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1. Type of Estimate and Analysis 

 Original  Updated Corrected 

2. Administrative Rule Chapter, Title and Number 

FD 1, Licenses and Permits and FD 4, Continuing Education Requirements. 

3. Subject 

Applications, exams, renewal of funeral directors licenses and approved continuing education requirements 

4. Fund Sources Affected 5. Chapter 20, Stats. Appropriations Affected 

 GPR  FED  PRO  PRS  SEG  SEG-S 20.165 (1)(g) 

6. Fiscal Effect of Implementing the Rule 

 No Fiscal Effect 

 Indeterminate  

 Increase Existing Revenues 

 Decrease Existing Revenues 

 Increase Costs 

 Could Absorb Within Agency’s Budget 

 Decrease Cost 

7. The Rule Will Impact the Following (Check All That Apply) 

 State’s Economy 

 Local Government Units 

 Specific Businesses/Sectors 

 Public Utility Rate Payers 

 Small Businesses (if checked, complete Attachment A) 

8. Would Implementation and Compliance Costs Be Greater Than $20 million? 

 Yes  No 

9. Policy Problem Addressed by the Rule 

This revision clarifies, simplifies, and aligns funeral director rules relating to applications, exams and renewals of funeral 

directors licenses with statutes.  The rule was revised to incorporate changes from 2013 Wisconsin Act 114, which 

prohibits the department of safety and professional services or a credentialing board from requiring a person to complete 

any postsecondary education before the person is eligible to take an examination for a credential.  The rule also removes 

obsolete provisions related to examination procedures.  The rule updates and clarifies board procedures for renewal and 

reinstatement of funeral director licenses, including updating requirements for credential holders who have failed to 

renew a Wisconsin funeral director license for 5 or more years.   Finally, the rule recognizes courses approved by the 

Academy of Professional Funeral Service Practice as meeting continuing education requirements so that program 

providers no longer need to request board approval for these courses.  

10. Summary of the  businesses, business sectors, associations representing business, local governmental units, and individuals that 
may be affected by the proposed rule that were contacted for comments. 

Applicants for funeral director licenses and current funeral director licensees. 

11. Identify the local governmental units that participated in the development of this EIA. 

This rule does not impact local governmental units and no local governmental units participated in the development of 

this EIA. 

12. Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Specific Businesses, Business Sectors, Public Utility Rate Payers, Local 

Governmental Units and the State’s Economy as a Whole (Include Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be 
Incurred) 

This rule was posted for economic impact comments for 14 days and none were received.   

13. Benefits of Implementing the Rule and Alternative(s) to Implementing the Rule 

The revision modernizes, clarifies, and simplifies funeral director licensure requirements.  The revision will ensure the 

rule is aligned with statutes.  It allows applicants to complete licensure requirements in any order, including allowing an 

applicant to take an examination prior to the completion of education requirements, consistent with 2013 Wisconsin Act 

114.  It eliminates obsolete examination provisions and eliminates the need for program providers to seek board approval 

of continuing education courses approved by the Academy of Professional Funeral Service Practice.   
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Without this rule revision, Wisconsin’s funeral director licensing regulations will not be in compliance with state law and 

will contain obsolete and confusing provisions regarding application, examination and license renewal and reinstatement 

requirements.  Program providers will continue to have to seek approval from the board for continuing education courses 

approved by the Academy of Professional Funeral Service Practice.   

 

14. Long Range Implications of Implementing the Rule 

The rule clarifies and simplifies funeral director application, examination and licensing requirements, reducing 

potential confusion with the process and ensuring Wisconsin’s funeral directors continue to  meet professional 

standards. 
15. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Federal Government 

Federal regulations do not govern licensing procedures for funeral directors.   

16. Compare With Approaches Being Used by Neighboring States (Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota) 

Illinois: Illinois requires applicants for a funeral director license to submit an application form and fee, provide proof 

that the applicant has met educational requirements established for funeral directors, a certificate of health, proof that the 

applicant has passed the National Board Examination of the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining 

Boards, Inc., and proof of successful completion of an internship.  Applicants are required to complete at least 30 

semester (45 quarter) hours of college credit and graduation from an approved mortuary science program of at least 12 

months.  

 

Licenses that have expired for more than five years may be reinstated by paying  renewal and restoration fees, providing 

proof of completion of continuing education hours for one pre-renewal period, and one of the following: 1) sworn 

evidence of practice in another jurisdiction, 2) affidavit attesting to military service, or 3) evidence of other education or 

experience within the 5 years preceding restoration demonstrating the licensee’s fitness and competence in funeral 

directing and embalming. This competence may be demonstrated through proof of successful completion of the National 

Board Examination or proof of 6 credit hours of mortuary science coursework in addition to the continuing education 

requirements.   

 

Iowa:  Iowa requires applicants for a funeral director license to submit an application form and fee, provide proof that 

the applicant has met educational requirements, proof that the applicant has passed the National Board Examination of 

the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards, Inc., and proof of successful completion of an 

internship.  Iowa requires completion of 60 semester hours of college credit and graduation from a mortuary science 

program approved by the American Board of Funeral Service Education. 

 

A license that has been inactive for more than five years in Iowa may be reinstated after the licensee provides 

documentation of any license held in other jurisdictions in which the applicant has practiced while the Iowa license was 

inactive and verifies that he or she has completed 48 hours of continuing education courses, including verification of 

completion of a college course of one semester hour in Iowa mortuary science laws and rules. 

 

Michigan:   Michigan requires applicants for a funeral director license to submit an application form and fee, proof that 

the applicant has passed the mortuary science exam, and proof of successful completion of an internship. Applicants 

must also provide proof that they have met educational requirements, which includes 60 semester hours or 90 quarter 

hours of non-remedial courses at an accredited college and one academic year of instruction from a mortuary science 

program.  Michigan contracts with PSI Services, LLC, to conduct the mortuary science examination. 

 

Mortuary science licenses expire October 31st of every odd-numbered year.  Any applicant who fails to renew their 

license within 60 day late renewal period must apply for re-licensure.  Michigan allows a license to be renewed within 3 
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years of the expiration date by submitting an application form, paying renewal and late fees and providing proof of 

completion of continuing education requirements.  A person who seeks re-licensure more than 3 years from his or her 

license expiration must meet current educational requirements for a new license and pass the current written examination 

on Michigan’s law and rules related to funeral directors. 

 

Minnesota:  Minnesota requires applicants for a funeral director license to submit an application form and fee, proof that 

the applicant has passed the National Board Exam of the International Conference of Funeral Examining Boards and a 

state exam encompassing the laws and rules of Minnesota.  The applicant must also provide proof of successful 

completion of an internship.  Minnesota requires applicants to hold a bachelor of science degree with a major in 

mortuary science, a bachelor of science or arts degree with a separate course of study in mortuary science, or completed 

equivalent educational requirements. 

 

Licenses expire on December 31 of the calendar year in which the license was issued.  Renewal applications received up 

to 31 days after the December 31 deadline must include a late filing penalty fee.  A license lapses when a renewal 

application and renewal fees are not received within 31 calendar days after the expiration date.  The commissioner issues 

a cease and desist order to prevent an individual with a lapsed license from practicing mortuary science. Minnesota 

allows a licensee to restore a lapsed license within one year after the license expiration date by submitting an application 

and paying a renewal and late fee, provided that the person has not violated the cease and desist order.  Licensees with 

licenses that have lapsed for more than a year must meet all requirements of an initial license to be relicensed.  

 

17. Contact Name 18. Contact Phone Number 

Sandra Cleveland (608) 266-0797 

This document can be made available in alternate formats to individuals with disabilities upon request. 
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ATTACHMENT A 

 
1.  Summary of Rule’s Economic and Fiscal Impact on Small Businesses (Separately for each Small Business Sector, Include 

Implementation and Compliance Costs Expected to be Incurred) 

      

2. Summary of the data sources used to measure the Rule’s impact on Small Businesses  

      

3. Did the agency consider the following methods to reduce the impact of the Rule on Small Businesses? 

 Less Stringent Compliance or Reporting Requirements  

 Less Stringent Schedules or Deadlines for Compliance or Reporting 

 Consolidation or Simplification of Reporting Requirements 

 Establishment of performance standards in lieu of Design or Operational Standards 

 Exemption of Small Businesses from some or all requirements 

 Other, describe:  

      

4. Describe the methods incorporated into the Rule that will reduce its impact on Small Businesses 

      

5. Describe the Rule’s Enforcement Provisions 

      

6. Did the Agency prepare a Cost Benefit Analysis (if Yes, attach to form) 

 Yes      No 

 


