
 

Clearinghouse Rule 07-063 

 

ORDER OF THE  

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 

CREATING RULES 
 
 

The Wisconsin Department of Commerce proposes an order to create chapter Comm 133, relating 

to implementing a film production accreditation program, and affecting small business. 

 

******************************************************************************* 
 

Rule Summary 

 

1.  Statutes Interpreted. 

 

Sections 71.07 (5f) and (5h), 71.28 (5f) and (5h), 71.47 (5f) and (5h), and 560.206 

 

2.  Statutory Authority. 

  

Sections 227.11 (2) (a) and 560.206 (1) and (4). 

 

3.  Explanation of Agency Authority. 

 

Sections 560.206 (1) and (4) of the Statutes require the Department to promulgate rules for 

implementing and administering a program to accredit film productions for the purposes of sections 

71.07 (5f) and (5h), 71.28 (5f) and (5h), and 71.47 (5f) and (5h) of the Statutes.  Section 227.11 

(2) (a) of the Statutes authorizes the Department to promulgate rules interpreting the provisions of 

any Statute administered by the Department. 

 

4.  Related Statute or Rule. 

 

 The Department has rules for several other programs associated with tax credits, but none 

of those programs relate to accrediting film productions or establishing film production 

companies. 

 

5.  Plain Language Analysis. 

 

The proposed rules specify (1) the eligibility requirements for film productions to become 

accredited; (2) the documentation that must be submitted to receive accreditation and to receive 

acceptance of incurred expenses that are related to tax credits for producing a film production in 

Wisconsin; (3) the documentation that must be submitted to receive acceptance of incurred 
expenses that are related to tax credits for establishing a film production company in Wisconsin; 

(4) the Department’s response to the submitted documentation; and (5) use of the Department’s 

response when filing claims with the Department of Revenue for the corresponding tax credits.   
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6.  Summary of, and Comparison With, Existing or Proposed Federal Regulations. 

 

 A federal tax incentive program for film and television productions is available under 

Section 181 of the Internal Revenue Code.  Under the program, investors in qualifying film and 

television productions may elect to immediately deduct the cost of qualifying film expenditures in 

the year the expenditures occur.  The program is in effect for qualifying productions commencing 

before January 1, 2009.  The federal deduction applies to qualifying productions up to $15 million, 

or up to $20 million if the production occurs in a qualifying distressed area.  The incentive can be 

used in conjunction with any state film incentive.  The Web site reference for the section in the 

Code is http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/html/uscode26/usc_sec_26_00000181----000-.html. 

 

7.  Comparison With Rules in Adjacent States.   

 

Michigan 

In Michigan, rebates range from 12 to 20 percent, depending on the amount of the 

production spending in the state.  According to the Director of the Michigan Film Office, there are 

no administrative rules for the program, but guidelines are available through the Office’s Web site 

at http://www.michigan.gov/hal/0,1607,7-160-17445_19275_37781---,00.html.  

 

Minnesota 

Minnesota offers exemptions from sales and lodging taxes, and a rebate of 15 percent for 

eligible production costs incurred in the state.  An Internet based search did not reveal any 

administrative rules for the program, but guidelines are available through the following Web site:  

http://www.mnfilmtv.org. 

 

Iowa 

Iowa enacted legislation on May 17, 2007, that (1) offers producers a transferable income 

tax credit of 25 percent of qualified in-state expenditures, (2) offers investors the same credit, and 

(3) offers Iowa-based companies or Iowa residents a 100-percent income exclusion for monies 

earned from certified projects.  No administrative rules have been developed yet for this program.  

Further information is available through the following Web site: 

http://www.traveliowa.com/film/incentives.html. 

 

Illinois 

In Illinois, rules for the Illinois Film Production Services Tax Credit Program are 

contained in Title 14, Chapter I, Part 528 of the Illinois Administrative Code, and can be viewed 

through the following Web site:  

http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/014/01400528sections.html. 

 

Section 528.20 of the rules defines “Illinois resident” as “an individual who is domiciled in 

this State during the accredited production.  Except in a case where the applicant has actual 

knowledge, as shown in its books and records, that an individual is not an Illinois resident, the 

possession by an individual of an driver's license or other identification issued by this State prior 
to the commencement of the accredited production shall be sufficient proof that the individual is 

an Illinois resident and the address on the license or identification shall be deemed correct.”  The 

proposed Wisconsin rules do not include a definition of resident, but require residents to meet 

Department of Revenue residency criteria. 

 

http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/html/uscode26/usc_sec_26_00000181----000-.html
http://www.michigan.gov/hal/0,1607,7-160-17445_19275_37781---,00.html
http://www.mnfilmtv.org/
http://www.traveliowa.com/film/incentives.html
http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/014/01400528sections.html
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Under section 528.30, an applicant must file a written statement or other documentation 

showing that receiving the tax credits was essential to the decision to locate the accredited 

production in Illinois.  According to the rules, “The documentation must show that the applicant 

has multi-state or international location options and could reasonably locate outside the State, or 

can demonstrate that at least one other state or nation is being considered for the accredited 

production, or other documentation showing that the receipt of the credit is a major factor in the 

applicant's decision to locate the accredited production in Illinois.”  The proposed Wisconsin rules 

require that in order for a production to become accredited, the production would not occur in 

Wisconsin without the tax benefits.       

 

Under section 528.40, an application must be submitted at least 24 hours prior to the start 

of principal filming or taping.  The proposed Wisconsin rules do not specify a submittal deadline 

prior to filming or taping.  Section 528.40 also clarifies whether one or more applications can be 

filed for television shows with two or more episodes.  The proposed Wisconsin rules do not 

differentiate for television shows with multiple episodes.   

 

Section 528.50 gives an applicant 30 days to correct any deficiencies in the application, 

and provides 30 days to amend and re-submit an application after a denial.  There are no similar 

timing deadlines in the proposed Wisconsin rules.  Also in Section 528.50, Illinois will consider, 

in its evaluation of the application, whether awarding the credit will result in an overall positive 

impact to Illinois.  Under the general eligibility criteria in the proposed Wisconsin rules, an 

accredited production must enhance economic development in Wisconsin.   

 

Section 528.62 requires an applicant to quarterly submit economic impact data on jobs 

created and retained, and production costs.  There is no such reporting requirement in the proposed 

Wisconsin rules, other than the information and documentation that must be submitted following 

completion of the accredited production, for the Department’s verification and release of the tax 

credits.   

 

Section 528.65 describes issuance of an “accredited production certificate” upon approval 

of an application.  Section 528.70 details the procedures for the applicant to request a “tax credit 

certificate,” certifying the actual amount of the credit awarded to the applicant at any time 

following the completion of the accredited production, but in no event later than two years 

following the completion of the production.  This process is similar to what is described in the 

proposed Wisconsin rules, other than the two-year restriction.  The Illinois rules also require 

attestation by a certified public accountant supporting the expenditures incurred by the applicant, 

which is not required in the Wisconsin rules.     

 

Section 528.75 specifies the amount and duration of the tax credits.  The amounts consist 

of (1) for productions commencing before May 1, 2006, a credit of 25 percent of the approved 

Illinois labor expenditures, plus an additional 10 percent for employees who earn more than 

$1,000 on the production and who live in geographic areas of high poverty or high unemployment; 

and (2) for productions commencing on or after May 1, 2006, a credit of 20 percent of the 
approved Illinois labor expenditures, plus an additional 15 percent for employees who earn more 

than $1,000 on the production and who live in geographic areas of high poverty or high 

unemployment.  For tax years ending prior to July 11, 2005, the credit cannot be carried forward 

or back.  For tax years ending on or after July 11, 2005, any excess credits may be carried forward 

for five years.  The Wisconsin amounts differ by including (1) a credit of 25 percent of the salary 
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or wages for all employees of the claimant – but capped at $25,000 per employee, and not 

including the two highest paid employees; (2) a credit of 25 percent of the production 

expenditures; and (3) a credit of 100 percent of the sales or use taxes paid for tangible personal 

property and taxable services that are used directly in producing an accredited production.  The 

Wisconsin duration differs by (1) not allowing any credits to be carried forward, but (2) allowing 

unlimited refund of any unused credits for production expenditures.  

 

Section 528.85 provides details for the transfer of the tax credits.  The Wisconsin rules and 

legislation do not allow any transfer of credits.   

 

The Illinois rules do not include any requirement that is similar to the proposed Wisconsin 

requirement that the production must not conflict with a desired brand image of Wisconsin. 

 

8.  Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies.   

   

The data and methodology for developing these rules were derived from and consisted of 

(1) incorporating the criteria in 2005 Wisconsin Act 483; (2) incorporating applicable best 

practices the Department has developed in administering similar programs for economic 

development, business development, and tax-credit verification; (3) soliciting and utilizing input 

from the Department of Revenue, and from representatives of the stakeholders who are expected 

to participate in this program; and (4) reviewing Internet-based sources of related federal, state, 

and private-sector information.  Particular attention was focused on input from producers of 

advertisement commercials that they need very quick responses to submitted estimates of 

expenses. 

 

9.  Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to Determine Effect on Small Business or in 

Preparation of an Economic Impact Report. 

 

The primary document that was used to determine the effect of the proposed rules on small 

business was 2005 Wisconsin Act 483.  This Act requires the Department to implement a program 

to accredit film productions for the purposes of sections 71.07 (5f) and (5h), 71.28 (5f) and (5h), 

and 71.47 (5f) and (5h) of the Statutes, and requires the Department to promulgate rules for 

administering the program.  This Act applies its private-sector requirements only to film 

productions and to film production companies, for which a corresponding tax credit is desired. 

 

10.  Effect on Small Business. 

 

The proposed rules are not expected to impose significant costs or other impacts on small 

businesses because the rules address submittal of documentation only by businesses that choose to 

pursue tax credits for producing film productions or for establishing film production companies.  

 

11.  Agency Contact Person.  

 

Steven Sabatke, Wisconsin Department of Commerce, Bureau of Business Development, 

P.O. Box 7970, Madison, WI, 53707-7970; telephone (608) 267-0762; e-mail 

ssabatke@commerce.state.wi.us.  
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12.  Place Where Comments Are to Be Submitted, and Deadline for Submission. 

 

 Comments on the proposed rules may be submitted by e-mail to 

srockweiler@commerce.state.wi.us, no later than July 20, 2007.  If e-mail submittal is not possible, 

written comments may be mailed, by the same date, to Sam Rockweiler, Department of Commerce, 

Division of Environmental and Regulatory Services, P.O. Box 14427, Madison, WI 53708-0427. 

  
File reference:  Comm 133/rule analysis, ph 


