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Report From Agency 

 

 

STATE OF WISCONSIN 

FUNERAL DIRECTORS EXAMINING BOARD 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING : 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

FUNERAL DIRECTORS   : CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 07-049 

EXAMINING BOARD   : 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority vested in the Funeral Directors 

Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 445.03, Stats., and interpreting s. 445.06, 

Stats., the Funeral Directors Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and place 

indicated below to consider an order to amend FD 4.04 (1) (intro.); and to create FD 4.04 (8), 

relating to continuing education requirements. 

 

Hearing Date, Time and Location 

 

    Date:   August 7, 2007 

    Time:   9:45 a.m. 

    Location:  1400 East Washington Avenue 

       (Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street) 

       Room 121A 

       Madison, Wisconsin 

 

 APPEARANCES AT THE HEARING: 

 

Interested persons are invited to present information at the hearing.  Persons appearing may 

make an oral presentation but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in writing as 

well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be submitted in writing without a personal 

appearance by mail addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal 

Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.  Written comments must be received by 

August 8, 2007, to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings. 

 

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

ANALYSIS 

 

Statutes interpreted: 

Section 445.06, Stats. 

 

Statutory authority: 

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 445.03, Stats. 
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Explanation of agency authority: 

 

The Funeral Directors Examining Board is authorized to promulgate rules relating to continuing 

education under s. 445.03, Stats. 

 

Related statute or rule: 

 

There are no other statutes or rules other than those listed above. 

 

Plain language analysis: 

 

This proposed rule-making order relates to continuing education requirements for funeral 

directors.  Licensed funeral directors are required to complete 15 hours of continuing education 

during each 2-year licensure period.  The modifications to the existing continuing education rules 

will enable funeral directors to take a wider selection of courses from certain recognized 

providers without also having to go through the course approval process. 

 

SECTION 1 adds an exception to the existing continuing education rules for licensed funeral 

directors which will permit licensees to obtain continuing education credits from certain 

recognized entities. 

 

SECTION 2 adds another acceptable means for obtaining continuing education.  Under this 

provision, funeral directors may take continuing education courses from one of these recognized 

providers without having to go through the formal course approval process. 

 

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: 

 

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that is intended to address the activities to be 

regulated by the rule. 

 

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

 

Illinois: 

 

Twelve hours of continuing education are required every two years.  Attendance at programs that 

are sponsored by accredited colleges or universities and several local , state, and national 

associations and meet certain criteria is acceptable continuing education by rule and does not 

need preapproval.  Sponsors are required to fill out an application that states that they are 

meeting all required criteria.  Rules can be viewed by going to the Illinois Department of 

Financial & Professional Regulation Division of Professional Regulation at 

http://www.idfpr.com/dpr/default.asp, click on Funeral Director and then Funeral Director Rules. 

 

Michigan: 

 

Continuing education is not required in Michigan.  Rules can be viewed by going to the 

Department of Labor & Economic Growth at http://www.michigan.gov/cis, click on Commercial 

http://www.idfpr.com/dpr/default.asp
http://www.michigan.gov/cis
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Services & Corporations and then Licensing Services, followed by Funeral Directors, then 

Administrative Rules. 

 

 

Minnesota: 

 

Twelve hours of continuing education are required every two years.  Rules specifically state that 

the “commissioner may, upon presentation of an appropriate program of continuing education 

developed by the Minnesota Funeral Directors Association, require continuing education hours 

for renewal of a license to practice mortuary science.”  Rules can be viewed by going to the 

Minnesota Department of Public Health Mortuary Science Section at 

http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/mortsci/, click on Regulations. 

 

Iowa: 

 

Twenty-four hours of continuing education are required every two years.  Attendance at 

programs that are sponsored by state or national funeral associations that meets certain criteria is 

acceptable continuing education by rule and does not need preapproval.  Rules can be viewed by 

going to the Iowa Department of Public Health at http://idph.state.ia.us/licensure/default.asp, 

click on Mortuary Science Board and then Continuing Education. 

 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: 

 

No study resulting in the collection of factual data was used relating to this rule.  The primary 

methodology for revising the rule is the board’s analysis and determination that a rule change is 

necessary. 

 

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 

 

The proposed rules would allow certain continuing education course providers to receive pre-

approval from the board rather than have to submit each course for approval.  There are 1313 

funeral directors licensed in Wisconsin.  Of the 1313 funeral directors, a significant percentage 

of them probably work in small business.  This rule change will have a minimal, if any, effect on 

small business.  The proposed rules would make it easier for certain providers to obtain approval 

for continuing education.  Also, it may make it more likely that a course will receive board 

approval and a licensee will receive their continuing education credit as some providers will no 

longer have to affirmatively submit their course for approval. 

 

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an economic impact report before 

submitting the proposed rule-making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The 

Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an “agency” in this section. 

 

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: 

 

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal effect on the private sector. 

http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/mortsci/
http://idph.state.ia.us/licensure/default.asp
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Fiscal estimate: 

 

The department estimates that the proposed rule will have no significant fiscal impact. 

 

Effect on small business: 

 

These proposed rules will have no significant economic impact on small businesses, as defined 

in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted by 

email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266-8608. 

 

Agency contact person: 

 

Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 

1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8935.  

Telephone: (608) 266-0495.  Email:  pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us. 

 

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for submission: 

 

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and 

Licensing, 1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 

53708-8935, or by email at pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received on or 

before August 8, 2007 to be included in the record of rule-making proceedings. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

TEXT OF RULE 

 

 SECTION 1.  FD 4.04 (1) (intro.) is amended to read: 

 

 FD 4.04 Approval of continuing education programs. (1) (intro.)  To Except as 

provided in sub. (8), to obtain approval of a continuing education program, the program provider 

shall submit an application to the board on a form provided by the board which shall include: 

 

 SECTION 2.  FD 4.04 (8) is created to read: 

 

 FD 4.04 (8)  A continuing education course sponsored by a national, international, state 

or regional funeral director’s association, or an educational institution accredited by the 

American Board of Funeral Service Education or otherwise deemed to be equivalent by the 

board, which satisfies the criteria established in sub. (1) and s. FD 4.405, shall be approved by 

the board without receipt of a course approval application from the program provider. 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 

 

 

 
FD 4.04 CR07-049 (Continuing education) Hearing Notice 6-25-07 
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