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Clearinghouse Rule 08-072 

 
PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
ADOPTING RULES 

 

 
The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order to create TRANS 
117.03(2)(n), relating to the occupational licensing program. 
 

 
 
 NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 227.11(2)(a), 343.02(1), 343.10, 

343.20 and 351.07, Stats., and interpreting ss. 227.11(2)(a), 343.10, 343.20 and 351.07, 

Stats., the Department of Transportation will hold a public hearing in Room 144-B of the 

Hill Farms State Transportation Building, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin 

on the 15th day of August, 2008, at 10:30 AM, to consider the amendment of ch. Trans 

117, Wisconsin Administrative Code, relating to the occupational licensing program. 

 An interpreter for the hearing impaired will be available on request for this hearing.  

Please make reservations for a hearing interpreter at least 10 days prior to the hearing. 

 Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible entrance are available. 
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PROPOSED ORDER OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

ADOPTING RULES 

 

 
The Wisconsin Department of Transportation proposes an order to create TRANS 
117.03(2)(n), relating to the occupational licensing program. 
 

 
 
 Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation 

 
 Statutes interpreted:  ss. 227.11(2)(a), 343.10, 343.20 and 351.07, Stats. 

 
Statutory authority:  ss.  227.11(2)(a), 343.02(1), 343.10, 343.20 and 351.07, 

Stats. 
 
 Explanation of agency authority:  DMV is statutorily charged with responsibility 

for administering the state’s driver licensing system.  This rule making is related to the 
issuance of restricted (“occupational”) driver licenses to drivers whose operating privileges 
are suspended or revoked. 
 
 Related statute or rule:  ss. 49.857(3)(a)3., 343.30, 343.305, 343.31, 343.32,  

346.63, 351.07, 767.73(1)(b), 938.34(14q) and 961.50, Stats. 
 
 Plain language analysis:  This amendment codifies DMV’s longstanding 

administrative practices related to statutorily required waiting periods following the 
revocation or suspension of operating privileges. 
 

A recent Waukesha County case involving a repeat drunk driver who sought an 
occupational license during the minimum mandatory waiting period for a license 
specified in s. 343.30(1q)(a)4., Stats., made the Department aware of the fact that the 
current administrative rule does not discuss statutory minimum waiting periods for 
licensing.  The proceeding illustrated a need to explain the Department’s procedures 
with regard to application of the minimum waits for occupational licensing in the 
administrative rule. 
 

Counsel from the Department of Justice recommended codifying this 
interpretation with other occupational licensing regulations. 
 

What Are Occupational License Waiting Periods?  Generally, drivers whose 

licenses are suspended or revoked can apply to DOT for a restricted license 
(“occupational license”) that permits limited operation of a motor vehicle for up to 12 
hours per day, not to exceed 60 hours per week.  The licenses specify the area in which 
the driver may operate motor vehicles, the times at which they may drive, the purpose 
for which they may drive, such as work or homemaker duties. 
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Each revocation or suspension imposed by the Department or a court has an 
occupational license waiting period associated with it.  By default, s. 343.10(2)(a)4., 
Stats., provides that a person must wait 15 days from the beginning of the revocation 
period before becoming eligible for an occupational license.  But, where a different 
provision of law provides for a different shorter or longer waiting period, that period 
applies in lieu of the 15-day default.  s. 343.10(2)(a)4., Stats.  For example, persons 
whose licenses are suspended under the administrative suspension law do not have to 
wait at all. s. 343.305(8)(d), Stats.  Persons who refuse chemical testing must wait 30, 
90, or 120 days depending on the number of prior alcohol offenses the person 
committed prior to the refusal.  Federal law essentially requires Wisconsin to impose 
one-year minimum waiting periods on drivers who have committed more than 2 alcohol 
offenses in a 5-year period.  s. 343.31(3)(bm)3., 4. and 5., Stats., 23 U.S.C. s. 164.  
Convicted drunk drivers who are not subject to the federal requirement face escalating 
occupational license periods of up to 90 days. 
 

The waiting period for an occupational license begins on the date the revocation 
or suspension is imposed and ends after the waiting period has elapsed.  Where an 
appeal or other judicial activity, such as the reopening of a conviction, stays a 
suspension or revocation, any statutorily required waiting period is also stayed.  If the 
conviction is upheld or reinstated, the Department reimposes the suspension or 
revocation and the waiting period picks up where it stopped.  For example, if 10 days 
passed between the time a suspension was imposed and the time of appeal, upon re-
entry of the conviction, DMV would re-impose the suspension or revocation, and impose 
the remaining portion of the required waiting period. 
 

Sometimes drivers are convicted of multiple offenses at or near the same time.  
The offenses may or may not have been one incident or occurrence.  Regardless, DMV 
applies the same occupational license waiting period rules.  If the revocation or 
suspension periods begin simultaneously or nearly simultaneously, the waiting periods 
may run concurrently.  If for some reason, however, the revocations or suspensions 
begin at different times, the driver will be subject to a waiting period for each revocation 
or suspension. 
 

In some circumstances, DOT shortens a revocation or suspension because the 
driver has previously been suspended or revoked under different laws regulating the 
behavior that led to the driver’s arrest.  For example, a driver might be administratively 
suspended, revoked for refusing chemical tests, and convicted of operating while 
intoxicated as a result of one arrest.  If the driver had one prior conviction for an alcohol-
related offense (an offense countable under s. 343.307(1), Stats.) that occurred more 
than 5 years prior to his arrest for this second offense.  The driver would face a 6-month 
suspension for the administrative suspension, a 2-year revocation for the refusal, and a 
12 to 18 month revocation for the OWI conviction.  No waiting period would be imposed 
for the administrative suspension. s. 343.305(8)(d), Stats.  A 60-day wait would be 
imposed for the OWI conviction.  s. 343.31(3)(bm)3., Stats.  Finally, a 90-day wait would 
be imposed for the refusal revocation.  s. 343.305(10)(b)3., Stats.  If the court convicted 
the person of the refusal and OWI at the same time, their occupational license waiting 
periods would run simultaneously.  If the convictions occur at different times, however, 
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the statutorily required waiting period would be imposed for each revocation.  While the 
refusal revocation would be reduced by the “time served” under the OWI revocation in 
accordance with s. 343.305(10)(g), Stats., the driver would have to wait until “[a]fter the 
first 90 days of the revocation period” passes to obtain an occupational license. 
s. 343.305(10)(b)3., Stats.  Nothing in s. 343.305 or 343.30(1q), Stats., permits 
occupational license waiting periods to be reduced by other occupational license waiting 
periods in the same manner that revocation periods are reduced. 

 
Can a Court Waive or Change an Occupational License Waiting Period?  

No.  Court involvement in occupational license decision making is administrative not 
judicial.  State v. Marcus, 259 Wis. 543 (1951); State v. Mollet, 67 Wis. 2d 574 (1975).  
Both WisDOT and the courts are bound to follow the licensing requirements of 
s. 343.10, Stats., including the mandatory minimum wait requirements for occupational 
licensing.  Courts can waive or change any discretionary decision made by DMV in the 

licensing process under the procedure set forth in s. 343.10(4), Stats., but statutorily 
mandated requirements may not be set aside by DMV or a court. 

 
Statutory Inconsistency.  In the process of drafting this rule making, the 

Department discovered that an obsolete statutory reference to CDL occupational licenses 
remains in s. 351.07(1m), Stats.  The issuance of CDL occupational licenses is now 
prohibited by federal law.  49 CFR 383.73(a)(3); 383.71(a)(7); 49 CFR 384.210.  
Wisconsin law was changed to conform to this federal requirement in 2003 Wis. Act 33.  
Section 2541 of that Act amended the existing s. 343.10(2)(c) to remove Department 
authority to issue occupational licenses permitting operation of commercial motor vehicles.  
At some point, the Department suggests the obsolete and ineffective language of 
s. 351.07(1m), Stats., be formally repealed. 
 
 Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal 
regulation:  23 U.S.C. s. 164 provides for “sanctioning” states that do not adopt certain 

strict driver licensing statutes affecting drunk drivers.  One requirement imposed under this 
statute is that states may not issue occupational licenses to persons who drive drunk twice 
in any 5-year period until the person has had their operating privileges completely revoked 
for a full year.  Wisconsin’s current statutes have been determined to comply with this 
requirement.   
 
 WisDOT cannot, by administrative rule, change these statutory waiting periods.  If 
the legislature were to change them, the current federal "sanction" for noncompliance 
would transfer an amount equal to 3 percent of the funds apportioned to the State on that 

date under each of paragraphs (1), (3), and (4) of 23 U.S.C. § 104(b) from various highway 
programs to highway safety programs.  For federal fiscal year 2008, the federal sanction 
would transfer 3% of 23 USC 104(b)(1) National Highway System funds, 3% of § 104(b)(3) 
Surface Transportation Program funds, and 3% of § 104(b)(4) Interstate Maintenance 
funds to 23 U.S.C. § 402 safety funds.  Thus, the “sanction” for not complying with the 
federal repeat intoxicated driver law would be a loss of slightly more than $15 million from 
the highway construction and maintenance program and a commensurate increase in 
highway safety monies. 
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 Comparison with Rules in the Following States: 

 
 Michigan:  Section 257.319(8) of the Michigan Vehicle Code establishes waiting 

periods for occupational licenses following OWI convictions in that state as follows: 
 

 No waiting period during a license withdrawal for first offense (within 7 years) 
“driving while impaired.”  Under Michigan law, “driving while visibly impaired” 
is a lesser charge than driving while under the influence of an intoxicant.  
Michigan Compiled Laws s. 257.319(8)(b). 

 No waiting period during a license withdrawal for an underage person 

convicted of having a BAC between .02 and .08. Michigan Compiled 
Laws s. 257.319(8)(c).  Second offense results in a 90-day suspension with 
no possibility of an occupational license. Michigan Compiled 
Laws s. 257.319(8)(d). 

 No waiting period for regular vehicle privileges during a withdrawal resulting 
from a CDL violation involving a BAC between .04 and .08. Michigan 
Compiled Laws s. 257.319(8)(f). 

 30 days waiting period during a license withdrawal for first offense (within 7 

years) operating while under the influence of an intoxicant or operating with 
any amount of a controlled substance. Michigan Compiled 
Laws s. 257.319(8)(a) 

 90 days waiting period during a license withdrawal for any of the above-
described violations if a minor was in the car. Michigan Compiled 
Laws s. 257.319(8)(e). 

 
There is a 1-year wait under Michigan law for being involved in various criminal activities, 
such as issuing a bomb threat under s. 257.319(11) of the Michigan Vehicle Code.  
 
 Minnesota:  Section 171.30, Minnesota Statutes (2007) prohibits issuance of 

occupational CDL licenses and imposes the following waiting periods for occupational 
licenses (called “limited licenses” in that state) as follows: 
 

 15 days for first offense OWI or refusal Minn. Stat. s. 171.30(subd. 
2a.(1)) 

 60 day wait for persons whose operating privileges are withdrawn for any 

felony or hit and run.  Minn. Stat. s. 171.30(subd. 2.) 

 90 days for second offense OWI within 10 years or 3rd offense in a 
lifetime. Minn. Stat. s. 171.30(subd. 2a.(2)) 

 180 days for second offense refusal of testing within 10 years or 3rd 
offense in a lifetime. Minn. Stat. s. 171.30(subd. 2a.(3)) 

 One year for felony injury and homicide by intoxicated use violations. 

Minn. Stat. s. 171.30(subd. 2a.(4)) 
 
The waiting periods are doubled for persons under age 18 or who commit a violation with 
a BAC greater than 0.20. Minn. Stat. s. 171.30(subd. 2c) 
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 Illinois:  Section 6206 A31 of the Illinois statutes establish waiting periods for 

occupational licenses following OWI convictions in that state as follows: 
 

 No wait for a first OWI.  The occupational license must be approved by the 
court hearing the OWI case.  625 ILCS 6-206.1(a). 

 One year wait for second and subsequent offense OWI.  The driver must 

obtain permission for the occupational license from a review panel.  625 
ILCS 6-208.1(a)4., 6-208(b)1. 

 3 year wait following second or subsequent refusals, homicide by 
intoxicated use and other offenses.  625 ILCS 6-208(a)3., 6-208(b)1.  The 
driver must obtain permission for the occupational license from a review 
panel. 

 
Illinois also imposes escalating waiting periods on persons under age 21 who violate 
absolute sobriety requirements.  625 ILCS 6-208.2 
 
 Iowa:  Iowa Code s. 321.215 on “Temporary restricted licenses” covers 

occupational licensing in Iowa.  There are no waiting periods for occupational licenses 
under Iowa law, though some offenders, such as persons convicted of drug offenses, may 
be completely ineligible for occupational licensing.   
 
 Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the 
related findings support the regulatory approach chosen:  This proposed rule making 

would codify longstanding DMV administrative practice with regard to occupational license 
waiting periods.  The promulgation of this regulation does not involve the interpretation of 
data. 
 
 Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine effect on small 
businesses:  This proposed rule making has no effect on small business.  The proposed 

rule simply codifies currently existing WisDOT practice and will not change the law or 
DMV’s application of the law.  Accordingly, any effect on small business will be the same 
before and after adoption of this proposed rule amendment. 
 
 Effect on small business:  This proposed rule will have no significant effect upon 

small businesses.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted 
by e-mail at ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585. 
  

Fiscal effect:  The Department estimates that there will be no fiscal impact on the 

liabilities or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical 
and adult education district, sewerage district, or federally-recognized tribes or bands.   

 
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:  The Department estimates that 

there will be no fiscal impact on state or private sector revenues or liabilities.  
 

 Agency contact person and place where comments are to be submitted and 
deadline for submission:  The public record on this proposed rule making will be held 

open until close of business the day of the hearing to permit the submission of comments 
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in lieu of public hearing testimony or comments supplementing testimony offered at the 
hearing.  Any such comments should be submitted to Rhonda Alley, Wisconsin 
Department of Transportation, Compliance and Restoration Section, 4802 Sheboygan 
Avenue, Room 301, P. O. Box 7983, Madison, WI  53707-7983.  You may also contact 
Ms. Alley by phone at (608) 264-7002 or via e-mail:  rhonda.alley@dot.state.wi.us.  A copy 
of the rule may be obtained upon request from the Wisconsin Department of 
Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles, Room 351, Hill Farms State Transportation 
Building, 4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Madison, WI 53707, telephone (608) 266-2237. 
 
 To view the proposed amendments to the rule, view the current rule, and submit 
written comments via e-mail/internet, you may visit the following website:  
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/library/research/law/rulenotices.htm.   
 

 
 TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE 

 
 SECTION 1.  Trans 117.03(2)(n) is created to read: 

 Trans 117.03(2)(n) Any minimum mandatory waiting period required under 

s. 343.10(2)(a)4., Stats., or specified in any other provision of law has expired.  The 

waiting period commences on the date the suspension or revocation is imposed.  Each 

revocation or suspension imposed has its own waiting period.  The waiting periods may 

run concurrently.  Where waiting periods do not run concurrently, no credit may be 

granted for waiting periods resulting from multiple suspensions or revocations arising 

out of one incident or occurrence.  A reduction in the length of a suspension or 

revocation does not affect the length of the waiting period for an occupational license.  

An appeal or other judicial action that stays a suspension or revocation also stays the 

running of any required waiting period for that suspension or revocation. 

NOTE:  s. 343.10(2)(a)4., Stats. 

 

(END OF RULE TEXT) 
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 Effective Date.  This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), 
Stats. 
 
      Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this ____ day of 

July, 2008. 

 
 
 
      ______________________________________ 
      FRANK J. BUSALACCHI 
      Secretary 
      Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
 
 


