STATE OF WISCONSIN
DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD
DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES

CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 15-013

PROPOSED ORDER

An order of the Dentistry Examining Board to repeal DE 2.01(1m) (c) and create DE 2.01(1m)
(d) relating to foreign trained dentists.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

ANALYSIS
Statutes interpreted: s. 447.04, Wis. Stats.
Statutory authority: ss. 15.08(5) (b) and 447.04 (1) (b) 1., Wis. Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:
The Board shall promulgate rules for the guidance of the profession not inconsistent with the law
relating to the profession. The Board shall establish requirements for licensure established by
rule for granting a license to an applicant licensed in another state, territory or country.
Related statute or rule:
None
Plain language analysis:
The current rule requires an applicant who is a graduate of a foreign dental school to provide
evidence that they have completed a postgraduate program or a residency program. The
proposed rule eliminates this requirement. To bring Wisconsin’s requirements in line with other
states, the proposed rule requires a foreign trained dentist to provide verification of being
awarded a DDS or DMD degree from an accredited dental school or a dental diploma, degree, or
certificate from a dental education program lasting at least two years at an accredited dental
school which is equivalent to the didactic and clinical education at the level of a DDS or DMD
degree.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:

None

Page 1



Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

llinois: Illinois requires graduates of programs outside of the United States or Canada to
provide certification of completion of a minimum of 2 years of clinical training from an
approved dental college in the United States or Canada in which the applicant met the same level
of scientific knowledge and clinical competence as all graduates from that school or certification
of completion of no less than 2 academic years of advanced dental education program.

lowa: lowa requires foreign trained applicants to receive a dental diploma, degree or certificate
from a full-time, undergraduate supplemental dental education program of at least 2 academic
years at an accredited dental college. The program must provide didactic and clinical education
to the level of a DDS or DMD graduate.

Michigan: Michigan requires foreign trained applicants to complete a minimum 2 year program
in dentistry in an approved school that leads to the awarding of a DDS or DMD or a minimum 2
year master’s degree or certificate program in an approved dental school that leads to the
awarding of a degree or certificate from a dental specialty program.

Minnesota: Minnesota requires foreign trained applicants to have an evaluation of the foreign
dental school done by the International Credentialing Associates that the foreign dental school’s
education is equivalent to a dental school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The Board reviewed the requirements of the surrounding states.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effecton small business or in
preparation of economic impact analysis:

The rule was posted for public comment on the economic impact of the proposed rule, including
how this proposed rule may affect businesses, local government units, and individuals, for a
period of 14 days and received no comment.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis:

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached.

Effecton small business:

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined ins.
227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by
email at Eric.Esser@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 267-2435.

Agency contact person:
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Kathleen Paff, Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Policy Development,
1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708;
telephone (608) 261-4472; email at Kathleen.Paff@wisconsin.gov.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:

Comments may be submitted to Kathleen Paff, Department of Safety and Professional Services,
Division of Policy Development, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8366,
Madison, WI 53708-8935, or by email to Kathleen.Paff@wisconsin.gov. Comments must be
received at or before the public hearing to be held on March 4, 2015 to be included in the record
of rule-making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. DE 2.01 (1m) (c) is repealed.
SECTION 2. DE 2.01 (1m) (d) is created to read:
DE 2.01 (1m) (d) Evidence of one of the following:

1. Verification of having been awarded a DDS or DMD degree from an accredited dental
school.

2. Verification of having received a dental diploma, degree or certificate from a full time,
undergraduate supplemental dental education program of at least two academic years at an
accredited dental school. The program must provide didactic and clinical education to the level
of a DDS or DMD graduate.

SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first
day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s.
227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

This Proposed Order of the Dentistry Examining Board is approved for submission to the
Governor and Legislature.

Dated Agency

Chairperson
Dentistry Examining Board
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