
  Page 1 

Clearinghouse Rule 15-013 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD 

DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES 

      : (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE             ) 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

PROPOSED ORDER 

 

An order of the Dentistry Examining Board to repeal DE 2.01(1m)(c) and create DE 2.01(1m)(d) 

relating to foreign trained dentists. 

 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

ANALYSIS 

 

Statutes interpreted:  s. 447.04, Wis. Stats. 

 

Statutory authority:   ss 15.08(5)(b) and 447.04(1)(b)1., Wis. Stats. 

 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 

The Board shall promulgate rules for the guidance of the profession not inconsistent with the law 

relating to the profession.  The Board shall establish requirements for licensure established by 

rule for granting a license to an applicant licensed in another state, territory or country. 

 

Related statute or rule:  None 

 

Plain language analysis: 

 

A foreign trained dentist is required to provide verification of being awarded a DDS or DMD 

degree from an accredited dental school or a dental diploma, degree or certificate from a dental 

education program lasting at least two years at an accredited dental school which is equivalent to 

didactic and clinical at the level of a DDS or DMD degree.   

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation:  None 

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 

Illinois:  Illinois requires graduates of programs outside of the United States or Canada to 

provide certification of completion of a minimum of 2 years of clinical training from an 

approved dental college in the United States or Canada in which the applicant met the same level 
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of scientific knowledge and clinical competence as all graduates from that school or certification 

of completion of no less than 2 academic years of advanced dental education program. 

 

Iowa:  Iowa requires foreign trained applicants to receive a dental diploma, degree or certificate 

from a full-time, undergraduate supplemental dental education program of at least 2 academic 

years at an accredited dental college.  The program must provide didactic and clinical education 

to the level of a DDS or DMD graduate. 

 

Michigan:  Michigan requires foreign trained applicants to complete a minimum 2 year program 

in dentistry in an approved school that leads to the awarding of a DDS or DMD or a minimum 2 

year master’s degree or certificate program in an approved dental school that leads to the 

awarding of a degree or certificate from a dental specialty program. 

 

Minnesota:  Minnesota requires foreign trained applicants to have an evaluation of the foreign 

dental school done by the International Credentialing Associates that the foreign dental school’s 

education is equivalent to a dental school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation. 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

The Board reviewed the requirements of the surrounding states. 

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact analysis: 

 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 

 

Effect on small business: 

 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 

227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by 

email at Dave.Ross@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-1352. 

 

Agency contact person: 

 

Sharon Henes, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and Professional 

Services, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 

8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-2377; email at 

Sharon.Henes@wisconsin.gov. 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 

Comments may be submitted to Sharon Henes, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of 

Safety and Professional Services, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington Avenue, 

Room 151, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, WI 53708-8366, or by email to 
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Sharon.Henes@wisconsin.gov.  Comments must be received at or before the public hearing to be 

held on March 4, 2015 to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings. 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

TEXT OF RULE 

 
SECTION 1.  DE 2.01(1m)(c) is repealed. 

 

SECTION 2.  DE 2.01(1m)(d) is created to read: 

 

DE 2.01(1m)(d) Evidence of one of the following: 

1.  Verification of having been awarded a DDS or DMD degree from an accredited dental school. 

2.  Verification of having received a dental diploma, degree or certificate from a full time, 

undergraduate supplemental dental education program of at least two academic years at an 

accredited dental school.  The program must provide didactic and clinical education to the level 

of a DDS or DMD graduate. 

 

SECTION 3.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first 

day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 

227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 


