ X[ X|X]|X

Fiscal Estimate/Economic Impact Analysis

Revised Fiscal Estimate/Economic Impact Analysis

Small Business Regulatory Review Board (SBRRB) statement, suggested
changes, or other material, and reports made under s. 227.14 (2g), Stats. and
Department’s response

Department of Administration (DOA) report under s. 227.115 (2), Stats., on
rules affecting housing

DOA report under s. 227.137 (6), Stats., on rules with economic impact of $20
MM or more

Public Safety Commission (PSC) energy impact report under s. 227.117 (2),
Stats. and the Department’s response, including a description of changes
made to the rule




