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Clearinghouse Rule 09-110

State of Wisconsin
Department of Workforce Development
Equal Rights Division

Traveling Sales Crews

DWD 273

The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development proposes rules to create ch. DWD
273, relating to the regulation of traveling sales crews.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce Development

Statutory authority: Sections 103.34 (13) and 227.11, Stats.
Statutes interpreted: Section 103.34(13), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority. Section 103.34, Stats., created by 2009 Wisconsin Act
3, provides for the regulation of traveling sales crews, which involves the employment of groups
of persons as salespersons who travel to a variety of locations and sell consumer goods or
servicesdoor to door. Section 103.34(13), Stats., provides the authority for rules interpreting the
statute, establishing fees, and setting requirements for registration and safety.

Summary of the proposed rule. After providing brief statements on the authority, purpose
and applicability of the rule, the proposed rule enumerates the items required for a certificate of
registration. These include: a completed application form; two completed fingerprint cards (for
the purpose of a criminal background check) for each person who is a proprietor, managing
partner, manager, principal officer, employee, agent or representative of the traveling sales crew
business who supervises or transports traveling sales crew workers; verification that the
applicant has a surety bond, a certificate of deposit, an escrow account, or an irrevocable letter of
credit, in the amount of at least $10,000; a registration fee, in the amount of $60 for each
individual for whom a background check is required; a mechanic’s certification that all vehicles
to be used to transport sales crewsare in compliance with all safety standards; copies of the
information that is to be provided to employees describing the transportation to be provided, and
any hazardous materials (such as cleaning supplies) that the crew may be storing, handling,



transporting or otherwise having exposure to; and documents showing that the operator applicant
has the required amount of insurance coverage.



The proposed rule provides that the Department will begin to process the application when it
has received all of the required documents, and it will complete its processing of the application
within 30 days of receipt of the results of the criminal background check.

The proposed rule specifies standards for the fingerprint cards that are to be submitted as part
of the certification application, requires the applicant or certified operator to notify the
Department of any change in information that has been submitted to the Department, and
provides that a certificate of registration may be denied, suspended or revoked if the Department
determines that the applicant or certified operator is not in compliance with the law.

The proposed rule specifies the employment and wage payment records that are to be
maintained by a certified operator. The proposed rule requires that the vehicles used must meet
all safety requirements and that the certified operator must provide written information to the
crew members on the safe handling, storage and transportation of any products or other materials
that accompany the crew in their vehicles.

The proposed rule describes the information that must be provided by the operator to the
Department to obtain traveling sales crew member permits. This includes, for each crew
member, a government picture ID, information on the area of recruitment, the locations where
the crew will be working, a description of the duties of the crew members, a description of the
products being sold, and a statement verifying that this information has been provided to the
crew member. The proposed rule provides that permit applications will be processed and
permits issued within ten days after the receipt of all application materials. The proposed rule
provides that operators and crew members are required to carry permits and identification at all
times while working.

The proposed rule provides that a person who is required to obtain a traveling sales crew
member permit is entitled to file a claim for unpaid wages with the Department under sec.
109.09, Stats.

Summary of related federal law. There is no federal law which regulates traveling sales
crews or which requires work permits for door to door sales.

Comparison with laws in adjacent states. None of the states adjacent to Wisconsin
(IMinois, lowa, Michigan and Minnesota) has a law which regulates traveling sales crews.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies. The proposed rule is based on the
requirements of sec. 103.34, Stats.

Effecton small business. Because the proposed rule carries forward the requirements of
the statute and does not establish new requirements, the proposed rule does not have an effect on
small business.



Agency contact person. Timara Budack, Section Chief, Labor Standards Section, (608)
267-2495, Timara.Budack@dwd.wisconsin.gov .

Comments and deadline for submission. Comments may be submitted to Howard
Bernstein, Office of Legal Counsel, Dept. of Workforce Development, P.O. Box 7946, Madison,
WI 53707-7946 or Howard.Bernstein@dwd.wisconsin.gov .The deadline for submission is
January 22, 2010.

SECTION 1. Chapter DWD 273 is created to read:

Chapter DWD 273
Traveling Sales Crews

DWD 273.01 Authority and purpose. This rule is adopted in accordance with s.
103.34, Stats., to provide rules for the administration of the lawsrelating to traveling sales crews.

DWD 273.02 Applicability. This chapter applies to any employer or employee who
comes within the requirements of s. 103.34, Stats.

DWD 273.03 Definitions. Unless otherwise provided, in this chapter:

(1) “Department” means the Department of Workforce Development.

(2) “Employee” means an individual who is recruited in Wisconsin to be a traveling
sales crew member or who is working in Wisconsin as a traveling sales crew member.

(3) “Employer” means an entity that is operating a traveling sales crew in Wisconsin or
that recruits any traveling sales crew member in Wisconsin.

(4) “Misconduct” for the purposes of s. 103.34(9)(e), Stats., means conduct evincing
such willful or wanton disregard of an employer's interests as is found in a deliberate violation or
disregard of standards of behavior which the employer has the right to expect of his employee, or

in carelessness or negligence of such degree or recurrence as to manifest equal culpability,
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wrongful intent or evil design, or to show an intentional and substantial disregard of the
employer's interests or of the employee's duties and obligations to the employer. Mere
inefficiency, unsatisfactory conduct, failure of good performance as the result of inability or
incapacity, inadvertencies of ordinary negligence in isolated instances, or good-faith errors in
judgment or discretion are not to be deemed "misconduct.”

DWD 273.04 Certificate of registration. (1) APPLICATION. In order to apply for a
12 month original or renewal certificate of registration as a traveling sales crew employer under
this chapter, the applicant shall fully complete a written application form furnished by the
department and return it to the department.

Note: Applications should be delivered to the Department of Workforce Development, Equal Rights
Division, at Room A300, 201 East Washington Avenue, Madison Wisconsin, or they may be mailed to the
DWD Equal Rights Divisionat P.O. Box 8928, Madison WI 53708.

(2) ITEMS REQUIRED. Along with the completed application form, the following
items must be provided to the department:

(a) Two completed fingerprint cards for each person who is a proprietor, managing
partner, manager, or principal officer of the applicant, and for each employee, agent or
representative of the applicant who supervises or transports traveling sales crew workers.

(b) Evidence that the applicant has obtained, as confirmation of its ability to pay any
compensation owed to an employee or any penalty imposed by the department, one of the
following in the amount of at least $10,000: a surety bond, a certificate of deposit, an escrow
account or an irrevocable letter of credit.

(c) A registration fee in the amount determined by multiplying the number of
individuals for which the criminal background check under s. 103.34 (3)(b)(1), Stats. is required

by $60.00.



(d) Certification by a motor vehicle mechanic that all vehicles used by the applicant to
transport traveling sales crews are in compliance with all applicable Wisconsin and federal safety
standards as described ins. DWD 273.09(2). The costs associated with any vehicle inspection
are the responsibility of the applicant.

(e) A copy of the statement provided by the applicant to its employees, as required by s.
103.34 (5)(a)9, which describes the transportation to be provided to the employee and which
identifies any hazardous materials that the sales crews will be storing, handling, transporting or
having any exposure to, and a copy of any additional information concerning the storage,
handling or transportation of hazardous materials which may be required by s. 103.34 (7)(b),
Stats.

() Documentation showing that the applicant has in force insurance policies with
minimum coverage for commercial automobile liability of $500,000 per person, $2,000,000 per
accident and $500,000 of physical damage, and also has commercial general liability coverage of
at least $500,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 aggregate.

(3) ISSUANCE. The department shall process a certificate of registration application
when all of the required application documents have been received by the department. The
department will request the criminal background check within 30 calendar days of receipt of the
completed application materials. The department will complete its processing of the registration
application within 30 calendar days of its receipt of the results of the criminal background check.

DWD 273.05 Fingerprint cards. To complete the criminal background check required
by s. 103.34(3)(b)1, Stats., the applicant is required to provide two completed fingerprint cards
for each individual identified ins. DWD 273.04(2)(a). The fingerprinting on these cards shall be

completed by a federal, state, or local law enforcement agency, or a private entity duly



authorized to provide fingerprinting services. The applicant shall include, with the fingerprint
cards submitted, documentation identifying the agency or business that administered the
fingerprinting.

DWD 273.06 Change of status. If a change occurs in any of the information submitted
to the department under s. 103.34 (3)(a), Stats., the registrant shall notify the department of that
change within 30 calendar days after the change occurs. If the registrant hires any new
individuals who are required to have a criminal background check performed under s. 103.34
(3)(b)(2), the registrant shall submit to the department, for each new individual hired, an
additional registration fee of $60.00 and with two completed fingerprint cards to the department.

DWD 273.07 Suspension or revocation of registration. The department may deny,
suspend, revoke, restrict or refuse the certificate of registration if the department determines the
applicant or registrant is not in compliance with s. 103.34, Stats.

DWD 273.08 Payment and compensation. (1) PAYMENT AND RECORDS
REQUIRED. The employer of a traveling sales crew shall provide payment to its employees on
the regularly agreed upon pay dates. The employer is required to keep, for three years, the
following records for all traveling sales crew members:

(a) Name and address.

(b) Date of birth.

(c) Date of entering and leaving employment.

(d) Time of beginning and ending of work each day.

(e) Time of beginning and ending of meal periods, when the traveling sales crew
member’s meal periods are required or when such meal periods are to be deducted from work

time.



(f) Total number of hours worked per day and per week.

(9) Rate of pay and wages paid each payroll period.

(h) The amount of and reason for each deduction from the wages earned.

(1) Output of the traveling sales crew member, if paid on other than time basis.

(1) Documentation that the traveling sales crew member has been paid the applicable
minimum wage for all hours worked each pay period.

(2) DEDUCTIONS. The employer may make deductions from pay as allowed under s.
103.34 (5)(a) and (6)(b), Stats. The employer shall state clearly on the traveling sales crew
member’s paycheck, pay envelope, or paper accompanying the wage payment, the number of
hours worked, the rate of pay and the amount of and reason for each deduction from the wages
due or earned by the traveling sales crew member, except such miscellaneous deductions as may
have been authorized by request of the individual traveling sales crew member for reasons
personal to himself or herself. The employer may use a reasonable coding system.

DWD 273.09 Worker safety. (1) VEHICLES. The vehicle used to transport traveling
sales crews shall be used for its intended use. The vehicle shall have all safety equipment
required under state and federal laws. The safety equipment must be operational as defined in
these laws.

(2) TRANSPORTATION OF MATERIALS. If any motor vehicle is used by the
operator of a traveling sales crew to carry the products or samples of the products that the crew is

selling, the requirements of this subsection apply.



(a) If the product may pose any hazard to health due to contact with skin, or the
breathing of fumes, or for any other reason, the operator shall obtain written information from
the manufacturer or an equivalent source on the potential health hazards. The operator shall
provide this information to all crew members and shall include the information provided in its
application for a certificate of registration.

(b) The operator shall prepare a plan for the storage of products that are carried with the
crew which specifies how the products are to be stored in the vehicle, and during any temporary
storage outside of the vehicle, to minimize the risk of injury to crew members. The operator
shall provide this information to all crew members and shall include the information provided in
its application for a certificate of registration.

DWD 273.10 Insurance. The registered operator of a traveling sales crew shall
maintain in force the following insurance policies:

(a) Commercial automobile liability that provides minimum coverage limits of $500,000
per person, $2,000,000 per accident and $500,000 of physical damage.

(b) Commercial general liability that provides minimum coverage limits of $500,000
per occurrence and $1,000,000 aggregate.

DWD 273.11 Traveling Sales Crew Member Permits. (1) REQUIREMENT.

A traveling sales crew member who works in Wisconsin or who is recruited from Wisconsin
shall obtain a permit prior to working as a traveling sales crew member. The operator of a
traveling sales crew shall obtain a permit for each crew member before the crew member begins

work.



10

(2) APPLICATION. In orderto obtain a crew member permit from the department, the
crew operator must submit to the department a government picture 1D, which must include date
of birth and permanent home address. Accompanying the government picture ID, a letter from
the operator of the traveling sales crew must be submitted which identifies the following:

(a) The location where the traveling sales crew member was recruited.

(b) The locations where the traveling sales crew member will be working.

(c) A descriptionof the crew member’s general duties and responsibilities.

(d) A description of the products being sold.

(e) A statement verifying that the required disclosure statement has been provided to the
traveling sales crew member.

(3) PROCESSING. Within ten calendar days of receipt of the completed application
materials, the department will complete its processing of the application and issue the permit.

(4) OPERATOR REQUIREMENT TO CARRY PERMIT. The operator of a traveling
sales crew and anyone supervising or transporting a traveling sales crew worker shall carry at all
times, while engaged in traveling sales crew activities, a copy of each permit. An operator shall
provide a crew member’s permit upon the request of a deputy of the department, a law
enforcement officer, or a person with whom the employer, crew member, agent or representative
is doing business.

(5) CREW MEMBER REQUIREMENT TO CARRY PERMIT. While engaged in
traveling sales crew activities, a traveling sales crew worker shall carry at all times his or her
original traveling sales crew worker permit, his or her identification card and his or her

government issued picture ID. A traveling sales crew worker shall provide any one or more of
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these documents upon the request of a deputy of the department, a law enforcement officer, or a
person with whom the traveling sales crew worker is doing business.

DWD 273.12 Wage claims. A personwho is required to obtain a traveling sales crew
worker permit is entitled to file an unpaid wage complaint with the department under s. 109.09,

Stats.

SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule shall take effect the first day of the month
following publication in the Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22 (2) (intro),

Stats., or April 1, 2010, whichever date is later.



