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Clearinghouse Rule 11-029 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION & LICENSING 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : PROPOSED ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION 

DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION  : AND LICENSING 

AND LICENSING    : ADOPTING RULES 

       (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 11-         ) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

PROPOSED ORDER 

 

An order of the Department of Regulation and Licensing to amend RL 128.03(1)(b); and 

to create RL 128.04(6)(c) relating to continuing education. 

 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing. 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

ANALYSIS 

 

Statutes interpreted: 

 

§480.08(6) 

 

Statutory authority: 

 

§§ 227.11(2) and 480.08(6), Wis. Stats. 

 

Explanation of agency authority: 

 

The Department of Regulation and Licensing has the authority under §480.08(6) to 

promulgate rules relating to auctioneer continuing education. 

 

Related statute or rule: 

 

There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed. 

 

Plain language analysis: 

 

Section 1 amends RL 128.03(1)(b) to allow the 7 hours update Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) course be approved as continuing education for 

those individuals licensed as both auctioneers and real estate appraisers. 
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Section 2 creates RL 128.04(6)(c) which adds appraisers, who are approved by the 

Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation, to the list of those who are 

approved to be continuing education instructors. 

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

 

No existing or proposed federal regulation. 

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 

Illinois: 

 

Courses must be provided by a school approved and licensed in accordance with the 

Auction License Act and the rules for the Administration of the Auction License Act.  

Courses must be developed and presented by persons with education or experience in the 

subject of the continuing education courses.  “Real Estate School Approved under Article 

30 of the Real Estate License Act of 2000” is one type of approved school.  Section 

1440.310, Rules for Administration of the Auction Act. 

 

Iowa: 

 

Does not require a license for auctioneers. 

 

Michigan: 

 

Registered auctioneer license is available but voluntary.  No CE requirement. 

 

Minnesota: 

 

Requires a license in the county of residence.  No CE requirement. 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

Many auctioneers are dually-licensed as real estate appraisers.  Licensed and certified real 

estate appraisers are required to take a 7-hour national Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice (USPAP) update course every biennium to maintain their license 

status.  Auctioneers who are also dually licensed as real estate appraisers would like to be 

able claim credit for the USPAP course to assist in meeting their biennial continuing 

education credits as auctioneers.  This is business-friendly as independent practitioners 

and businesses will be able to reduce the costs of complying with continuing education 

requirements.  It also benefits dually-licensed auctioneers as it provides a greater variety 

of continuing education courses that they may take to meet their biennial requirements.    

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 
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Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an economic impact report 

before submitting the proposed rule-making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  

The Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an “agency” in this 

section. 

 

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: 

 

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal effect on the private sector. 

 

Fiscal estimate: 

 

The department estimates that the proposed rule will have no significant fiscal impact. 

 

Effect on small business: 

 

These proposed rules were reviewed by the Small Business Review Advisory Committee 

and it was determined that the rules will not have a significant economic impact on a 

substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The 

Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by email at 

john.murray@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-8608. 

 

Agency contact person: 

 

Sharon Henes, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and Licensing, Division of Board 

Services, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, 

Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-261-2377; email at sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov. 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 

Comments may be submitted to Sharon Henes, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, Division of Board Services, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151, P.O. 

Box 8935, Madison, WI 53708-8935, or by email to sharon.henes@wisconsin.gov.  

Comments must be received at or before the public hearing to be held on July 19, 2011 to 

be included in the record of rule-making proceedings. 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

TEXT OF RULE 

 

SECTION 1. RL 128.03(1)(b) is amended to read: 

 

(b)  Nine hours in topics pertinent to the practice of auctioneering that shall be approved 

by the department biennially, which may include a 7 hour update course relating to the 

Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) approved by the 

Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation for individuals who 

hold credentials under both ch. 480, Stats. and ch. 458, Stats. 

 

mailto:john.murray@wisconsin.gov
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SECTION 2.   RL 128.04(6)(c) is created to read: 

 

(c)  Be an appraiser who is approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the 

Appraisal Foundation to provide a 7 hour update course relating to the Uniform 

Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP). 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

(END OF TEXT OF RULE) 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), 

Stats. 

 

 

 

Dated _________________  Agency __________________________________ 

       Member of the Board 

       (board name)  

 
(RL 128) CR11-   (Auctioneer CE) CH Draft 5-11-11 


