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Background 

 
DATCP administers Wisconsin’s buttermaker licensing program under s. 97.17, Stats.  

DATCP has adopted licensing rules under ch. ATCP 69, Wis. Adm. Code.  There have 

been few changes in the current program since 1929.   

 

Under current law, butter must be made by or under the supervision of a licensed 

buttermaker.  However, there are currently only 46 licensed buttermakers in the state.  

There is a growing national market for butter.  Without more licensed buttermakers, 

Wisconsin’s butter industry will be at significant risk and may be unable to take 

advantage of new market opportunities. 

 

This rule will provide more flexible training and examination options to facilitate the 

training and licensing of qualified buttermakers.  DATCP is developing this rule in 

consultation with the Wisconsin dairy industry, including the emerging artisan and 

farmstead buttermaking industry.  DATCP has also consulted with the University of 

Wisconsin.  This rule may take advantage of new training resources and technologies that 

were not previously available. 

 

This rule will promote the development and diversification of Wisconsin’s dairy industry.  

It will allow more people to enter the industry as licensed buttermakers, including makers 

of artisan and farmstead butter.  It will help relieve an acute shortage of licensed 

buttermakers, which is putting the state’s entire butter industry at risk.  It will also ensure 

the safety and quality of Wisconsin butter, and maintain Wisconsin’s reputation as a dairy 

leader, by ensuring that buttermakers are adequately trained and qualified.   

 

Rule Contents 

 
DATCP licenses individuals as buttermakers under s. 97.17, Stats.  DATCP has adopted 

licensing rules under ch. ATCP 69, Wis. Adm. Code.  Currently, an applicant for a 2-year 

buttermaker license must pass an examination (required only for initial license) and must 

show that he or she has done at least one of the following (required for initial and renewal 

license): 

 

 Been licensed as a buttermaker for at least 10 years. 

 Worked directly under a licensed buttermaker for at least 24 months. 
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 Worked directly under a licensed buttermaker for at least 18 months and completed a 
DATCP-approved training course from an accredited post-secondary institution. 

 Obtained a 4-year degree in food science (or an equivalent major) from an accredited 

post-secondary educational institution, and worked directly under a licensed 

buttermaker for at least 12 months. 

 

Under this rule, an applicant may also qualify for licensing if either of the following 

apply (the applicant must also pass an examination for an initial license): 

 

 The applicant holds a Wisconsin cheesemaker license and has done all of the 
following: 

 

 Completed a DATCP-approved buttermaker training course. 

 Worked in buttermaking operations for at least 40 hours under the direct personal 

supervision of a licensed buttermaker. 

 

 The applicant has done all of the following: 

 

 Worked in the complete process of buttermaking for at least 120 hours under the 

direct personal supervision of a licensed buttermaker. 

 Completed DATCP-approved courses in all of the following: 
 

o Buttermaking. 

o Production of safe dairy foods. 

o Hazard analysis - critical control point (HACCP) process control. 

o Principles of milk pasteurization.  

o Dairy sanitation. 

 
Business Impact 

 

This rule will have a positive impact on the Wisconsin dairy industry, including 

Wisconsin’s butter industry.  The rule and will promote the development and 

diversification of the dairy industry, and will not have any negative impact on business.  

The rule will: 

 

 Provide more options for individuals who wish to be licensed as buttermakers.   

 Help relieve a current acute shortage of licensed buttermakers, which is putting the 
state’s butter industry at risk.   

 Allow more people to enter the industry as licensed buttermakers, including makers 

of artisan and farmstead butter.   

 Help ensure the safety and quality of Wisconsin butter, by ensuring that buttermakers 
are adequately trained and qualified.   

 Make it easier for licensed cheesemakers to obtain a buttermaker license.  That may 
give them more job flexibility, and provide more opportunities for value-added dairy 

enterprise. 
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This rule does not increase license fees, add new recordkeeping requirements, or require 

businesses to pay for additional professional services.   

 
Accommodation for Small Business 

 

The rule will assist small businesses in developing new products and obtaining required 

skills in an expedited manner. This rule does not have any significant adverse impact on 

small business, so there is no special accommodation for small business under this rule.   

 
Conclusion 

 

This will assist dairy businesses, including many small businesses.  This rule will have no 

adverse impact on affected businesses.  Because this rule has no significant adverse 

impact on small business, it is not subject to the small business delayed effective date 

under s. 227.22(2)(e), Stats. 

 

Dated this ______ day of _________________, 2010 
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    DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, 

TRADE AND CONSUMER PROTECTION 

 

 

By _____________________ 

     Steven C. Ingham, Administrator, 

     Division of Food Safety 


