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ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN NATURAL RESOURCES BOARD 

CREATING RULES 

 

 

The Wisconsin Natural Resources Board proposes an order to repeal s. NR 142.03 (4) 

and to create ch. NR 850 relating to water withdrawal fees in the Great Lakes basin and 

affecting small business. 

 

DG-23-10 

 

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Natural Resources 

 

1. Statute interpreted: Section 281.346 (12), Stats. 

 

2. Statutory authority: Sections 227.11 (2)(a) and 281.346 (12), Stats. 

 

3. Explanation of agency authority: Section 227.11 (2)(a) gives state agencies 

general rulemaking authority. Section 281.346 (12)(c) directs the Department to 

promulgate a rule specifying the amount of an annual fee to be paid by persons 

who withdraw from the Great Lakes basin more than 50,000,000 gallons of water 

per year. 

 

4. Related Statute or Rule: This rule relates to implementing the provisions of the 

Great Lakes—St. Lawrence River Basin Water Resources Compact (Compact) in 

Wisconsin pursuant to sections 281.343, 281.346, and 281.348, Stats. Revenue 

from the fees assessed pursuant to this rule will be deposited to a program revenue 

appropriation dedicated to funding Compact implementation activities in the state. 

 

5. Plain language analysis: The proposal contained in this order repeals a provision 

of an existing rule that provided authority to assess water withdrawal fees on 

persons making withdrawals from the waters of the state in amounts averaging 

100,000 gallons per day or more in any 30-day period. Those fees ranged from 

$35 to $500 dollars depending on the amount of the withdrawal. However, the fee 

program and the associated registration program associated with it were not 

implemented by the Department. 

 

Under the provisions of s. 281.346 (12), as created in 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, 

beginning in 2011, any person with a water supply system anywhere in the state 

with the capacity to withdraw an average of 100,000 gallons per day or more in 

any 30-day period must pay to the Department an annual fee of $125. This rule 

clarifies that the annual $125 fee will cover all water supply systems on one 

property or a single public water supply. Section 281.346 (12)(c) further directs 

the Department to promulgate a rule specifying an additional annual fee for 

persons who withdraw more than 50,000,000 gallons per year from the waters of 

the Great Lakes basin—that is, from surface water or groundwater within the land 

area of the state draining to Lakes Michigan or Superior, or from those lakes. The 

proposed fee would increase per 50 million gallon increment as shown in the 

following table: 
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Great Lakes Basin-Specific Fee for Withdrawals > 50 MGY 

Amount Withdrawn Fee Per Million Gallons 

50 MGY to 100 MGY $1.50 

100 MGY to 150 MGY $2.00 

150 MGY to 200 MGY $2.50 

200 MGY to 250 MGY $3.00 

250 MGY to 300 MGY $3.50 

300 MGY to 350 MGY $4.00 

350 MGY to 400 MGY $4.50 

400 MGY to 450 MGY $5.00 

450 MGY to 500 MGY $5.50 

500 MGY + $6.00 

 

The fee would not exceed $9,500 annually for withdrawals from a water supply 

system on a contiguous property or a public water system. The fees specified in 

this rule will be assessed on a calendar year basis and will be due to the 

Department by June 30th of the following calendar year. 

 

6. Federal regulatory analysis: There are no comparable federal regulations 

pertaining to fees for water withdrawals.  

 

7. Comparison with rules in adjacent states: The following table compares water 

withdrawal fees in adjacent states. 

 

Water Withdrawal Fee Comparison 
Wisconsin Illinois Iowa Michigan Minnesota 

$125 statutory fee—
statewide—for water supply 
systems with the capacity to 
withdraw an average of 

100,000 gallons-per-day or 
more in any 30-day period. 
Proposed additional annual fee 
for Great Lakes Basin 

withdrawals exceeding 50 
million gallons per year. The 
proposed fee would be 

assessed at an inclining rate in 

tiers of 50 million gallons as 
follows: 

(50 – 100) $1.50/mil. 
(100 – 150) $2/mil. 

(150 – 200) $2.50/mil. 
(200 – 250) $3/mil. 
(250 – 300) $3.50/mil. 
(300 – 350) $4 /mil. 

(350 – 400) $4.50/mil. 
(400 – 450) $5/mil. 
(450 – 500) $5.50/mil. 

 

(Above 500) $6/mil. 
The fee would not exceed 
$9,500 annually for 

withdrawals from one 
property or public water 

system. 

No 
annual 
water 
use fee. 

Iowa charges 
an annual 
water use fee 
to each water 

use permittee 
designed to 
generate 
$500,000 

each year.  
Permits are 
required for 

persons that 

withdraw at 
least 25,000 

gallons in a 
24-hour 

period during 
a calendar 
year; and the 
same fee is 

charged to 
each 
permittee.  

For 2009, the 

annual fee 
was $135 for 
each 

permittee. 

$200 
annual 
reporting 
fee for 

withdrawals 
exceeding 
100,000 
gallons per 

day 
averaged 
over a 

consecutive 

30-day 
period. (No 

annual fee 
for 

withdrawals 
for 
agricultural 
use.) 

$140 minimum annual water use fee for 
withdrawals between 0 and 50 million 
gallons.  
 

Marginal fee rates for withdrawals 
exceeding 50 million gallons per year as 
follows: 
(50 – 100) $3.50/mil. 

(100 – 150) $4/mil. 
(150 – 200) $4.50/mil. 
(200 – 250) $5/mil. 

(250 – 300) $5.50/mil. 

(300 – 350) $6/mil. 
(350 – 400) $6.50/mil. 

(400 – 450) $7/mil. 
(450 – 500) $7.50/mil. 

(Above 500) $8/mil. 
 
Maximum Annual water use fees: 
$750 for any single agric. Irrigation 

permit; 
$50,000 for an entity w/3 or fewer 
permits; 

$75,000 for an entity w/4 to 5 permits; 

$250,000 for an entity with > 5 permits; 
$250,000 for a city of the first class; 
$10,000 for a municipality that 

furnishes electric service and steam for 
home heating. 
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8. Summary of the factual data and analysis that support the proposed rule: 

Based on available data and assumptions, the Department projects that the $125 

annual fee will apply to approximately 4900 properties and generate just over 

$600,000 annually; and the proposed fee on withdrawals exceeding 50 million 

gallons per year will apply to approximately 200 to 250 properties in the Great 

Lakes basin and generate approximately $390,000 annually. 

 

9. Analysis and supporting documentation in support of the determination of 

the rule’s effect on small business: The Department lacks complete data on the 

number and nature of all operations withdrawing water above the threshold 

amount of 50 million gallons per year. However, based on the withdrawal data 

that does exist (e.g. high capacity well pumpage data), comparatively few small 

businesses will be affected by the rule.  

 

10. Effect on small business: The $125 annual fee will affect hundreds of small 

business throughout the state. However, the fee imposed on withdrawals 

exceeding 50 million gallons per year is expected to primarily affect public water 

systems, power companies, and large industrial operations in water-intensive 

industries. The rule will affect an unknown number of small businesses that 

withdraw more than 50 million gallons of water per year from waters within the 

Great Lakes basin; however the Department estimates that there are relatively few 

small businesses that withdraw water at levels exceeding the threshold amounts. 

 

11. Agency contact person: 

Eric Ebersberger, DG/5 

Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources 

Bureau of Drinking Water & Groundwater 

Water Use Section 

(608) 266-9254 

Eric.Ebersberger@wisconsin.gov  

 

12. Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission:  

Comments are to be submitted to Kristy Rogers, Bureau of Drinking Water and 

Groundwater, P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707 by July 7, 2010.   

 

 

mailto:Eric.Ebersberger@wisconsin.gov
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SECTION 1. Section NR 142.03 (4) is repealed. 

 

SECTION 2. Chapter NR 850 is created to read: 

 

CHAPTER NR 850 

WATER USE FEES 

 

NR 850.01 Purpose     NR 850.03 Definitions 

NR 850.02 Applicability    NR 850.04 Fees  

 .   

 

 

 NR 850.01 Purpose. The purpose of this chapter is to implement s. 281.346 (12), 

Stats., by establishing annual fees for water withdrawals from the Great Lakes basin of 

more than 50,000,000 gallons per year and by specifying procedures for assessing and 

collecting the fee specified in s. 281.346(12)(a). 
Note: Section 281.346(12)(a) provides that “A person who has a water supply system with the capacity to make a 
withdrawal from the waters of the state averaging 100,000 gallons per day or more in any 30−day period shall pay to 

the department an annual fee of $125, except that the department may promulgate a rule specifying a different amount.” 

 

 NR 850.02 Applicability. This chapter applies to any person who has a water 

supply system with the capacity to make a withdrawal from the waters of the state 

averaging 100,000 gallons per day or more in any 30-day period, and to persons who 

withdraw more than 50,000,000 gallons of water per year from the waters of the state 

within the Great Lakes basin using a water supply system or systems on one property, or 

using a public water supply. 

 

 NR 850.03 Definitions. In this chapter: 

(1) “Great Lakes Basin” has the meaning specified in s. 281.346(1)(je), Stats.   
Note: Section 281.346(1)(je), Stats., defines “Great Lakes Basin” to mean “the watershed of the Great Lakes and the St. 
Lawrence River upstream from Trois−Rivieres, Quebec, within the jurisdiction of the parties.” 

(2) “One property” “has the meaning specified in s. NR 812.07(68), Wis. Adm. 

Code.   
Note: Section NR 812.07(68), Wisc. Adm. Code, defines “one property” to mean “all contiguous land controlled by 

one owner, lessee, or any other person having a possessory interest.  Lands under single ownership bisected by 
highways or railroad right-of-ways are considered contiguous.” 

(3) “Person” has the meaning specified in s. 281.346(1)(nm), Stats. 
Note: Section 281.346(1)(nm), Stats., defines “person” to mean “an individual or other entity, including a government 
or a nongovernmental organization, including any scientific, professional, business, nonprofit, or public interest 

organization or association that is neither affiliated with nor under the direction of a government.” 
(4) “Public water supply” has the meaning specified in s. 281.346(1)(pm), Stats.   

Note: Section 281.346(1)(pm), Stats., defines “public water supply” to mean “water distributed to the public through a 
physically connected system of treatment, storage, and distribution facilities that serve a group of largely residential 
customers and that may also serve industrial, commercial, and other institutional customers.” 

(5) “Water supply system,” has the meaning specified in s. 281.346(1)(wp), Stats. 
Note:  Section 281.346(1)(wp), Stats., defines “water supply system, when not preceded by ‘public’”, to mean “one of 
the following:  1.   Except as provided in subd. 2., the equipment handling water from the point of intake of the water to 
the first point at which the water is used.  2.  For a system for providing a public water supply, the equipment from the 

point of intake of the water to the first point at which the water is distributed.” 

 (6) “Waters of the state” has the meaning specified in s. 281.01(18), Stats.   
Note: Section 281.01(18), Stats., defines “Waters of the state” to include “those portions of Lake Michigan 
and Lake Superior within the boundaries of this state, and all lakes, bays, rivers, streams, springs, ponds, 
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wells, impounding reservoirs, marshes, watercourses, drainage systems and other surface water or 
groundwater, natural or artificial, public or private, within this state or its jurisdiction.” 

 (7) “Withdraw” has the meaning specified in s. 281.346(1)(y), Stats. 
Note: Section 281.346(1)(y), Stats., defines “withdraw” to mean “to take water from surface water or groundwater”. 

 

NR 850.04 Fees. (1) A person who has a water supply system with the capacity to make 

a withdrawal from the waters of the state averaging 100,000 gallons per day or more in 

any 30-day period shall pay to the department a fee of $125, which covers all water 

supply systems on one property, or a single public water supply. 

(2) In addition to the fee specified in subsection (1), unless exempted under sub. (3), 

any person who withdraws more than 50,000,000 gallons of water per year from the 

waters of the state within the Great Lakes basin using a water supply system or systems 

on one property, or a public water supply, shall pay a fee in accordance with the schedule 

of fees in this subsection. The schedule is as follows, with the stated fee in each clause 

applied to the total amount of water withdrawn, as applicable: 

a. $1.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts withdrawn in excess of 50,000,000 

gallons but less than 100,000,000 gallons per year; 

b. $2 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts withdrawn in excess of 100,000,000 gallons 

but less than 150,000,000 gallons per year; 

c. $2.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts withdrawn in excess of 150,000,000 

gallons but less than 200,000,000 gallons per year; 

d. $3 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts withdrawn in excess of 200,000,000 gallons 

but less than 250,000,000 gallons per year; 

e. $3.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts withdrawn in excess of 250,000,000 

gallons but less than 300,000,000 gallons per year; 

f. $4 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts withdrawn in excess of 300,000,000 gallons 

but less than 350,000,000 gallons per year; 

g. $4.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts withdrawn in excess of 350,000,000 

gallons but less than 400,000,000 gallons per year; 

h. $5 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts withdrawn in excess of 400,000,000 gallons 

but less than 450,000,000 gallons per year; 

i. $5.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts withdrawn in excess of 450,000,000 

gallons but less than 500,000,000 gallons per year; 

j. $6 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts withdrawn in excess of 500,000,000 gallons 

per year. 

(3) No fee is required for a project involving the withdrawal of surface water to 

prevent flood damage or to remove flood waters during a period of flooding, as 

determined by the Department. 

(4) The fee specified in sub. (2) shall not exceed $9,500 per year for one property 

or for a single public water supply. 

(5) The fees specified in this section are assessed on a calendar year basis and 

shall be paid by June 30th of the following calendar year. 

 

SECTION 3.  EFFECTIVE DATE.  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month 

following publication in the Wisconsin administrative register as provided in s. 227.22(2) 

(intro.), Stats.   
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SECTION 4.  BOARD ADOPTION.  This rule was approved and adopted by the State of 

Wisconsin Natural Resources Board on ______________________________________. 

  

Dated in Madison, Wisconsin_________________________________ 

 

     STATE OF WISCONSIN     

     DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

 

      By ______________________________ 

       Matthew J. Frank, Secretary 

 

(SEAL) 

 

 


