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DATCP Docket No. 10-R-02     Proposed Hearing Draft 

Rules Clearinghouse No.__________          October 13, 2010 

 

PROPOSED RULE 

OF THE WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE,  

TRADE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION 

 

The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection proposes the following 3 

permanent rule to create ATCP 70.03(7)(e) and (f) and (notes); relating to food processing plant 4 

license exemptions for certain home-canners and maple sap processors. 5 

Analysis Prepared by the Department 
of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 

 

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) administers state food 

processing plant license requirements under s. 97.29, Stats.  This rule exempts the following 

persons from licensing under s. 97.29, Stats., subject to certain conditions: 

 

 An individual who home-cans acidic, acidified or fermented vegetable or fruit products for 

retail sale at a community or social event,  farmers’ market or farm roadside stand, and 

receives no more than $5,000 from those sales in any license year.  This exemption 

implements the statutory exemption created by 2009 Wis. Act 101. 

 

 A person who processes maple sap to create maple syrup or concentrated maple sap that the 
person sells only to other processors for further processing, and who receives no more than 

$5,000 from those sales in any license year. 
 

Statutes Interpreted 

 

 Statutes Interpreted:   ss. 97.09(4), 97.29 and 227.24, Stats. 

 
Statutory Authority 

 

Statutory Authority: ss. 93.07(1), 97.09(4), 97.29(1)(g)8. and (5), and 227.24, Stats. 

 
Explanation of Statutory Authority 

 

 DATCP has broad general authority, under s. 93.07(1), Stats., to interpret laws under its 

jurisdiction.  
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 Under s. 97.09(4), Stats., DATCP may establish and enforce standards governing the 
production, processing, packaging labeling, transportation, storage, handling, display, sale, 

including retail sale, and distribution of foods that are needed to protect the public from the 

sale of adulterated or misbranded foods.   

 

 Under ss. 97.29(1)(g)8. and (5), Stats., DATCP may spell out food processing plant license 

requirements and exemptions. 

 
Related Statutes and Rules 

 

DATCP administers Wisconsin’s food safety and labeling laws under ch. 97, Stats., including 

food processing plant license requirements under s. 97.29, Stats. (as modified by 2009 Wis. Act 

101).  DATCP has adopted food processing plant licensing rules under ch. ATCP 70, Wis. Adm. 

Code.   

 

A person who processes food for sale or distribution is generally required to hold a state food 

processing plant license under s. 97.29, Stats. (there are certain exemptions).  Persons who are 

engaged in dairy or meat processing, or who operate retail food establishments, must be licensed 

under other statutes.  Local food license and zoning regulations may apply in some cases. 

 

Under 2009 Wis. Act 101, a person who home-cans acidic, acidified or fermented vegetable or 

fruit products for retail sale at a community or social events or farmers’ markets is exempted 

from state licensing under s. 97.29, Stats., provided that the person receives no more than $5,000 

from those sales during the license year.  Act 101 does not exempt those persons from other state 

license requirements that may apply, nor does it exempt them from local licensing or zoning 

ordinances that may apply. 

 
Plain Language Analysis 

 

Home Canning for Retail Sale 

 

Under this rule, a person who home-cans acidic, acidified or fermented vegetable or fruit 

products for retail sale at a community or social event, farmers’ market or farm roadside stand is 

exempt from a food processing plant license under s. 97.29, Stats, if all of the following apply: 

 

 The person is an individual, not a legal entity such as a corporation. 
 

 The individual receives no more than $5,000 during the license year from those sales.  If 2 or 
more individuals home-can acidic, acidified or fermented vegetable or fruit products at the 

same home address, none of those individuals qualifies for the license exemption unless their 

combined gross receipts from the sale of those products totals no more than $5,000. 

 

 The canned products have an equilibrium pH value of 4.6 or lower.  The individual must test 

the first batch of canned product produced according to each separate recipe used by the 

individual in each license year, to verify that canned products produced according to that 
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recipe meet this pH requirement.  The individual must keep, for at least 2 years, a record of 

each pH test.    

 

 The individual registers annually with DATCP.  There is no cost to register, and the 
registrant is not required to obtain a registration certificate from DATCP.    

 

 The individual completes a home-canning safety course, or follows a written recipe 

(including ingredients and canning procedures) that reliably ensures the safety of each home-

canned product. 

 

 The individual discloses to potential buyers, by means of a sign or placard, that the canned 
products “are homemade in a kitchen that has not been subject to state inspection.”   

 

 Each canned product is properly labeled to include all of the following: 

 

 The name and address of the individual who canned the product. 

 The date on which the product was canned. 

 The following statement:  “This product was made in a home not subject to state 

licensing or inspection.” 

 A list of ingredients in descending order of prominence (major ingredients must be of 

vegetable or fruit origin).  The list must include the common name of any ingredient that 
originates from milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts or 

soybeans.   

 

 The individual keeps a complete written record of every batch of canned product. 

 

 The batch record must include the name of the product, the product recipe (including 

procedures and ingredients), the amount of the product batch canned and sold, the 

canning and sale dates, the sale location, gross sales receipts, the results of any pH test 

conducted on the product, and the disposition of any product not sold.   

 

 The individual must keep the record for at least 2 years after the individual sells or 

otherwise disposes of the product, and must make that record available to DATCP for 

inspection and copying upon request.  

 

Maple Sap Processed for Sale to Other Processors 

 

Under this rule, a person who processes maple sap to produce maple syrup or concentrated maple 

sap for sale to another processor for further processing is exempt from licensing under s. 97.29, 

Stats., if all of the following apply: 

 

 The person receives less than $5,000 from those sales in a license year. 
 

 The person registers annually with DATCP.  There is no cost to register, and the registrant is 

not required to obtain a registration certificate from DATCP.    
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 The person keeps a written record of each sale, retains that record for at least 2 years, and 
makes the record available to DATCP for inspection and copying upon request.  The record 

must include the name and address of the purchaser, the date of sale, the amount of maple 

syrup or concentrated maple sap sold, and the sale price. 

 
Fiscal Impact 

 

This rule will not have a significant fiscal impact on the state of Wisconsin or on local 

governments.  A complete fiscal estimate is attached.   
 

Business Impact  

 

This rule implements 2009 Wis. Act 101, which removes license requirements for certain home-

canners who wish to sell their products to the public at community or social events, farmers’ 

markets and farm roadside stands.  The food safety standards in this rule will help protect the 

public from serious food safety hazards (including botulism) that may be associated with 

improperly home-canned products.  The prevention of food safety problems promotes public 

confidence, and benefits the entire food industry including home-canners.   

 

This rule may encourage some home-canning hobbyists to sell their home-canned products at 

community or social events, at farmers’ markets, or at their own farm roadside stands.  That may 

have an adverse competitive impact on licensed canners who currently supply those sales outlets, 

although the adverse effect is likely to be minimal.  Larger food canning businesses that supply 

canned food for the mass consumer market will not be significantly affected by this rule. 

 

This rule also exempts certain small maple sap processors from licensing under s. 97.29.  The 

exemption will relieve those processors from unnecessary licensing costs and compliance 

burdens, while ensuring adequate food safety protection.   

 

A complete business impact analysis is attached. 

 
Environmental Impact 

 

This rule will not have any significant environmental impact.    

 
Federal and Surrounding State Programs 

 

Federal Programs 

 

There is no federal law that addresses these issues, or that compels DATCP to adopt this rule.   
 

Surrounding State Programs 

 

Minnesota exempts a person from licensing as a food processor if the person produces less than 

$5,000 of non-potentially hazardous food or less than $5,000 of home-canned acidified food.  

Home-canned acidified foods may only be sold at community or social events or farmers’ 
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markets in Minnesota.  A point-of-sale placard and the product label must disclose that the 

product was produced in an unlicensed and uninspected home setting.  The product label must 

also disclose the name and address of the processor and the date the goods were processed.  

Wisconsin’s new law (2009 Act 101) was influenced by Minnesota’s law. 

 

Illinois and Michigan have no laws related to home-processed foods.  All food processed for sale 

to the public in Illinois and Michigan must be processed in a licensed facility.   

 

In Iowa, individuals may annually process up to $20,000 in potentially-hazardous baked goods 

(including soft pies and bakery products with a custard or cream filling) at a licensed “home food 

establishment” for sale on the premises (the bakery goods may be consumed elsewhere).  

Individuals may sell non-potentially hazardous home-baked goods at a farmers’ market, without 

a license.  Canning and processing of low acid or acidified foods must be done in a licensed 

commercial establishment.  

 
Data and Analytical Methodologies 

 

This rule is not based on any specialized data or analytical methodologies.  Portions of this rule 

(such as pH requirements for home-canned food sold to the public) are based on well-established 

food science and public health principles.   

 
DATCP Contact 

 

Questions and comments related to this rule may be directed to: 

 

Tom Leitzke 

Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 

P.O. Box 8911  

Madison, WI 53708-8911 

Telephone (608) 224-4411 

E-Mail:  tom.leitzke@wisconsin.gov 

_____________________________________________________________________________

_ 

SECTION 1.  ATCP 70.03(7)(e) and (f) and (notes) are created to read: 1 

ATCP 70.03(7)(e)  The processing of maple sap to produce maple syrup or concentrated 2 

maple sap if all of the following apply: 3 

1.  The processor sells the maple syrup or concentrated maple sap only to other 4 

processors for further processing.  5 
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2.  The processor’s combined gross receipts from all sales under subd. 1. during the 1 

license year total less than $5,000.  2 

3.  The processor keeps a written record of every sale under subd. 1., retains that record 3 

for at least 2 years, and makes the record available for inspection and copying by the department 4 

upon request.  The record shall include the name and address of the purchasing processor, the 5 

date of sale, the amount of maple syrup or concentrated maple sap sold, and the sale price. 6 

4.  The processor registers with the department before engaging in any processing 7 

activities under this paragraph in any license year ending March 31.  A registration expires at the 8 

end of the license year.  A processor shall register in writing on a form provided by the 9 

department, or shall register online at http://www.datcp.state.wi.us/core/food/food.jsp.  The 10 

registration shall include information reasonably required by the department, including the 11 

registrant’s name and address and information related to the nature, location and scope of the 12 

registrant’s processing activities and product sales.  There is no fee to register, and the registrant 13 

is not required to hold a registration certificate from the department.   14 

NOTE:  A registration form under subd. 4. may be obtained by contacting the department 15 

  at the following address: 16 

 17 

 Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 18 

 Division of Food Safety 19 

 P.O. Box 8911 20 

 Madison, WI 53708 21 

 

 (f)  An individual canning a vegetable or fruit product at that individual’s home in this 22 

state, for retail sale to consumers who take delivery in this state, if all of the following apply: 23 

1.  The individual sells and personally delivers the canned product to purchasers at a 24 

community or social event or farmers’ market, or at a roadside stand operated on the farm where 25 

the individual resides. 26 
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2.  The canned product has an equilibrium pH value of 4.6 or lower.  The individual shall 1 

test the first batch of product canned according to each separate recipe used by the individual 2 

under this paragraph during each license year, to verify that products canned according to that 3 

recipe meet this pH requirement.  Each pH test shall be conducted with a pH meter that is 4 

properly calibrated for that day’s use, except that the test may be conducted with short-range pH 5 

paper if the product type normally has a pH of 4.0 or lower and if the range of the pH paper 6 

includes a pH of 4.6.    7 

3.  The individual’s gross receipts from all retail sales of canned products under this 8 

paragraph during the license year are less than $5,000.  If 2 or more individuals are engaged in 9 

canning activities under this paragraph at the same residential address, none of those individuals 10 

qualifies for the license exemption under this paragraph unless their combined gross receipts 11 

from retail sales of canned products under this paragraph during the license year are less than 12 

$5,000.  13 

4.  The individual prominently displays a sign at each place of sale stating:  “These 14 

canned goods are homemade in a kitchen that has not been subject to state inspection.” 15 

 5.  Each container of the canned product is labeled with all of the following: 16 

a.  The name and address of the individual who canned the product. 17 

b.  The date on which the product was canned. 18 

c.  The following statement:  “This product was made in a home not subject to state 19 

licensing or inspection.” 20 

d.  A list of ingredients in descending order of prominence.  The list shall include the 21 

common name of any ingredient that originates from milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree 22 

nuts, wheat, peanuts or soybeans.   23 
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6.  The individual registers with the department before engaging in any home canning 1 

activities under this paragraph in any license year ending March 31.  A registration expires at the 2 

end of the license year.  The individual shall register in writing on a form provided by the 3 

department, or shall register online at http://www.datcp.state.wi.us/core/food/food.jsp.  The 4 

registration shall include information reasonably required by the department, including the 5 

registrant’s name and address and information related to the nature, location and scope of the 6 

registrant’s home canning activities and canned product sales.  There is no fee to register, and the 7 

registrant is not required to hold a registration certificate from the department.   8 

NOTE:  A registration form under subd. 4. may be obtained by contacting the department 9 

  at the following address: 10 

 11 

 Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 12 

 Division of Food Safety 13 

 P.O. Box 8911 14 

 Madison, WI. 53708 15 

 

 7.  The individual has documentation to show that he or she has completed a department-16 

approved acidified food processing course, or has canned the vegetable or fruit product 17 

according to a written recipe that reliably ensures the safety of the product. 18 

 NOTE:  An acidified food processing course provided or approved by the university of  19 

  Wisconsin-extension is deemed to be a department-approved course under  20 

  subd. 7.  The department may approve other courses upon request. 21 

 22 

  A recipe qualifies under subd. 7. if it is published in the current edition of the Ball 23 

  Blue Book or the Ball Complete Book of Home Preserving, or is published by the  24 

  National Center for Home Food Preservation (www.uga.edu/nchfp) or the   25 

  University of Wisconsin (www.foodsafety.wisc.edu/preservation.html).  Other  26 

  written recipes may qualify if the individual can objectively document that the  27 

  recipe (including food ingredients and canning procedures) reliably ensures the  28 

  safety of the canned food product. 29 

 

 8.  The individual maintains a complete written record of every batch of product canned 30 

for sale under this paragraph, including the name of the product, the product recipe including 31 

file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/MATSOJK/RuleDrafts/www.uga.edu/nchfp
http://www.foodsafety.wisc.edu/preservation.html
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procedures and ingredients, the amount of product canned and sold, the canning date, product 1 

sale dates and locations, gross sales receipts, the results of any pH test conducted on product 2 

from the batch, and the disposition of any product not sold.  The individual shall retain the record 3 

for at least 2 years after the individual sells or otherwise disposes of all product from the batch, 4 

and shall make that record available to the department for inspection and copying upon request.  5 

NOTE:  The department offers a Home Processing and Canning Fact Sheet describing 6 

 the types of home-canned foods that may be canned for sale under par. (f) without 7 

 a state food processing plant license.  You may obtain a free copy of the fact sheet 8 

 by contacting the department at the following address: 9 

 10 

Wisconsin Department Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 11 

Division of Food Safety 12 

PO Box 8911 13 

Madison, WI 53708-8911  14 

 15 

The fact sheet is also available at the department’s website at 16 

http://www.datcp.state.wi.us/core/food/food.jsp. 17 

 18 

 SECTION 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE:  This rule takes effect on the first day of the month 19 

following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register, as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro), 20 

Stats. 21 

     Dated this _______day of ___________, __________. 

 

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE,  

TRADE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION 

 

 

 

By ____________________________________ 

Randy Romanski, Secretary 


