
 

 

             
    

DATE: April 20, 2010 

 

TO:  The Honorable Fred Risser 

President, Wisconsin State Senate 

Room 220, South, State Capitol 

PO Box 7882 

Madison,  WI  53707-7882 

 

The Honorable Michael Sheridan 

Speaker, Wisconsin State Assembly 

Room 211 West, State Capitol 

PO Box 8953 

Madison,  WI  53708-8952 

 

FROM: Rodney J. Nilsestuen, Secretary 

  Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection 

   

SUBJECT: Weights and Measures Licensing and Fees 
(Clearinghouse Rule #09-105) 

 

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (“DATCP”) is transmitting this 

rule for legislative committee review, as provided in s. 227.19(2) and (3), Stats.  DATCP will 

publish notice of this referral in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, as provided in s. 

227.19(2), Stats.).   

 

This rule implements law changes contained in 2009 Wis. Act 28 (biennial budget act).  This rule 

increases weights and measures fees in order to help fund Wisconsin’s weights and measures 

program. 
 

Background 

 

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) administers 

Wisconsin’s weights and measures program which ensures the accuracy of commercial weights 

and measures.  According to the National Conference on Weights and Measures, the average 

U.S. family spends over half of its household budget on commodities that are sold by weight or 
measure.  Consumers and other purchasers are seldom able to verify the accuracy of weights and 

measures on their own.  Even small shortages, when aggregated over many purchasers, can have 

a huge aggregate impact.  

 

DATCP inspects commodities, scales and measuring devices to ensure that businesses and 

consumers get what they pay for.  The weights and measures program is partially funded by 

weights and measures license fees.  But until recently, DATCP was not authorized to charge fees 
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for some important weighing and measuring operations.  This has caused a distribution of 

inspections costs that placed an unfair burden on those businesses that were not required to pay 

license fees, and has contributed to the budgetary limitations that affect the department’s ability 

to administer the program.   

 

For example, because of limited program budgets, some devices have been inspected 

infrequently resulting in unfavorable accuracy rates.  Retail motor fuel pumps, which are subject 

to segregated fees, are inspected frequently and have an accuracy rate of over 96 percent.  By 

contrast, LP gas meters have an accuracy rate under 89 percent, and vehicle oil tank meters have 

an accuracy rate under 85 percent.  Until recently, the latter two meters were not subject to a 

license fee. 

 

The weights and measures inspection program is funded by a combination of general program 

revenue (GPR), segregated funding, and program revenue (PR) derived from license fees and 

city contract fees.  PR revenues currently fund over half of the weights and measures program. 

Most of the fees related to weights and measures devices have been unchanged since 2003.  The 

unchanged fees, combined with inflationary pressures, means the program’s expenditures now 

exceed revenues.  If nothing is done to address the revenue shortfall, DATCP projects that the 

weights and measures PR account will have a negative $391,000 cash balance by the end of FY 

2012.   

 

The biennial budget act expanded licensing of weights and measures devices, and authorized 

certain fee adjustments by rule, in order to improve weights and measures regulation and help 

remedy a severe budget shortfall.  The budget act affects vehicle scales, vehicle tank meters and 

LP gas meters, among other things.  It also authorizes DATCP to charge fees for reinspections 

made necessary by weights and measures law violations.   

 

This rule is designed to implement the budget act.  However, this rule also updates and clarifies 

other weights and measures rule provisions under ch. ATCP 92, Wis. Adm. Code.  This rule 

establishes different fees for different weights and measures program and license categories, 

based upon an analysis of program costs associated with each category.  Fees are generally 

proportionate to program costs in each category.  

 
Rule Contents 

 

This rule does all of the following: 

 

Retail Food Establishments 

 

This rule increases the annual weights and measures inspection fees paid by licensed retail food 

establishments (it does not change food safety inspection fees).  This rule does all of the 

following: 
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 Increases, from $100 to $420, the annual fee for a retail food establishment that has annual 
food sales of at least $1 million and processes potentially hazardous food. 

 

 Increases, from $45 to $55, the annual fee for a retail food establishment that has annual food 

sales of at least $25,000 but less than $1 million and processes potentially hazardous food. 

 

 Increases, from $25 to $45, the annual fee for a retail food establishment that has annual food 
sales of at least $25,000 and is engaged in food processing, but does not process potentially 

hazardous food. 

 

 Establishes a fee of $30 for a retail food establishment that is not engaged in food processing. 

 

Vehicle and Livestock Scales 

 

This rule does all of the following: 

 

 Increases, from $100 to $140, the annual fee for a vehicle scale operator license (does not 
apply to livestock scales other than vehicle scales).  

 

 Increases, from $200 to $350, the license fee surcharge for a person found operating a 
vehicle scale without a license (does not apply to operators of livestock scales other than 

vehicle scales, because those operators are not licensed). 

 

 Establishes a license fee surcharge of $350 for an operator who, during the previous year, 

failed to comply with vehicle scale testing and reporting requirements (does not apply to 

operators of livestock scales other than vehicle scales, because those operators are not 

licensed). 

 

 Establishes a fee of $160 for a permit to install or relocate a vehicle scale.  This fee does not 
apply to livestock scale permits (other than vehicle scales) because the statutes do not 

authorize DATCP to charge fees for livestock scale permits mandated by DATCP. 

 

 Establishes a fee of $360 to process a request, by a vehicle scale operator or livestock scale 

operator, for a variance from an applicable scale construction standards (this rule does not 

change current construction standards).  See ss. 93.06(1p) and 98.16(2m)(b) and (4), Stats. 

 

 Updates and clarifies current requirements for annual testing of vehicle scales and livestock 

scales, and reporting test results to DATCP.   

 

 Establishes a vehicle scale operator license surcharge of $350 for an operator who fails to 
comply with annual scale testing and reporting requirements (does not apply to operators of 

livestock scales other than vehicle scales, because those operators are not licensed). 
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Weights and Measures Service Companies and Technicians 

 

This rule increases current annual license fees for weights and measures service companies, as 

follows: 

 

 Increases the basic license fee from $250 to $325.   
 

 Increases the supplementary license fee for companies operating more than one business 

location.  The fee for each additional business location is increased from $75 to $100. 

 

This rule increases, from $25 to $35, the current examination fee for certification of an 

individual weights and measures technician (5-year certification).  The examination fee may be 

paid by the weights and measures service company that employs the technician. 

 

LP Gas Meters 

 

This rule does all of the following: 

 

 Implements statutory licensing requirements for operators of LP gas meters. 

 Establishes an annual license fee of $140. 

 

 Establishes a license fee surcharge of $350 for an applicant who was found operating an LP 

gas meter without a required license during the previous year. 

 

 Establishes basic annual testing and test reporting requirements related to LP gas meters, and 
establishes a license fee surcharge of $350 for an applicant who failed to comply with those 

basic requirements in the previous year. 

 

Vehicle Tank Meters 

 

This rule does all of the following: 

 

 Implements statutory licensing requirements for vehicle tank meter operators. 

 

 Establishes an annual license fee of $140. 
 

 Establishes a license fee surcharge of $350 for an applicant who was found operating a 
vehicle tank meter without a required license during the previous year. 

 

 Establishes basic annual testing and test reporting requirements related to vehicle tank 

meters, and establishes a license fee surcharge of $350 for an applicant who failed to comply 

with those basic requirements in the previous year. 
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Reinspection Fees 

 

This rule establishes reinspection fees to cover DATCP reinspection costs incurred because of 

law violations found on an initial inspection of a weight or measure (including a scale or other 

weighing or measuring device).  This rule establishes the following reinspection fees for the 

following types of weights and measures, based on DATCP’s average cost to reinspect that type 

of weight or measure: 

 

 Large capacity scale (over 5,000 lbs), $300. 

 Medium capacity scale ( 300-5,000lbs), $185 

 Small capacity scale (up to 300 lbs), $150 

 Vehicle tank meter, $230. 

 Liquified petroleum gas meter, $360. 

 Loading rack meter, $300 

 Retail motor fuel device (or similar liquid measuring device), $150 

 Timing device, $150. 

 Grain moisture meter, $200. 

 Package labeling accuracy, $185. 

 Price accuracy, $255. 

 Other reinspections, $175. 
 

 
Public Hearings 

 

DATCP held three public hearings on this rule.  DATCP held the hearings in Madison on 

January 11, 2010, in Wausau on January 12, 2010 and in Milwaukee on January 15, 2010.  

DATCP also accepted written comments until January 29, 2010.  

 

Three persons attended the Madison hearing; however only two provided comments.  No one 

attended the Milwaukee or Wausau hearings.  However, 185 other persons submitted written 

comments for the hearing record (most submitted nearly identical comments related to retail food 

establishment fees).  

 

Hearing draft comments expressed concern over increased license fees.   Most comments 

focused on retail food establishment fees.  A few comments (including trade association 

comments) focused on liquid propane gas meter fees and vehicle tank meter fees.   

 
Changes from Hearing Draft 

 

DATCP made no changes to the proposed fee amounts, because the proposed fees reflect actual 

weights and measures program costs, including costs associated with staff, equipment and travel.   

DATCP made minor editorial changes in response to comments from the Legislative Council 

Rules Clearinghouse.   
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Response to Rules Clearinghouse Comments 
 

DATCP modified the final draft rule to address the comments from the Legislative Council 

Rules Clearinghouse. 
 

Fiscal Impact 
 

This rule will increase annual DATCP revenues by an estimated $400,000 and will allow 

DATCP to cover a larger share of its costs to administer Wisconsin’s weights and measures 

program.  This rule will have no significant impact on local units of government.  A complete 

fiscal estimate is attached. 
 

Business Impact  
 

This rule will affect businesses that operate or service weights and measures in Wisconsin.  

Many affected business will pay higher fees, or will pay fees for the first time.  However, the fee 

increases are not expected to have a major impact on overall business costs.  Fees for each 

business category are proportionate to weights and measures program costs for that business 

category, and cover only a portion of program costs.  A complete business impact analysis is 

attached. 
 

Federal and Surrounding State Regulations 

 

Federal Programs 

 

States have the primary responsibility for regulating weights and measures.   The National 

Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) provides model regulations and standards which 

may be adopted and enforced by the states.  This rule is not mandated by federal law. 

 

Surrounding State Programs 

 

Wisconsin has a well-developed weights and measures program.  Wisconsin statutes authorize 

DATCP to license persons who operate or service weights and measures in the state and also 

authorize DATCP to adopt rules prescribing standards for the construction, operation and 

maintenance of weights and measures and to establish the fees for inspections and licenses.  

 

Surrounding states have established weights and measures fees to help fund their state programs.  

Some surrounding states have less comprehensive weights and measures programs, and fewer 

administrative options for standardizing and regulating weights and measures.   

 

Over the last several years, Iowa’s weights and measures program has had organizational 

difficulties.  For example, Iowa’s metrology lab failed to meet NIST standards and has been 

closed.   
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 Retail Food Establishments 
 

Illinois, Minnesota and Iowa charge retail food establishment scale fees, and Minnesota 

charges fees for package checking.  Comparable Illinois scale fees range from $20-$900 

annually per establishment, depending upon number of scales.  Minnesota scale fees range 

from $35-$1125 annually per establishment, depending upon number of scales ($25 per 

scale).  Iowa scale fees range from $9 to $648 ($9 per scale).  Minnesota package checking 

fees range from $35-$330 depending on lot size.   Michigan’s funding comes from general 

purpose revenue. 
 

 Weights and Measures Service Companies and Technicians 

 

Illinois, Michigan and Iowa license weights and measures service companies.  Illinois has an 

annual license fee of $50.  Michigan has a $300 biennial license fee.  Iowa has a $5 annual 

license fee.  Minnesota does not have a licensing program (funding comes from general 

program revenue). 

 

Illinois, Michigan and Iowa license service company technicians.  Illinois has an annual 

technician license fee of $25.  Michigan has a $100 technician license fee every 2 years.  

Iowa has a $5 annual technician fee.  Minnesota does not have a licensing program (funding 

comes from general program revenue). 

 

 Vehicle Scales 
 

Illinois and Iowa license vehicle scales.  Illinois has an annual license fee of $200.  

Minnesota charges an inspection fee that averages about $185 range annually.  Iowa charges 

a range of $84-$106.50 per annual license.  Michigan does not have a licensing program 

(funding comes from general program revenue). 

 

 LP Gas Meters 
 

Illinois and Iowa license LP gas meters.  Illinois has an annual license fee of $165.  Iowa has 

an annual license fee of $52.50.  Michigan does not have a licensing program (funding comes 

from general program revenue). Minnesota does not have a licensing program. 

 

 Vehicle Tank Meters 

 

Illinois and Iowa license vehicle tank meters.  Illinois charges a range of $100 to $200 for an 

annual license.  Minnesota’s program funding comes from other sources.  Iowa charges a 

$9.00 annual license fee.  Michigan does not have a licensing program (funding comes from 

general program revenue). 
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 Reinspection Fees 
 
Device Iowa ( if device fails 

reinspection) 

Illinois Michigan Minnesota  

Vehicle Scale (large capacity) $84-106.50 $200 GPR (no fee) Avg $388  

Medium Capacity Scale $16.50-46.50 $75-200 GPR $145-$270 

Small Capacity Scale $9.00 $20-50 GPR $125-$250 

Vehicle Tank Meter $9.00 $100-200 GPR SEG 

LPG Meter $52.5 $165 GPR $250 

Loading Rack Meter $9.00 $200 GPR SEG 

Retail Motor Fuel $9.00 $50 GPR SEG 

Timing Device N/A N/A GPR $175/hr 

Grain Moisture Meter $24.00 $100 GPR N/A 

Package Labeling N/A N/A GPR $235-$530 

Price Accuracy N/A N/A GPR $175-$190/hour 

Other  N/A N/A GPR $175-190/hour 

 
 


