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Clearinghouse Rule 15-020 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  :         COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING  

COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD : BOARD 

      : ADOPTING RULES 

      : 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

PROPOSED ORDER 

 

An order of the Cosmetology Examining Board to amend Cos 5.01 and to repeal and 

recreate 5.02 relating to course of instruction. 

 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

ANALYSIS 

Statutes interpreted: 

 

Section 454.06 (2) (b), Stats. 

 

Statutory authority: 

 

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) (a), Stats. and 2013 Wisconsin Act 356 

 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 

Pursuant to ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., the Cosmetology Examining Board 

is generally empowered by the legislature to promulgate rules that will provide guidance 

within the profession and interpret the statutes it administers. 2013 Wisconsin Act 356 

required the reduction of the number of training hours for course of instruction in 

cosmetology.  This change impacted the qualifications for cosmetology licensure.  The 

proposed rule seeks to carry out the mandate of this new legislation by amending Wis. 

Admin Code. ch. Cos 5. 

 

Related statute or rule: 

 

None.                                                                                                       

 

Plain language analysis: 

 

2013 Wisconsin Act 356 changed the licensure requirements for cosmetologist by 

reducing the number of training hours required to successfully complete a cosmetology 

course of instruction from 1,800 to 1,550 and by adding the requirement that a school of 
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cosmetology be accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the board. This 

reduction in training hours puts Wisconsin on par with course of instruction requirements 

in neighboring states such as Illinois and Michigan.  The reduction in training hours will 

also relieve the burden on in-state applicants seeking a cosmetology practitioner license 

in neighboring states and will ease the transition of out-of-state applicants seeking to 

become licensed as a cosmetologist in Wisconsin.  

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

 

None. 

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 

Illinois: Illinois requires cosmetology schools to provide 1,500 hours of instruction in 

cosmetology. 68 Ill. Adm. Code 117.530. 

 

Iowa: Iowa requires 2,1000 hours in cosmetology curriculum. 645 IAC 61.14. 

 

Michigan: Michigan cosmetology curriculum consists of 1,500 of theory and practical 

instruction and 1,160 hours in minimum practical application. Mich. Admin. Code 

R.338.2161. 

 

Minnesota: The cosmetology training curriculum consists of 1,550 hours in Minnesota. 

Minn. R. 2110.0510. 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

The methodologies used in developing this rule include reviewing administrative rules 

from neighboring states and comparing 2013 Wisconsin Act 356 with Wis. Admin.  Code 

ch. Cos 5. 

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 

s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by email at Eric.Esser@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-8608. 

 

Fiscal Estimate: 

 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis are attached. 

 

Effect on small business: 
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These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 

s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 

contacted by email at Eric.Esser@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-8608. 

 

 

Agency contact person: 

 

Kathleen Paff, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 

Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, 

P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-4472; email at 

Kathleen.Paff@wisconsin.gov 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 

Comments may be submitted to Kathleen Paff, Administrative Rules Coordinator, 

Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 1400 

East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8935, or by 

email to Kathleen.Paff@wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be received on or before April 

6, 2015 to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION 1. Cos 5.01 is amended to read: 

 

Cos. 5.01 Courses. Schools which provide instruction to students for cosmetology 

practitioner or cosmetology manager licenses or specialty schools which provide 

instruction to students for aesthetician, electrologist, or manicurist licenses shall develop 

curricula for instruction which are based on the applicable syllabus approved by the 

board.  A school or specialty school shall not deviate from the hours listed for subjects in 

the appropriate syllabus included in this section. Schools shall be accredited by any of the 

following board approved accrediting agencies including the National Accrediting 

Commission of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS), the Accrediting Commission of 

Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC), the Council on Occupational Education (COE), 

the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) and any other 

accrediting agency relating to cosmetology that is recognized by the U.S. Department of 

Education.  

 

SECTION 2. Cos 5.02 (intro.) and Figure 5.02 are repealed and recreated to read:  

 

Cos. 5.02 Cosmetology practitioner license syllabus. A syllabus for the practitioner 

license is shown below in Table 5.02: 

 

Table 5.02 

 SUBJECTS THEORY HOURS PRACTICAL 

HOURS 

mailto:Kathleen.Paff@wisconsin.gov
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I. Hygiene, grooming 

and personal 

development. 

10 0 

II. Bacteriology, 

sterilization 

and sanitation. 

20 20 

III. Haircutting, hair 

tapering 

(clipper−cuts), razor 

cutting, 

hairstyling, curling, 

thermal waving, 

finger− 

waving, roller 

setting, pincurl 

placement, blow− 

drying, shampoos, 

scalp 

and hair treatments, 

conditioning, 

reconditioning, hair 

analysis, and care of 

hairpieces, 

wigs and wefts. 

Tools, equipment 

and 

implements 

(identification 

and usage). 

140 440 

IV. Hair straightening, 

hair 

relaxing, thermal 

hair 

straightening, 

blow−outs, 

permanents, hair 

coloring, 

tinting, bleaching 

and 

chemistry. Tools, 

equipment and 

implements 

(identification 

and usage). 

185 392 

V. Shaving, beard and 

mustache 

35 60 
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shaping, trimming, 

superfluous hair 

removal, 

waxing, facials, 

facial massages, 

facial makeup, 

eyelashes, 

light therapy, basic 

principles of 

electricity, and 

introduction to 

electrology. Tools, 

equipment and 

implements 

(identification 

and usage). 

VI. Manicuring, 

including nail 

Enhancement. 

Tools, equipment 

and 

implements 

(identification 

and usage). 

10 25 

VII. Anatomy and 

physiology of 

the hair, skin and 

nails and 

disorders of the 

hair, skin, 

scalp and nails 

50 0 

VIII. Product knowledge, 

product 

use and sales, 

preparing 

and consulting with 

customer 

for services 

30 0 

IX. Laws, rules, 

professional 

ethics and history of 

cosmetology 

18 0 

X. Individual student 

needs, 

40 75 
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industry trends and 

electives (e.g. 

recordkeeping, 

mathematics, 

communications, 

human relations, 

public 

relations, first aid, 

etc.) (Hours may 

include structured 

visits conducted by 

the school outside 

of the 

classroom at one or 

more 

cosmetology 

establishments.). 

 TOTAL HOURS 538 1012 

 

SECTION 2. Pursuant to s. 227.24 (1) (c), Stats., this emergency rule shall take effect 

upon publication in the official state newspaper. 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

 

 

Dated _   _ Agency _   ___________ 

       Chairperson 

       Cosmetology Examining Board 

 


