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PART 1

Analysis Prepared by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation

Statutes interpreted: s. 194.407, Stats., as created by 2007 Wis. Act 20

Statutory authority: s. 194.407 (1) and (3), Stats., as created by 2007 Wis. Act
20

Explanation of agency authority: Section 194.407 of the statutes authorizes the
Department to implement and administer a unified registration system for motor carriers
consistent with 49 USC 13908 and 14504a, and to prescribe annual fees for that
registration.

Related statute or rule: Section 194. 407, Stats., 49 USC 13908 and 14504a, 49
CFR 367.

Plain language analysis: This chapter establishes in Wisconsin Administrative
Code the fees to be charged under the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) system, and
establishes a method for counting the number of vehicles so that an entity knows whether
it is required to register under UCR and, if so, which fee bracket applies to the entity.

Summary of, and preliminary comparison with, existing or proposed federal
regulation: This proposed emergenecy-rule complies and is consistent with federal law
and regulations pertaining to the Unified Carrier Registration system.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

Michigan: There are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as of October—24;
2004January 3, 2008.

Minnesota: Minnesota is not a participating state in the UCR program in 2007.
There are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as of January 3, 20080¢teber24,-2007.

lllinois: There are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as of January 3, 20080<¢tober
24,2007,

lowa: There are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as of January 3, 20080<¢teber
AL

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies used and how the
related findings support the regulatory approach chosen: This proposed emergency
rule is derived solely from federal law, federal regulation and Unified Carrier Registration
Agreement, both of which are authorized by 49 USC 13908 and 14504a and implement
those sections. If Wisconsin chooses not to participate in the UCR program, Wisconsin
will forfeit revenues from carrier registration pursuant to federal law.

Effect on small business and, if applicable, any analysis and supporting
documentation used to determine effect on small businesses: This proposed
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emergency-rule is derived solely from federal law, federal regulation, and Unified Carrier
Registration Agreement. Any effect on small businesses is a result of federal law, federal
regulation and the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement. The bill will affect some small
businesses by requiring them to pay an annual registration fee based on the size of its
truck fleet, with fees of $39 to $806 annually. These fees are established under federal law
at 49 CFR 367.20_but may be revised annually by publication in the federal register. If
Wisconsin does not charge these fees, small businesses that operate affected trucks and
trailers outside this state will nevertheless be required to pay these same fees to other
states. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by e-mail at
ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by calling (414) 438-4585.

Fiscal effect: This proposed rule is derived solely from federal law, federal
regulation, and Unified Carrier Registration Agreement. Any fiscal impact on the liabilities
or revenues of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational, technical and adult
education district, sewerage district, or federally-recognized tribes or bands is a result of
federal law, federal regulation and the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement._The Unified
Carrier Reqistration Agreement authorizes states to exempt solely intra-state carriers and
gualified school buses from the reqistration fee, and the Department has made reqgistration
and payment of the fees optional for those entities.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: This proposed rule is derived
solely from federal law, federal regulation, and Unified Carrier Registration Agreement.
Any cost incurred by the private sector is a result of federal law, federal regulation and the
Unified Carrier Registration Agreement. Many parties subject to these fees are paying
higher fees under the Single State Registration System (SSRS), which the Unified Carrier
Registration fee replaces; they will see significant annual fee reductions. Numerous
smaller motor carriers, motor private carriers, brokers, leasing companies, and freight
forwarders are exempt from SSRS and are made subject to Unified Carrier Registration;
they will be required to pay annual fees of $39-$806 or more depending upon their fleet
size. The sum of fees collected by this state will be the same under Unified Carrier
Registration as presently collected under SSRS. Under federal law, federal regulation,
and the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement, the amounts of UCR registration fees is
established so that the amount collected, in total, is the same as the total amount of fees
that had been collected under the former SSRS program. The-base-ef-More motor
carriers from-which-thefee-iscollected-differsfrom-the-base-are required to register and
pay fees under UCR than were required to register and pay under the SSRS program.
Therefore, some types of carriers may pay more (those newly subject to UCR) or less
(those previously subject to SSRS) fees under UCR, but the tetal-sum of fees paid by all
registrants_is the same.

Agency contact person and copies of proposed rule: Copies of the proposed
rule can be obtained, without cost, by writing to Carson P. Frazier, Division of Motor
Vehicles, P.O. Box 7911, Room 255, Madison WI 53707-7911, by calling (608) 266-7857,
or via e-mail at carson.frazier@dot.state.wi.us.




PART 2
TEXT OF PROPOSED RULE

SECTION 1. Chapter Trans 178—is178 is created to read:

CHAPTER TRANS 178
UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION SYSTEM

Trans 178.01 Authority, purpose, and scope. (1) As authorized by s. 194.407,
Stats., the purpose of this chapter is to establish, consistent with federal law, an annual fee
under s. 194.407, Stats., for a fleet of commercial motor vehicles that is used in interstate
commerce, is subject to the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement, and whose owner or
operator is based in Wisconsin, or is based in a state that is not participating in the UCR
and has elected to declare Wisconsin as its base state.

(2) This chapter applies to any motor carrier, motor private carrier, freight forwarder,
broker, and leasing company that meets any of the following criteria:

(a) Operates any commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce.

(b) Has no vehicles but is a motor carrier related business located in Wisconsin.

(c) Has declared Wisconsin as the base state for UCR, as required in federal law
49 USC 14504a and the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement.

(3) This chapter applies to any motor carrier, motor private carrier, freight forwarder,
broker, or leasing company that operates any commercial motor vehicle in interstate
commerce, as provided in 49 USC 14504a. The requirement to register under the Unified
Carrier Registration system is not affected by the type of motor carrier authority that the
motor carrier, motor private carrier, freight forwarder, broker, or leasing company
possesses, and is not affected by the type of business activity undertaken.

Trans 178.02 Definitions. Words and phrases used in this chapter have the
meanings given in 49 USC 14504a, and in the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement

unless this chapter provides a different definition. In this chapter:
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(1) “Broker” means a person, other than a motor carrier or an employee or agent of
a motor carrier, that as a principal or agent sells, offers for sale, negotiates for, or holds
itself out by solicitation, advertisement, or otherwise as selling, providing, or arranging for,

transportation by a motor carrier for compensation.

(2) “Commercial motor vehicle,” as defined in 49 USC 31101, means a self-
propelled or towed vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally to transport

passengers or cargo, if the vehicle meets any of the following criteria:

(a) Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of more than 10,000

pounds.

(b) Is designed to transport more than 10 passengers including the driver.

(c) Is used in transporting material found by the secretary of the United States
department of transportation to be hazardous under 49 USC 5103 and transported in a

quantity requiring placarding under regulations prescribed by that secretary.

(3) “Freight forwarder” means a person holding itself out to the general public,
other than as a pipeline, rail, motor or water carrier, to provide transportation of property

for compensation and, in the ordinary course of its business, does all of the following:

(a) Assembles and consolidates, or provides for assembling and consolidating,
shipments, and performs or provides for break-bulk and distribution operations of the

shipments.

(b) Assumes responsibility for the transportation from the place of receipt to the

place of destination.

(c) Uses for any part of the transportation a carrier subject to 49 USC subtitle IV.



(4) “Interstate commerce” means trade, traffic, or transportation in the United

States between any of the following:

(a) A place in a state and a place outside that state, including a place outside of

the United States.

(b) Two places in a state through another state or through a place outside of the

United States.

(c) Two places in a state as part of trade, traffic, or transportation originating or
terminating outside the state or the United States.

(d) Wisconsin and any adjacent state under a registration reciprocity agreement
between Wisconsin and that other state.

(5) “Intrastate commerce” means any trade, traffic, or transportation in any state
that is not described in the term "interstate commerce" and is conducted wholly within a
state.

(6) “Leasing company” means a lessor that is engaged in the business of leasing
or renting for compensation motor vehicles without drivers to a motor carrier, motor
private carrier, or freight forwarder.

(7) “MCS-150" means the form prescribed by the federal Motor Carrier Safety
Administration for Motor Carrier Identification Report, Application for USDOT Number.

(8) “Motor carrier” means a person providing motor vehicle transportation for

compensation.

(9) “Motor private carrier” means a person, other than a motor -carrier,

transporting property by motor vehicle when all of the following occur:

(a) The transportation is as provided in 49 USC 13501.



(b) The person is the owner, lessee, or bailee of the property being transported.

(c) The property is being transported for sale, lease, rent, or bailment or to further
a commercial enterprise.

(10) “Motor vehicle” means any vehicle, machine, tractor, trailer, or semitrailer
propelled or drawn by mechanical power and used upon the highways in the
transportation of passengers or property, or any combination thereof as determined by
the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, but does not include any vehicle,
locomotive, or car operated exclusively on a rail or rails, or a trolley bus operated by
electric power derived from a fixed overhead wire, furnishing local passenger
transportation similar to street-railway service.

(11) “Registrant” means a motor carrier, motor private carrier, broker, leasing
company, or freight forwarder.

(12) “Registration year” means a calendar year.

(13) “Unified Carrier Registration Agreement” or “UCR Agreement” means the
interstate agreement developed under the UCR Plan governing the collection and
distribution of registration information and UCR fees paid by motor carriers, motor
private carriers, brokers, freight forwarders, and leasing companies pursuant to 49 USC
14504a.

Trans 178.03 Fees. (1) As-Except as provided in par. (b), as provided in 49

CFR 367.20, fees for registration year 2007 and thereafter are as follows:



Fee per company for
Number of commercial motor vehicles | exempt or non-exempt
owned or operated by exempt or non- | motor carrier, motor | Fee per company for
exempt motor carrier, motor private | private carrier, or freight | broker or leasing
Bracket | carrier, or freight forwarder forwarder company
Bl 0-2 $39 $39
B2 3-5 $116 $39
B3 6-20 $231 $39
B4 21-100 $806 $39
B5 101-1,000 $3,840 $39
B6 1,001 and above $37,500 $39

(2) If the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration or the U.S. department of

transportation acting under 49 USC 14504a(d)(7) publishes in the federal reqgister a

schedule of fees for the Unified Carrier Reqistration Plan that differ from the fees set forth

in par. (a), the department shall send notice of those revised fees to the chairpersons of

the standing committees of the legislature having jurisdiction over transportation. If no

chairperson notifies the secretary of transportation within 14 working days after the date

of the department’s notice that the committee has scheduled a meeting for the purpose

of reviewing the fees, the department shall implement the fees. If within 14 working

days after the date of the department’s notice a chairperson of a committee notifies_the

secretary of transportation that the committee has scheduled a meeting for the purpose

of reviewing the fees, the department shall implement the fees only with the approval of

the committee.

Trans 178.04 Determining the number of commercial motor vehicles. (1) The
fee is determined by the number of commercial motor vehicles that the registrant operates
in interstate commerce, which shall be counted as follows as provided in the UCR

Agreement:




(a) The number of commercial motor vehicles owned or operated subject to the

fee under this chapter is the greater of the following:

1. The number reported on the MCS-150 most recently filed with the U. S.
department of transportation.

2. The total number of commercial motor vehicles owned or operated for the 12-
month period ending on June 30 immediately prior to the beginning of the registration
year.

(b) The registrant shall include the number of commercial motor vehicles owned
or operated by the registrant, or controlled by the registrant under a lease having a term
longer than 30 days. A registrant may not include any vehicle that is operated by the

registrant under a lease of 30 days or less.

(c) Before issuing any documentation of UCR Agreement compliance, the
department may require the registrant to reconcile any discrepancy between the
number of motor vehicles owned and leased as reported on the MCS-150 most recently

filed with the U. S. department of transportation.

(d) The registrant may, at its sole option, add to the sum of vehicles required to
be counted under this section any of the following:

1. Any self-propelled commercial motor vehicle operated in intrastate or
interstate commerce for compensation regardless of the weight of the vehicle, or the
number of passengers transported by the vehicle, or whether the registrant owns or

leases the vehicle.

2. Any motor vehicle used only in intrastate commerce regardless of the state in
which the vehicle has been operated, or whether the registrant owns or leases the

vehicle.



(e) The registrant may exclude the number of commercial motor vehicles owned
or leased that were operated exclusively in the intrastate transportation of property,

waste or recyclable material.

(2) A registrant that operates commercial motor vehicles solely in intrastate

commerce is not required to register or pay any fee under this chapter.

(3) Except as provided in sub. (1), only motor vehicles that are operated in
interstate commerce shall be counted under this section. Except as provided in sub. (1),
motor vehicles operated exclusively in intrastate commerce may not be counted under this
section.

(4) Except as provided in sub. (1), a school bus may—retis not required to be

counted under this chapter if it is all of the following:

(a) Operated exclusively for school activities.

(b) Not operated for any charter activity.

(c) Not used for any activities other than school activities.

(5) A business that is a single legal entity and operates more than one type of
carrier operation that is subject to this chapter shall pay the fee that is the highest
applicable fee for any of its carrier operations subject to this chapter. A business that
comprises multiple legal entities that operate separate carrier operations subject to this
chapter shall pay all appropriate fees for each legal entity.

(6) The department may authorize and designate an agent to collect fees and
process registration applications under this chapter.

(END OF RULE TEXT)
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Effective Date. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following
publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.),
Stats.

Signed at Madison, Wisconsin, this day of
March, 2008.

FRANK J. BUSALACCHI
Secretary
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
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PART 4
CR 08-002

ANALYSIS OF FINAL DRAFT OF TRANS 178

(a) Basis and Purpose of Rule. This proposed emergency-rule is derived solely
from federal law, federal regulation, and Unified Carrier Registration Agreement. It
establishes the fees to be charged under the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) system,
and establishes a method for counting the number of vehicles so that an entity knows
whether it is required to register under UCR and, if so, which fee bracket applies to the
entity.

(b) Modifications _as a Result of Testimony at Public Hearing. The public
hearing was held in Madison on March 5, 2008. The Department clarified language
relating to optional registration of certain units, as discussed below in par. (d).

(c) List_of Persons who Appeared or Registered at Public Hearing. The
following two individuals spoke for information at the hearing:

Robert W. Christian, Executive Director, Wisconsin School Bus Association,
Sheboygan, WI.

Tom Howells, President, Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association, Madison, WI.

(d) Summary of Public Comments and Agency Response to those
Comments: Mr. Christian questioned the school bus exemption under s. Trans 178.04(4)
and asked whether other states would recognize the exemption for Wisconsin-based
school buses that traveled into that other state. The Department responded that if the
other state requires school bus registration under UCR, that other state could demand
proof of registration for that school bus. However, it is unclear how the other state would
verify the school’s declared fleet size of vehicles that are exempt from registration fees. It
is unknown to the Department what other states may require of school buses, or what
exemptions they might recognize. The Department made no changes to the rule in
response to this comment.

Mr. Howells questioned the fleet size used for the fee brackets, and noted that a
relatively small motor carrier with a limited number of power units and semi-trailers might
barely fit within the 101-1000 unit fee bracket, and be subject to the same fee as a large
motor carrier having 10 times more units. The Department responded that the fee
brackets were recommended by the UCR Board of Directors and approved by the
Secretary of U.S. Department of Transportation under 49 USC 14504a (d) (7). The
Department made no changes to the rule in response to this comment.

Mr. Howells also questioned the purpose of the ‘optional’ counting of certain fee-
exempt units in s. Trans 178.04(1)(d) and asked whether the language could be clarified.
Federal law at 49 USC 14504a(a)(1)(B) and the UCR Agreement at par. 4 give the motor
carrier the option to count those units. Accordingly, s. Trans 178.04(1)(d) allows motor
carriers to count them in the event it provides some benefit to the motor carrier. In
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response to Mr. Howell's comments, the Department has modified the introductory
language to clarify that adding exempt vehicle to the count is entirely voluntary at the
discretion of the registrant.

(e) Explanation of any Changes Made to the Plain Language Analysis or
Fiscal Estimate: No changes made.

(f) Response to Legqislative Council Recommendations. The Legislative
Council report contained a number of recommendations, all of which have been
incorporated into the proposed rule.

(9) Einal Requlatory Flexibility Analysis. This proposed emergency—rule is
derived solely from federal law, federal regulation, and Unified Carrier Registration
Agreement. Any effect on small businesses is a result of federal law, federal regulation
and the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement. The bill will affect some small businesses
by requiring them to pay an annual registration fee based on the size of its truck fleet, with
fees of $39 to $806 annually. These fees are established under federal law at 49 CFR
367.20_but may be revised annually by publication in the federal reqgister. If Wisconsin
does not charge these fees, small businesses that operate affected trucks and trailers
outside this state will nevertheless be required to pay these same fees to other states.
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