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Clearinghouse Rule 13-089 

 
ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN NATURAL RESOURCES BOARD 

AMENDING AND CREATING RULES 

 

The statement of scope for this rule, SS 050-13, was approved by the Governor on May 1, 2013, published 

in Register No. 689, on May 14, 2013, and approved by the Natural Resources Board on June 26, 2013. 

 

The Wisconsin Natural Resources Board proposes an order to amend NR 446.12 (1), 446.13 (1), 446.14 (1) 

(a), (b), and (c) 1., 446.17 (1) (intro.), and 446.185 (1) (b); and to create NR 446.17 (1) (Note) relating to 

the control of mercury emitted by coal-fired electric generating units. 

 

AM-19-13 

 

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Natural Resources  

 

1. Statutes interpreted:   Sections 227.11 (2) (a), 285.11 (9), Wis. Stats. 

 

2. Statutory authority:  Sections 227.11 (2) (a), 285.11 (9), Wis. Stats.  

 

3. Explanation of agency authority:  Wisconsin statute s. 227.11 (2) (a) authorizes the Department to 

promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of any statutes enforced or administered by it. Wisconsin statute 

s. 285.11 (9) authorizes the Department to prepare and adopt minimum standards for the control of 

mercury emissions.  

 

4. Related statutes or rules:  This proposed rulemaking affects control of mercury emissions as required 

under subchs. II and III of ch. NR 446, Wis. Adm. Code.  These rules were established in 2008 under 

authority of s. 285.11 (9), Wis. Stats., which in turn refers to requirements under s. 285.27 (2) (b), Wis. 

Stats. The latter statute allows promulgation of state emissions limitations for hazardous pollutants only if 

there is a finding that control of emissions is needed to protect human health and welfare. A health and 

welfare finding was made for the 2008 mercury rulemaking process. 

 

Wisconsin statute s. 285.27 (2) (d) specifies that sources of hazardous air pollutants are exempt from state 

rule requirements when emissions are regulated by federal rules promulgated under section 112 of the Clean 

Air Act (CAA). This means that electric generating utilities (EGUs) will be exempt from requirements 

under subchs. II and III of ch. NR 446, Wis. Adm. Code, when their mercury emissions are regulated under 

the federal Mercury and Air Toxics Standards (MATS) and Industrial, Commercial and Institutional (ICI) 

Boiler rules. 

 

5. Plain language analysis:  Mercury emitted by coal-fired EGUs is regulated by the state under subchs. 

II and III of ch. NR 446, Wis. Adm. Code. This administrative code is commonly referred to as the “state 

mercury rule” with subchapter II referred to as phase 1 and subchapter III as phase 2. The action proposed 

in this Board Order will delay the initial compliance date for emission reductions required under phase 2 

of the state mercury rule until April 16, 2016.  

 

Under phase 2 of the original state mercury rule, 31 EGUs are required to achieve 90 percent control of 

mercury by January 1, 2015. Currently, these EGUs are subject to a 40 percent control requirement under 

phase 1 of the state mercury rule. Phase 2 of the state mercury rule will also require four smaller EGUs 

not affected under phase 1 to begin operating best available control technology (BACT) by January 1, 

2015. 
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The same coal-fired EGUs subject to the state mercury rule will also be subject to mercury emission 

limits under one of two recently promulgated federal rules: the MATS rule or the ICI Boiler rule. EGUs 

subject to the MATS rule must demonstrate compliance by April 16, 2015. The EGUs subject to the ICI 

Boiler rule must demonstrate compliance by January 31, 2016. However, individual EGUs may request a 

one-year extension to any federal rule regulating hazardous air pollutant emissions as allowed under 

section 112 of the CAA. 

 

Under the current schedule of compliance dates, EGUs will be subject to phase 2 of the state rule three 

and a half months before compliance is required under the MATS rule and thirteen months before 

compliance is required under the ICI Boiler rule. However, according to s. 285.27 (2) (d), Wis. Stats., 

EGUs will be exempt from state mercury rule requirements when mercury emissions are regulated under 

the federal rules. Therefore, under the current compliance schedules, EGUs would comply with phase 2 

of the state mercury rule for only a short period of time.  

 

The Department has concluded that requiring compliance with phase 2 of the state mercury rule for a 

short period of time is not warranted for a number of reasons. First, state law directs that mercury 

emissions will be regulated in the long-term by any promulgated federal requirement. Second, the 

Department believes that meeting requirements of both the state and federal rules adds complexity, cost, 

and compliance burden for the affected EGUs. Lastly, with the federal rules becoming effective on April 

16, 2015 and January 31, 2016, and the state rule no longer applicable after those dates, delaying the state 

mercury rule requirements will not result in higher levels of mercury emissions compared to 

implementing only the state rule. 

 

Therefore, the Department is proposing to delay the compliance date for phase 2 of the state mercury rule 

from January 1, 2015 to April 16, 2016.  The Department is proposing this date to accommodate 

individual EGUs subject to the MATS rule that may require a one-year extension. It is the Department’s 

opinion that EGUs affected by the ICI Boiler rule will not request a one-year extension and therefore will 

not require the compliance date for phase 2 of the state mercury rule to be one year after the ICI Boiler 

rule’s compliance date.  

 

In summary, this rule change will achieve the following objectives: 

 

 Allows EGUs to comply with only the federal rules and not phase 2 of the state mercury rule at this 

time, thus simplifying administrative requirements, compliance planning and installation of 

equipment which will avoid undue cost. 

 Maintains the existing state mercury rule requirement for 40 percent mercury control, as provided 

under subch. II of ch. NR 446, Wis. Adm. Code, until the affected EGUs regulate mercury emissions 

in accordance with the federal standards. 

 Maintains state mercury rule phase 2 emission standards, under subch. III of ch. NR 446, Wis. Adm. 

Code, in the event that the federal rules are delayed or rescinded. Maintaining the state mercury rule 

in a backup position will ensure that the state health and welfare finding requiring mercury control is 

fulfilled within a practical time-frame. 

 Accommodates EGUs that may require a one-year extension to the MATS rule compliance date of 

April 16, 2015 as allowed under section 112 of the CAA.  As stated above, it is the Department’s 

opinion that EGUs will not require an extension for meeting requirements of the ICI Boiler rule. 

Therefore the compliance date in this rulemaking is only extended to April 16, 2016 in order to 

address a possible extension that may be requested by EGUs affected by the MATS rule. 
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Information and analysis supporting this rule change are provided in the report “Wisconsin’s State 

Mercury Air Emission Rule”. This report was presented to the Natural Resources Board on May 22, 2013. 

At that time, the Board approved the report’s recommendation to extend the compliance date for meeting 

requirements under subch. III of ch. NR 446, Wis. Adm. Code to April 16, 2016. 

 

6. Summary and comparison with existing and proposed federal regulations:  As discussed in Item 5 

of this Board Order, mercury emitted by 35 coal-fired boilers will be regulated under phase 2 of the state 

mercury rule beginning January 1, 2015. Mercury emission standards will apply to these same EGUs 

under either the federal MATS beginning on April 16, 2015 or the ICI Boiler rule beginning on January 

31, 2016. The resulting control and mercury emission levels anticipated under either the state or federal 

rules are summarized in the following table. Emissions are presented through 2021 in order to show the 

effects of delayed implementation of mercury reductions under the state mercury rule multi-pollutant 

compliance option. A detailed comparison of the state and federal rules is presented in the report provided 

to the Natural Resources Board on May 22, 2013. The information in the table shows that the state and 

federal rules are expected to achieve comparable mercury emission reductions. 

 

Year 

State Rule Compliance Federal Rule Compliance 

Percent Control 
Remaining Hg 

Emissions (lbs.) 
Percent Control 

Remaining Hg 

Emissions (lbs.) 

2015 83 – 87% 550 – 743 84 – 86% 584 – 663 

2016 83 – 87% 550 – 743 87 – 89% 446 – 558 

2021 89 – 92% 345 – 449 87 – 89% 446 – 558 

Note: Percent control is measured from the baseline uncontrolled emissions of 4,275 pounds per year as determined under s. NR 
446.06, Wis. Adm. Code. The baseline uncontrolled emissions are the average of uncontrolled emissions for 2002, 2003, and 
2004. 

 

7. Comparison of similar rules in adjacent states:  The federal MATS and ICI Boiler rules will affect 

EGUs in adjacent states in the same manner as EGUs in Wisconsin. Like Wisconsin, some of these states 

also have existing state mercury emission standards in place. These states are responding in a variety of 

ways, as summarized in the following table.  

 

State 

Existing 

State Hg 

Rule (Y/N) 

Response to Federal MATS 

Illinois Yes 

Have not considered state response to federal MATS in detail. 

Expect that sources will need to meet both state and federal 

regulations. 

Michigan Yes Revising the state rule to be consistent with MATS. 

Minnesota Yes 
Adopting federal MATS rule. Will also require compliance 

with more stringent state rule.  

Iowa No 
No action at this time. Waiting for EPA’s response to 

reconsideration of the MATS rule. 
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8. Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:  The Department reviewed all applicable 

state statutes and administrative code. The Department determined that affected EGUs will be exempt 

from state mercury rule requirements when mercury emissions are regulated under federal rules. This 

exemption from state requirements is provided under s. 285.27 (2) (d), Wis. Stats.  

 

The Department evaluated mercury emission control levels and remaining emissions that are expected 

under full implementation of either the state mercury rule or the two federal rules. The Department 

determined that the current compliance date of the state mercury rule may result in undue compliance 

burden and cost even though mercury emissions, in the long-term, will be regulated under the current 

federal MATS and ICI Boiler rules. Therefore, the Department evaluated options to transition regulation 

of mercury emissions from under the state mercury rule to the federal rules in a manner consistent with 

the applicable statutes. The factual data and methodologies used to evaluate the state and federal mercury 

rule requirements are documented in the report presented to the Natural Resources Board on May 22, 

2013 which can be accessed from the May 22, 2013 agenda on the Natural Resource Board’s website.  

 

9. Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in preparation 

of an economic impact analysis:  One goal of the proposed rule change is to avoid undue regulatory 

cost. In accordance with s. 227.137, Wis. Stats., the Department solicited information and advice from 

affected sources and stakeholders concerning the economic impacts of the proposed rule.  The 

Department received comments from three affected utilities that supported the conclusion that the rule 

change will reduce compliance burden and cost. This information was considered in preparing the fiscal 

estimate and economic impact analysis.  

 

10. Effect on small business:  The proposed rule will only affect electric utilities generating electricity 

and will not affect small businesses. 

 

11. Agency Contact:  

 

Tom Karman 

Regional Pollutants and Mobile Source Section 

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources 

608-264-8856 

Thomas.Karman@Wisconsin.gov   

 

12. Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission.  Written comments may be 

submitted at the public hearing, by regular mail, fax, or email to: 

  

Tom Karman 

Bureau of Air Management 

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources 

101 South Webster Street 

Madison, WI 53707-7921 

Fax: 608-267-0560  

E-mail: Thomas.Karman@Wisconsin.gov   

  

Written comments may also be submitted to the Department using the Wisconsin Administrative Rules 

Internet Website at https://health.wisconsin.gov/admrules/public/Rmo?nRmoId=14923 .  The deadline for 

submitting written comments is November 14, 2013. 

 

A public hearing to allow for oral comment will be held on November 12, 2013 at 10:00 am, in the 

Natural Resource State Office Building, Room 713, 101 South Webster St., Madison, WI. 

https://health.wisconsin.gov/admrules/public/Rmo?nRmoId=14923
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SECTION 1.  NR 446.12 (1) is amended to read: 

NR 446.12 (1) Beginning January 1, 2015 April 16, 2016, an owner or operator of a small coal-

fired EGU shall limit mercury emissions to a level that is determined by the department to be best 

available control technology. 

 

SECTION 2.  NR 446.13 (1) is amended to read: 

NR 446.13 (1) Beginning January 1, 2015 April 16, 2016, an owner or operator of a large or a 

small coal-fired EGU designated by the department to meet the emission limitation in this subsection 

under s. NR 446.17 (2) (b) shall achieve a minimum of 90% mercury emission reduction as measured 

from the mercury content of fuel combusted or limit mercury emissions annually to 0.0080 pounds per 

gigawatt-hour (lbs/GWh) of electricity produced. 

 

SECTION 3.  NR 446.14 (1) (a), (b), and (c) 1. are amended to read: 

NR 446.14 (1) (a) For NOx, beginning January 1, 2015 April 16, 2016, 0.07 pounds per mmBtu 

of heat input. 

(b) For SO2, beginning January 1, 2015 April 16, 2016, 0.10 pounds per mmBtu of heat input. 

(c) 1. Beginning January 1, 2015 April 16, 2016 and to December 31, 2017, a 70% mercury 

emission reduction as measured from the mercury content of fuel combusted or 0.0190 pounds per 

gigawatt-hour (lbs/GWh). 

 

SECTION 4.  NR 446.17 (1) (intro.) is amended to read: 

NR 446.17 (1) ANNUAL COMPLIANCE REPORT. (intro.) By July 1, 2017, the owner or 

operator of a coal-fired EGU subject to this subchapter shall prepare and submit a compliance report for 

the initial period of April 16, 2016 to April 15, 2017. Beginning On or before March 1, 2015 2018, and on 

or before March 1 of every calendar year thereafter, the owner or operator of a coal-fired EGU subject to 

this subchapter shall prepare and submit a compliance report for the previous calendar year. The report 

shall include all of the following: 

 

SECTION 5. NR 446.17 (1) (Note) is created to read: 

NR 446.17 (Note) The compliance periods and compliance report due dates are specified in order 

to allow for 12 month emission averaging periods in complying with large EGU emission limitations, and 

in complying with small EGU emission limitation if appropriate. The initial compliance report due by 

July 1, 2017 will demonstrate compliance for the period of April 16, 2016 to April 15, 2017. The second 
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compliance report will be due on March 1, 2018 and will demonstrate compliance for the period of 

January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017. All subsequent reports will be due on March 1 of each year and 

will demonstrate compliance for the previous calendar year. 

 

SECTION 6. NR 446.185 (1) (b) is amended to read: 

NR 446.185 (1) (b) Baseline mercury emissions shall be determined and used for calculating 

annual allowable mercury emissions for 5-year periods beginning with the period of 2015 2016 to 2019 

2020. Baseline mercury emissions shall be determined every 5 years and used to calculate annual 

allowable mercury emissions for the subsequent 5-year period. 

 

SECTION 7. EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin administrative register as provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats 

 

SECTION 8.  BOARD ADPTION. This rule was approved and adopted by the State of Wisconsin Natural 

Resources Board on _____________________. 

 

 

Dated at Madison, Wisconsin ______________________________. 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

 

 

By ______________________________ 

 Cathy Stepp, Secretary 

 

 

(SEAL) 


