

## State of Misconsin 2025 - 2026 LEGISLATURE

LRB-1186/P5 MCP/JK/CMH/JPC:all

DOA:.....Martin, BB0139 - Marijuana legalization

## FOR 2025-2027 BUDGET -- NOT READY FOR INTRODUCTION

AN ACT ...; relating to: the budget.

# Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau MARIJUANA LEGALIZATION AND REGULATION

Under this bill, a person who is at least 21 years old may legally possess marijuana. A person who is at least 18 may possess marijuana if the person has certain medical conditions. Under the bill, a person may produce, process, or sell marijuana if the person has a permit. This bill creates an excise tax for the privilege of producing, processing, distributing, or selling marijuana in this state. All of the revenue collected from the tax is deposited into the general fund. Under the bill, a person who may possess medical marijuana is not subject to sales or excise taxes on the purchase or use of the marijuana. The bill also regulates delta-8 THC and delta-10 THC as marijuana. The bill does not affect federal law, which generally prohibits persons from manufacturing, delivering, or possessing marijuana and applies to both intrastate and interstate violations.

### Legalizing the possession of marijuana

Current law prohibits a person from manufacturing, distributing, or delivering marijuana; possessing marijuana with the intent to manufacture, distribute, or deliver it; possessing or attempting to possess marijuana; using drug paraphernalia; or possessing drug paraphernalia with the intent to produce, distribute, or use a controlled substance. The bill changes state law to allow a Wisconsin resident who is at least 21 to possess no more than two ounces of marijuana and to allow a nonresident of Wisconsin who is at least 21 to possess no more than one-quarter ounce of marijuana. The bill also allows a qualifying patient to possess marijuana for medical purposes. Under the bill, generally, a qualifying patient is an individual who has been diagnosed by a physician as having or undergoing a debilitating medical condition or treatment and who is at least 18 years old. The bill also eliminates the prohibition on possessing or using drug paraphernalia that relates to marijuana consumption.

Under the bill, a person who possesses more marijuana than the maximum amount the person is allowed is subject to a penalty, which varies depending on the amount of overage. A person who exceeds the amount by not more than one ounce is subject to a civil forfeiture not to exceed \$1,000. A person who exceeds the maximum amount by more than one ounce is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject

to a fine of not more than \$1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 90 days or both. The person is guilty of a Class I felony if the person also takes action to hide the amount of marijuana they have and has in place a security system to alert them to the presence of law enforcement or a method to intimidate, or a system that could injure or kill, a person approaching the area containing the marijuana.

#### Regulating the production, processing, and selling marijuana

Under the bill, no person may sell, distribute, or transfer marijuana unless the person has a permit from DOR. A person that violates this prohibition is guilty of a Class I felony if the intended recipient is an adult and is guilty of a Class H felony if the intended recipient is a minor and the person is at least three years older than the minor.

The bill requires a person to obtain separate permits from DOR to produce, process, distribute, or sell marijuana, and requires marijuana producers and processors to obtain additional permits from DATCP. The requirements for obtaining these permits differ based on whether the permit is issued by DOR or DATCP but, in general, a person may not obtain such a permit if they are not a state resident, are under the age of 21, or have been convicted of certain crimes or committed certain offenses. In addition, a person may not operate under a DOR or DATCP permit within 500 feet of a school, playground, recreation facility, child care facility, public park, public transit facility, or library. A person that holds a permit from DOR must also comply with certain operational requirements.

Under the bill, a permit applicant with 20 or more employees may not receive a permit from DATCP or DOR unless the the applicant certifies that the applicant has entered into a labor peace agreement with a labor organization. The labor peace agreement must prohibit the labor organization and its members from engaging in any economic interference with persons doing business in this state, must prohibit the applicant from disrupting the efforts of the labor organization to communicate with and to organize and represent the applicant's employees, and must provide the labor organization access to areas in which the employees work to discuss employment rights and the terms and conditions of employment. Current law prohibits the state and any local unit of government from requiring a labor peace agreement as a condition for any regulatory approval. The permit requirements under the bill are not subject to that prohibition.

The bill also requires DATCP and DOR to use a competitive scoring system to determine which applicants are eligible to receive permits. Each department must issue permits to the highest scoring applicants that it determines will best protect the environment; provide stable, family-supporting jobs to local residents; ensure worker and consumer safety; operate secure facilities; and uphold the laws of the jurisdictions in which they operate. Each department may deny a permit to an applicant with a low score.

The bill prohibits a DOR permittee from selling, distributing, or transferring marijuana to a person who is under the age of 21 (a minor) and from allowing a minor to be on premises for which a permit is issued. If a permittee violates one of

those prohibitions, the permittee may be subject to a civil forfeiture of not more than \$500 and the permit may be suspended for up to 30 days.

Under the bill, a minor who does any of the following is subject to a forfeiture of not less than \$250 nor more than \$500: procures or attempts to procure marijuana from a permittee; falsely represents their age to receive marijuana from a permittee; knowingly possesses marijuana; or knowingly enters any premises for which a permit has been issued without being accompanied by their parent, guardian, or spouse who is at least 21 years of age or at least 18 years of age if a qualifying patient.

Under the bill, an individual may cultivate as many as six marijuana plants. Only a person that has a permit from DATCP may produce or process more marijuana plants. A person without a permit who possesses more than six but not more than 12 marijuana plants that have reached the flowering stage is subject to a civil forfeiture not to exceed twice the permitting fee (\$250 under the bill). If the person possesses more than 12 plants that have reached the flowering stage, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a fine not to exceed \$1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 90 days or both. The person is guilty of a Class I felony if the person also takes action to hide the number of plants they have and the person also has in place a security system to alert him or her to the presence of law enforcement or a method to intimidate, or a system that could injure or kill, a person approaching the area containing the plants.

The bill requires DOR to create and maintain a medical marijuana registry program whereby a person who is a qualifying patient may obtain a registry identification card and purchase marijuana from a retail establishment without having to pay the sales or excise taxes imposed on that sale. A "qualifying patient" is a person who is at least 18 and has been diagnosed by a physician as having a debilitating medical condition such as cancer, glaucoma, AIDS, or another specified condition or is undergoing a debilitating medical treatment.

#### Previous convictions relating to marijuana

The bill creates a process to review convictions for acts that have been decriminalized under the bill. If the person is currently serving a sentence or on probation for such a conviction, the person may petition a court to dismiss the conviction and expunge the record. If the person has completed a sentence or period of probation for such a conviction, the person may petition a court to expunge the record or, if applicable, redesignate it to a lower crime. Any conviction that is expunged under the bill is not considered a conviction for any purpose under state or federal law.

#### Registration for THC testing labs

The bill requires DATCP to register entities as tetrahydrocannabinols (THC)-testing laboratories. The laboratories must test marijuana for contaminants; research findings on the use of medical marijuana; and provide training on safe and

efficient cultivation, harvesting, packaging, labeling, and distribution of marijuana, security and inventory accountability, and research on medical marijuana.

#### Discrimination based on marijuana use

Under the fair employment law, no employer or other person may engage in any act of employment discrimination against any individual on the basis of the individual's use or nonuse of lawful products off the employer's premises during nonworking hours, subject to certain exceptions, one of which is if the use impairs the individual's ability to undertake adequately the job-related responsibilities of that individual's employment. The bill specifically defines marijuana as a lawful product for purposes of the fair employment law, such that no person may engage in any act of employment discrimination against an individual because of the individual's use of marijuana off the employer's premises during nonworking hours, subject to those exceptions.

Under current law, an individual may be disqualified from receiving unemployment insurance benefits if they are terminated because of misconduct or substantial fault. The bill specifically provides that an employee's use of marijuana off the employer's premises during nonworking hours does not constitute misconduct or substantial fault unless termination for that use is permitted under one of the exceptions under the fair employment law.

Unless federal law requires otherwise, the bill prohibits a hospital, physician, organ procurement organization, or other person from determining the ultimate recipient of an anatomical gift on the sole basis of a positive test for the use of marijuana by a potential recipient.

#### Drug screening and testing

The bill exempts THC, including marijuana, from drug testing for certain public assistance programs. Currently, a participant in a community service job or transitional placement under the Wisconsin Works program (W2) or a recipient of the FoodShare program, also known as the food stamp program, who is convicted of possession, use, or distribution of a controlled substance must submit to a test for controlled substances as a condition of continued eligibility. DHS is currently required to request a waiver of federal Medicaid law to require drug screening and testing as a condition of eligibility for the childless adult demonstration project in the Medical Assistance program. Current law also requires DHS to promulgate rules to develop and implement a drug screening, testing, and treatment policy for able-bodied adults without dependents in the FoodShare employment and training program. The bill exempts THC from all of those drug-testing requirements and programs. In addition, because THC is not a controlled substance under state law under the bill, the requirement under current law that DCF promulgate rules to create a controlled substance abuse screening and testing requirement for applicants for the work experience program for noncustodial parents under W2 and the Transform Milwaukee Jobs and Transitional Jobs programs does not include THC.

Under current law, DWD must establish a program to test claimants who apply for unemployment insurance benefits for the presence of controlled substances, as defined under federal law. If a claimant tests positive for a controlled substance, the claimant may be denied UI benefits, subject to certain exceptions and limitations. The bill excludes THC for purposes of this testing requirement. As such, under the bill, an individual who tests positive for THC may not be denied UI benefits.

Because this bill creates a new crime or revises a penalty for an existing crime, the Joint Review Committee on Criminal Penalties may be requested to prepare a report.

Because this bill relates to an exemption from state or local taxes, it may be referred to the Joint Survey Committee on Tax Exemptions for a report to be printed as an appendix to the bill.

For further information see the state and local fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

## The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

**SECTION 1.** 20.115 (7) (gc) of the statutes is amended to read:

20.115 (7) (gc) *Industrial hemp and marijuana*. All moneys received under s. 94.55 for regulation of activities relating to industrial hemp under s. 94.55 <u>and to marijuana under s. 94.56</u>.

\*\*\*\*NOTE: This SECTION involves a change in an appropriation that must be reflected in the revised schedule in s. 20.005, stats.

**SECTION 2.** 20.115 (7) (ge) of the statutes is created to read:

20.115 (7) (ge) Marijuana producers and processors; official logotype. All moneys received under s. 94.56 for regulation of activities relating to marijuana under s. 94.56, for conducting public awareness campaigns under s. 94.56, and for the creation of a logotype under s. 100.145.

\*\*\*\*NOTE: This SECTION involves a change in an appropriation that must be reflected in the revised schedule in s. 20.005, stats.

**SECTION 3.** 20.566 (1) (bn) of the statutes is created to read:

20.566 (1) (bn) Administration and enforcement of marijuana tax and regulation. The amounts in the schedule for the purposes of administering the marijuana tax imposed under subch. IV of ch. 139 and for the costs incurred in

enforcing the taxing and regulation of marijuana producers, marijuana processors,

\*\*\*\*NOTE: This SECTION involves a change in an appropriation that must be reflected in the revised schedule in s. 20.005, stats.

**SECTION 4.** 20.835 (2) (eq) of the statutes is created to read:

and marijuana retailers under subch. IV of ch. 139.

20.835 (2) (eq) *Marijuana tax refunds*. A sum sufficient to pay refunds under subch. IV of ch. 139.

\*\*\*\*NOTE: This SECTION involves a change in an appropriation that must be reflected in the revised schedule in s. 20.005, stats.

**SECTION 5.** 49.148 (4) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.148 (4) (a) A Wisconsin works Works agency shall require a participant in a community service job or transitional placement who, after August 22, 1996, was convicted in any state or federal court of a felony that had as an element possession, use or distribution of a controlled substance to submit to a test for use of a controlled substance as a condition of continued eligibility. If the test results are positive, the Wisconsin works Works agency shall decrease the presanction benefit amount for that participant by not more than 15 percent for not fewer than 12 months, or for the remainder of the participant's period of participation in a community service job or transitional placement, if less than 12 months. If, at the end of 12 months, the individual is still a participant in a community service job or transitional placement and submits to another test for use of a controlled substance and if the results of the test are negative, the Wisconsin works Works agency shall

discontinue the reduction under this paragraph. <u>In this subsection, "controlled substance" does not include tetrahydrocannabinols in any form, including tetrahydrocannabinols contained in marijuana, obtained from marijuana, or chemically synthesized.</u>

**SECTION 6.** 49.79 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

49.79 (1) (b) "Controlled substance" has the meaning given in 21 USC 802 (6), except that "controlled substance" does not include tetrahydrocannabinols in any form, including tetrahydrocannabinols contained in marijuana, obtained from marijuana, or chemically synthesized.

**SECTION 7.** 59.54 (25) (title) of the statutes is amended to read:

59.54 (25) (title) Possession Regulation of Marijuana.

**SECTION 8.** 59.54 (25) (a) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

59.54 (25) (a) (intro.) The board may enact and enforce an ordinance to prohibit the possession of marijuana, as defined in s. 961.01 (14), subject to the exceptions in s. 961.41 (3g) (intro.), and provide a forfeiture for a violation of the ordinance that is consistent with s. 961.71 or 961.72; except that if a complaint is issued regarding an allegation of possession of more than 25 grams of marijuana, or possession of any amount of marijuana following a conviction in this state for possession of marijuana alleging a violation of s. 961.72 (2) (b) 2. or (c) 3., the subject of the complaint may not be prosecuted under this subsection for the same action that is the subject of the complaint unless all of the following occur:

**SECTION 9.** 66.0107 (1) (bm) of the statutes is amended to read:

66.0107 (1) (bm) Enact and enforce an ordinance to prohibit the possession of

marijuana, as defined in s. 961.01 (14), subject to the exceptions in s. 961.41 (3g) (intro.), and provide a forfeiture for a violation of the ordinance that is consistent with s. 961.71 or 961.72; except that if a complaint is issued regarding an allegation of possession of more than 25 grams of marijuana, or possession of any amount of marijuana following a conviction in this state for possession of marijuana alleging a violation of s. 961.72 (2) (b) 2. or (c) 3., the subject of the complaint may not be prosecuted under this paragraph for the same action that is the subject of the complaint unless the charges are dismissed or the district attorney declines to prosecute the case.

**SECTION 10.** 66.04185 of the statutes is created to read:

**66.04185** Cultivation of tetrahydrocannabinols. No city, village, town, or county may prohibit cultivating tetrahydrocannabinols outdoors if the cultivation is by an individual who has no more than 6 marijuana plants at one time for their personal use.

**SECTION 11.** 73.17 of the statutes is created to read:

- 73.17 Medical marijuana registry program. (1) DEFINITIONS. In this section:
  - (a) "Debilitating medical condition or treatment" means any of the following:
- 1. Cancer; glaucoma; acquired immunodeficiency syndrome; a positive test for the presence of HIV, antigen or nonantigenic products of HIV, or an antibody to HIV; inflammatory bowel disease, including ulcerative colitis or Crohn's disease; a hepatitis C virus infection; Alzheimer's disease; amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; nail

patella syndrome; Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome; post-traumatic stress disorder; or the treatment of these conditions.

- 2. A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or the treatment of such a disease or condition that causes cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy, or severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis.
  - (b) "Department" means the department of revenue.
  - (c) "Physician" means a person licensed under s. 448.04 (1) (a).
- (d) "Qualifying patient" means a person who has been diagnosed by a physician as having or undergoing a debilitating medical condition or treatment but does not include a person under the age of 18 years.
- (e) "Registrant" means a person who holds a registry identification card issued in sub. (4).
- (f) "Tax exemption certificate" means a certificate to claim the exemption under s. 77.54 (75).
  - (g) "Usable marijuana" has the meaning given in s. 139.97 (13).
- (h) "Written certification" means means a statement made by a person's physician if all of the following apply:
- 1. The statement indicates that, in the physician's professional opinion, the person has or is undergoing a debilitating medical condition or treatment and the potential benefits of the person's use of usable marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks for the person.
  - 2. The statement indicates that the opinion described in subd. 1. was formed

after a full assessment of the person's medical history and current medical condition that was conducted no more than 6 months prior to making the statement and that was made in the course of a bona fide physician-patient relationship.

- 3. The statement is signed by the physician or is contained in the person's medical records.
- 4. The statement contains an expiration date that is no more than 48 months after issuance and the statement has not expired.
- (2) APPLICATION. An adult who is claiming to be a qualifying patient may apply for a registry identification card by submitting to the department a signed application form containing or accompanied by all of the following:
  - (a) The person's name, address, and date of birth.
  - (b) A written certification.
- (c) The name, address, and telephone number of the person's current physician, as listed in the written certification.
- (3) PROCESSING THE APPLICATION. The department shall verify the information contained in or accompanying an application submitted under sub. (2) and shall approve or deny the application within 30 days after receiving it. The department may deny an application submitted under sub. (2) only if the required information has not been provided or if false information has been provided.
- (4) ISSUING A REGISTRY IDENTIFICATION CARD AND TAX EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE. The department shall issue to the applicant a registry identification card and tax exemption certificate within 5 days after approving an application under sub. (3). Unless voided under sub. (5) (b) or revoked under rules issued by the

department under sub. (7), a registry identification card and tax exemption certificate shall expire 4 years from the date of issuance. A tax exemption certificate shall contain the required information, as determined by the department by rule. A registry identification card shall contain all of the following:

- (a) The name, address, and date of birth of the registrant.
- (b) The date of issuance and expiration date of the registry identification card.
- (c) A photograph of the registrant.
- (d) Other information the department may require by rule.
- (5) ADDITIONAL INFORMATION TO BE PROVIDED BY REGISTRANT. (a) A registrant shall notify the department of any change in the registrant's name and address. Each registrant shall notify the department of any change in their physician or of any significant improvement in their health as it relates to their debilitating medical condition or treatment.
- (b) If a registrant fails to notify the department within 10 days after any change for which notification is required under par. (a), their registry identification card and tax exemption certificate is void.
  - (6) RECORDS. (a) The department shall maintain a list of all registrants.
- (b) Notwithstanding s. 19.35 and except as provided in par. (c), the department may not disclose information from an application submitted or a registry identification card issued under this section.
- (c) The department may disclose to state or local law enforcement agencies information from an application submitted by, or from a registry identification card

issued to, a specific person under this section for the purpose of verifying that the

(7) RULES. The department shall promulgate rules to implement this section.

**SECTION 12.** 77.54 (75) of the statutes is created to read:

person possesses a valid registry identification card.

77.54 (75) The sales price from the sale of and the storage, use, or other consumption of usable marijuana, as defined in s. 139.97 (13), purchased by an individual who holds a valid certificate issued under s. 73.17 (4).

**SECTION 13.** 94.55 (2t) of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 14.** 94.56 of the statutes is created to read:

**94.56 Marijuana producers and processors.** (1) DEFINITIONS. In this section:

- (a) "Labor peace agreement" means an agreement between a person applying for a permit under this section and a labor organization, as defined in s. 5.02 (8m), that does all of the following:
- 1. Prohibits the labor organization and its members from engaging in picketing, work stoppages, boycotts, and any other economic interference with persons doing business in this state.
- 2. Prohibits the applicant from disrupting the efforts of the labor organization to communicate with and to organize and represent the applicant's employees.
- 3. Provides the labor organization access at reasonable times to areas in which the applicant's employees work for the purpose of meeting with employees to discuss their right to representation, employment rights under state law, and terms and conditions of employment.

- (b) "Marijuana" has the meaning given in s. 961.70 (2).
- (c) "Marijuana processor" has the meaning given in s. 139.97 (6).
- (d) "Marijuana producer" has the meaning given in s. 139.97 (7).
- (e) "Usable marijuana" has the meaning given in s. 139.97 (13).
- (f) "Permittee" means a marijuana producer or marijuana processor that is issued a permit under this section.
- (2) PERMIT REQUIRED. (a) No person may operate in this state as a marijuana producer or marijuana processor without a permit from the department. A person that acts as a marijuana producer and a marijuana processor shall obtain a separate permit for each activity. A permit issued under this section is not transferable from one person to another or from one premises to another. A separate permit is required for each place in this state where the operations of a marijuana producer or marijuana processor occur. A person is not required to obtain a permit under this section if the person produces or processes only industrial hemp and holds a valid license under s. 94.55.
- (b) This subsection applies to all officers, directors, agents, and stockholders holding 5 percent or more of the stock of any corporation applying for a permit under this section.
- (c) Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, the department may not issue a permit under this section to any person to which any of the following applies:
- 1. The person has been convicted of a violent misdemeanor, as defined in s. 941.29 (1g) (b), at least 3 times.

2. The person has been convicted of a violent felony, as defined in s. 941.29

(1g) (a), unless pardoned.

3. During the preceding 3 years, the person has been committed under s.

51.20 for being drug dependent.

4. The person chronically and habitually uses alcohol beverages or other

substances to the extent that their normal faculties are impaired. A person is

presumed to chronically and habitually use alcohol beverages or other substances to

the extent that their normal faculties are impaired if, within the preceding 3 years,

any of the following applies:

a. The person has been committed for involuntary treatment under s. 51.45

(13).

b. The person has been convicted of a violation of s. 941.20 (1) (b).

c. In 2 or more cases arising out of separate incidents, a court has found the

person to have committed a violation of s. 346.63 or a local ordinance in conformity

with s. 346.63; a violation of a law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe

or band in this state in conformity with s. 346.63; or a violation of the law of another

jurisdiction, as defined in s. 340.01 (41m), that prohibits use of a motor vehicle

while intoxicated, while under the influence of a controlled substance, a controlled

substance analog, or a combination thereof, with an excess or specified range of

alcohol concentration, or while under the influence of any drug to a degree that

renders the person incapable of safely driving, as those or substantially similar

terms are used in that jurisdiction's laws.

- 5. The person has income that comes principally from gambling or has been convicted of 2 or more gambling offenses.
  - 6. The person has been convicted of crimes relating to prostitution.
- 7. The person has been convicted of crimes relating to loaning money or anything of value to persons holding licenses or permits pursuant to ch. 125.
  - 8. The person is under the age of 21.
- 9. The person has not been a resident of this state continuously for at least 90 days prior to the application date.
- (cm) An applicant with 20 or more employees may not receive a permit under this section unless the applicant certifies to the department that the applicant has entered into a labor peace agreement and will abide by the terms of the agreement as a condition of maintaining a valid permit under this section. The applicant shall submit to the department a copy of the page of the labor peace agreement that contains the signatures of the labor organization representative and the applicant.
- (cn) The department shall use a competitive scoring system to determine which applicants are eligible to receive a permit under this section. The department shall issue permits to the highest scoring applicants that it determines will best protect the environment; provide stable, family-supporting jobs to local residents; ensure worker and consumer safety; operate secure facilities; and uphold the laws of the jurisdictions in which they operate. The department may deny a permit to an applicant with a low score as determined under this paragraph. The department may request that the applicant provide any information or

documentation that the department deems necessary for purposes of making a determination under this paragraph.

- (d) 1. Before the department issues a new or renewed permit under this section, the department shall give notice of the permit application to the governing body of the municipality where the permit applicant intends to operate the premises of a marijuana producer or marijuana processor. No later than 30 days after the department submits the notice, the governing body of the municipality may file with the department a written objection to granting or renewing the permit. At the municipality's request, the department may extend the period for filing objections.
- 2. A written objection filed under subd. 1. shall provide all the facts on which the objection is based. In determining whether to grant or deny a permit for which an objection has been filed under this paragraph, the department shall give substantial weight to objections from a municipality based on chronic illegal activity associated with the premises for which the applicant seeks a permit or the premises of any other operation in this state for which the applicant holds or has held a valid permit or license, the conduct of the applicant's patrons inside or outside the premises of any other operation in this state for which the applicant holds or has held a valid permit or license, and local zoning ordinances. In this subdivision, "chronic illegal activity" means a pervasive pattern of activity that threatens the public health, safety, and welfare of the municipality, including any crime or ordinance violation, and that is documented in crime statistics, police

reports, emergency medical response data, calls for service, field data, or similar law enforcement agency records.

- (e) After denying a permit, the department shall immediately notify the applicant in writing of the denial and the reasons for the denial. After making a decision to grant or deny a permit for which a municipality has filed an objection under par. (d), the department shall immediately notify the governing body of the municipality in writing of its decision and the reasons for the decision.
- (f) 1. The department's denial of a permit under this section is subject to judicial review under ch. 227.
- 2. The department's decision to grant a permit under this section regardless of an objection filed under par. (d) is subject to judicial review under ch. 227.
- (g) The department may not issue a permit under this section to any person that does not hold a valid certificate under s. 73.03 (50).
- (3) FEES; TERM. (a) Each person that applies for a permit under this section shall submit with the application a \$250 fee. A permit issued under this section is valid for one year and may be renewed, except that the department may revoke or suspend a permit prior to its expiration. A person is not entitled to a refund of the fees paid under this subsection if the person's permit is denied, revoked, or suspended.
- (b) A permittee shall annually pay to the department a fee for as long as the person holds a valid permit under this section. The annual fee for a marijuana processor permittee is \$2,000. The annual fee for a marijuana producer permittee is one of the following, unless the department, by rule, establishes a higher amount:

- 18 -

- 1. If the permittee plants, grows, cultivates, or harvests not more than 1,800 marijuana plants, \$1,800.
- 2. If the permittee plants, grows, cultivates, or harvests more than 1,800 but not more than 3,600 marijuana plants, \$2,900.
- 3. If the permittee plants, grows, cultivates, or harvests more than 3,600 but not more than 6,000 marijuana plants, \$3,600.
- 4. If the permittee plants, grows, cultivates, or harvests more than 6,000 but not more than 10,200 marijuana plants, \$5,100.
- 5. If the permittee plants, grows, cultivates, or harvests more than 10,200 marijuana plants, \$7,100 plus \$800 for every 3,600 marijuana plants over 10,200.
- (4) SCHOOLS. The department may not issue a permit under this section to operate any premises that is within 500 feet of the perimeter of the grounds of any elementary or secondary school, playground, recreation facility, child care facility, public park, public transit facility, or library.
- (5) EDUCATION AND AWARENESS CAMPAIGN. The department shall develop and make available training programs for marijuana producers on how to safely and efficiently plant, grow, cultivate, harvest, and otherwise handle marijuana, and for marijuana processors on how to safely and efficiently produce and handle marijuana products and test marijuana for contaminants. The department shall conduct an awareness campaign to inform potential marijuana producers and marijuana processors of the availability and viability of marijuana as a crop or product in this state.
  - (6) RULES. The department shall promulgate rules necessary to administer

and enforce this section, including rules relating to the inspection of the plants, facilities, and products of permittees; training requirements for employees of

permittees; and the competitive scoring system under sub. (2) (cn).

(7) PENALTIES. (a) Unless another penalty is prescribed for the violation, any person that violates sub. (2), fails to pay the required fee under sub. (3), or violates any requirement established by the rules promulgated under sub. (6) shall be fined not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or

both.

**BILL** 

(b) In addition to the penalties imposed under par. (a), the department shall revoke the permit of any person convicted of any violation described under par. (a) and may not issue another permit to that person for a period of 2 years following the revocation. The department may suspend or revoke the permit of any permittee that violates s. 100.30, any provision of this section, or any rules promulgated under sub. (6). The department shall revoke the permit of any permittee who violates s. 100.30 3 or more times within a 5-year period.

**SECTION 15.** 94.57 of the statutes is created to read:

**94.57 Testing laboratories.** The department shall register entities as tetrahydrocannabinols testing laboratories. A registered laboratory may possess or manufacture tetrahydrocannabinols or drug paraphernalia and shall perform the following services:

- (1) Test marijuana produced for the medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols for potency and for mold, fungus, pesticides, and other contaminants.
  - (2) Collect information on research findings and conduct research related to

the medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols, including research that identifies potentially unsafe levels of contaminants.

- (3) Provide training on the following:
- (a) The safe and efficient cultivation, harvesting, packaging, labeling, and distribution of marijuana for the medical use of tetrahydrocannabinols.
  - (b) Security and inventory accountability procedures.
  - (c) The most recent research on the use of tetrahydrocannabinols.

**SECTION 16.** 100.145 of the statutes is created to read:

100.145 Recreational marijuana logotype. The department shall design an official logotype appropriate for including on a label affixed to recreational marijuana under s. 139.973 (10) (a).

**SECTION 17.** 108.02 (18r) of the statutes is created to read:

108.02 (18r) MARIJUANA. "Marijuana" has the meaning given in s. 111.32 (11m).

**SECTION 18.** 108.04 (5m) of the statutes is created to read:

108.04 (5m) DISCHARGE FOR USE OF MARIJUANA. (a) Notwithstanding sub. (5), "misconduct," for purposes of sub. (5), does not include the employee's use of marijuana off the employer's premises during nonworking hours or a violation of the employer's policy concerning such use, unless termination of the employee because of that use is permitted under s. 111.35.

(b) Notwithstanding sub. (5g), "substantial fault," for purposes of sub. (5g), does not include the employee's use of marijuana off the employer's premises during

nonworking hours or a violation of the employer's policy concerning such use, unless termination of the employee because of that use is permitted under s. 111.35.

**SECTION 19.** 108.133 (1) (ar) of the statutes is renumbered 108.133 (1) (ar) 1. and amended to read:

108.133 (1) (ar) 1. Notwithstanding s. 108.02 (9), "controlled substance" has the meaning given in 21 USC 802, except as provided in subd. 2.

**SECTION 20.** 108.133 (1) (ar) 2. of the statutes is created to read:

108.133 (1) (ar) 2. "Controlled substance" does not include tetrahydrocannabinols, commonly known as "THC," in any form including tetrahydrocannabinols contained in marijuana, obtained from marijuana, or chemically synthesized.

**SECTION 21.** 111.32 (9m) of the statutes is created to read:

111.32 (9m) "Lawful product" includes marijuana.

**SECTION 22.** 111.32 (11m) of the statutes is created to read:

111.32 (11m) "Marijuana" means all parts of the plants of the genus Cannabis, whether growing or not; the seeds thereof; the resin extracted from any part of the plant; and every compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant, its seeds or resin, including tetrahydrocannabinols.

**SECTION 23.** 111.35 (2) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:

111.35 (2) (e) Conflicts with any federal or state statute, rule or regulation.

This paragraph does not apply with respect to violations concerning marijuana or tetrahydrocannabinols under 21 USC 841 to 865.

**SECTION 24.** 114.09 (2) (bm) 1. (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

114.09 (2) (bm) 1. (intro.) Except as provided in subd. 1. a. or b., the court

shall order the person violating sub. (1) (b) 1. or 1m. to submit to and comply with an assessment by an approved public treatment facility as defined in s. 51.45 (2) (c) for examination of the person's use of alcohol, <u>tetrahydrocannabinols</u>, controlled substances, or controlled substance analogs and development of an airman safety plan for the person. The court shall notify the person, the department, and the proper federal agency of the assessment order. The assessment order shall:

**SECTION 25.** 114.09 (2) (bm) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:

airman safety plan. The report shall inform the person of the fee provisions under s. 46.03 (18) (f). The safety plan may include a component that makes the person aware of the effect of his or her their offense on a victim and a victim's family. The safety plan may include treatment for the person's misuse, abuse, or dependence on alcohol, tetrahydrocannabinols, controlled substances, or controlled substance analogs. If the plan requires inpatient treatment, the treatment shall not exceed 30 days. An airman safety plan under this paragraph shall include a termination date consistent with the plan that shall not extend beyond one year. The county department under s. 51.42 shall assure notification of the department of transportation and the person of the person's compliance or noncompliance with assessment and treatment.

**SECTION 26.** 115.35 (1) of the statutes is renumbered 115.35 (1) (a) (intro.) and amended to read:

115.35 (1) (a) (intro.) A critical health problems education program is established in the department. The program shall be a systematic and integrated

SECTION 26

BILL

program designed to provide appropriate learning experiences based on scientific knowledge of the human organism as it functions within its environment and designed to favorably influence the health, understanding, attitudes and practices of the individual child which will enable him or her to adapt to changing health problems of our society. The program shall be designed to educate youth with regard to critical health problems and shall include, but not be limited to, the following topics as the basis for comprehensive education curricula in all elementary and secondary schools: eontrolled

- 1. Controlled substances, as defined in s. 961.01 (4); controlled substance analogs, as defined in s. 961.01 (4m); alcohol; and tobacco; mental.
  - 2. Mental health; sexually.
- 3. Sexually transmitted diseases, including acquired immunodeficiency syndrome; human.
  - 4. Human growth and development; and.
  - 5. Other related health and safety topics as determined by the department.
- (b) Participation in the human growth and development topic of the curricula described in par. (a) shall be entirely voluntary. The department may not require a school board to use a specific human growth and development curriculum.

**SECTION 27.** Subchapter IV of chapter 139 [precedes 139.97] of the statutes is created to read:

#### **CHAPTER 139**

#### SUBCHAPTER IV

#### MARIJUANA TAX AND REGULATION

#### **139.97 Definitions.** In this subchapter:

- (1) "Department" means the department of revenue.
- (2) "Lot" means a definite quantity of marijuana or usable marijuana identified by a lot number, every portion or package of which is consistent with the factors that appear in the labeling.
- (3) "Lot number" means a number that specifies the person that holds a valid permit under this subchapter and the harvesting or processing date for each lot.
  - (4) "Marijuana" has the meaning given in s. 961.70 (2).
- (5) "Marijuana distributor" means a person in this state that purchases or receives usable marijuana from a marijuana processor and that sells or otherwise transfers the usable marijuana to a marijuana retailer for the purpose of resale to consumers.
- (6) "Marijuana processor" means a person in this state that processes marijuana into usable marijuana, packages and labels usable marijuana for sale in retail outlets, and sells at wholesale or otherwise transfers usable marijuana to marijuana distributors.
- (7) "Marijuana producer" means a person in this state that produces marijuana and sells it at wholesale or otherwise transfers it to marijuana processors.
- (8) "Marijuana retailer" means a person in this state that sells usable marijuana at a retail outlet.
  - (9) "Microbusiness" means a marijuana producer that produces marijuana in

one area that is less than 10,000 square feet and that also operates as any 2 of the following:

- (a) A marijuana processor.
- (b) A marijuana distributor.
- (c) A marijuana retailer.
- (10) "Permittee" means a marijuana producer, marijuana processor, marijuana distributor, marijuana retailer, or microbusiness that is issued a permit under s. 139.972.
  - (11) "Retail outlet" means a location for the retail sale of usable marijuana.
  - (12) "Sales price" has the meaning given in s. 77.51 (15b).
- (13) "Usable marijuana" means marijuana that has been processed for human consumption and includes dried marijuana flowers, marijuana-infused products, and marijuana edibles.
- 139.971 Marijuana tax. (1) (a) An excise tax is imposed on a marijuana producer at the rate of 15 percent of the sales price on each wholesale sale or transfer in this state of marijuana to a marijuana processor. This paragraph applies to a microbusiness that transfers marijuana to a processing operation within the microbusiness.
- (b) An excise tax is imposed on a marijuana retailer at the rate of 10 percent of the sales price on each retail sale in this state of usable marijuana, except that the tax does not apply to sales of usable marijuana to an individual who holds a valid tax exemption certificate issued under s. 73.17 (4).
  - (2) Each person liable for the taxes imposed under sub. (1) shall pay the taxes

to the department no later than the 15th day of the month following the month in which the person's tax liability is incurred and shall include with the payment a return on a form prescribed by the department.

- (3) For purposes of this section, a marijuana producer may not sell marijuana directly to a marijuana distributor or marijuana retailer, and a marijuana retailer may purchase usable marijuana for resale only from a marijuana distributor. This subsection does not apply to a microbusiness that transfers marijuana or usable marijuana to another operation within the microbusiness.
- 139.972 Permits required. (1) (a) No person may operate in this state as a marijuana producer, marijuana processor, marijuana distributor, marijuana retailer, or microbusiness without first filing an application for and obtaining the proper permit from the department to perform such operations. In addition, no person may operate in this state as a marijuana producer or marijuana processor without first filing an application for and obtaining the proper permit under s. 94.56.
- (b) This section applies to all officers, directors, agents, and stockholders holding 5 percent or more of the stock of any corporation applying for a permit under this section.
- (c) Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, the department may not issue a permit under this section to any person to which any of the following applies:
- 1. The person has been convicted of a violent misdemeanor, as defined in s. 941.29 (1g) (b), at least 3 times.

2. The person has been convicted of a violent felony, as defined in s. 941.29 (1g) (a), unless pardoned.

- 3. During the preceding 3 years, the person has been committed under s. 51.20 for being drug dependent.
- 4. The person chronically and habitually uses alcohol beverages or other substances to the extent that their normal faculties are impaired. A person is presumed to chronically and habitually use alcohol beverages or other substances to the extent that their normal faculties are impaired if, within the preceding 3 years, any of the following applies:
- a. The person has been committed for involuntary treatment under s. 51.45 (13).
  - b. The person has been convicted of a violation of s. 941.20 (1) (b).
- c. In 2 or more cases arising out of separate incidents, a court has found the person to have committed a violation of s. 346.63 or a local ordinance in conformity with s. 346.63; a violation of a law of a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state in conformity with s. 346.63; or a violation of the law of another jurisdiction, as defined in s. 340.01 (41m), that prohibits use of a motor vehicle while intoxicated, while under the influence of a controlled substance or a controlled substance analog or a combination thereof, with an excess or specified range of alcohol concentration, or while under the influence of any drug to a degree that renders the person incapable of safely driving, as those or substantially similar terms are used in that jurisdiction's laws.

- 5. The person has income that comes principally from gambling or has been convicted of 2 or more gambling offenses.
  - 6. The person has been convicted of crimes relating to prostitution.
- 7. The person has been convicted of of crimes relating to loaning money or anything of value to persons holding licenses or permits pursuant to ch. 125.
  - 8. The person is under the age of 21.
- 9. The person has not been a resident of this state continuously for at least 90 days prior to the application date.
- (cm) An applicant with 20 or more employees may not receive a permit under this section to operate as a marijuana distributor or marijuana retailer unless the applicant certifies to the department that the applicant has entered into a labor peace agreement, as defined in s. 94.56 (1) (a), and will abide by the terms of the agreement as a condition of maintaining a valid permit under this section. The applicant shall submit to the department a copy of the page of the labor peace agreement that contains the signatures of the labor organization representative and the applicant.
- (cn) The department shall use a competitive scoring system to determine which applicants for a permit to operate as a marijuana retailer are eligible to receive that permit under this section. The department shall issue permits to the highest scoring applicants that it determines will best protect the environment; provide stable, family-supporting jobs to local residents; ensure worker and consumer safety; operate secure facilities; and uphold the laws of the jurisdictions in which they operate. The department shall, using criteria established by rule,

score an applicant for a permit to operate as a marijuana retailer on the applicant's ability to articulate a social equity plan related to the operation of a marijuana retail establishment. The department may deny a permit to an applicant with a low score as determined under this paragraph. The department may request that the applicant provide any information or documentation that the department deems necessary for purposes of making a determination under this paragraph.

- (d) 1. Before the department issues a new or renewed permit under this section, the department shall give notice of the permit application to the governing body of the municipality where the permit applicant intends to operate the premises of a marijuana producer, marijuana processor, marijuana distributor, marijuana retailer, or microbusiness. No later than 30 days after the department submits the notice, the governing body of the municipality may file with the department a written objection to granting or renewing the permit. At the municipality's request, the department may extend the period for filing objections.
- 2. A written objection filed under subd. 1. shall provide all the facts on which the objection is based. In determining whether to grant or deny a permit for which an objection has been filed under this paragraph, the department shall give substantial weight to objections from a municipality based on chronic illegal activity associated with the premises for which the applicant seeks a permit or the premises of any other operation in this state for which the applicant holds or has held a valid permit or license, the conduct of the applicant's patrons inside or outside the premises of any other operation in this state for which the applicant holds or has held a valid permit or license, and local zoning ordinances. In this

subdivision, "chronic illegal activity" means a pervasive pattern of activity that

threatens the public health, safety, and welfare of the municipality, including any

crime or ordinance violation, and that is documented in crime statistics, police

reports, emergency medical response data, calls for service, field data, or similar

law enforcement agency records.

(e) After denying a permit, the department shall immediately notify the

applicant in writing of the denial and the reasons for the denial. After making a

decision to grant or deny a permit for which a municipality has filed an objection

under par. (d), the department shall immediately notify the governing body of the

municipality in writing of its decision and the reasons for the decision.

(f) 1. The department's denial of a permit under this section is subject to

judicial review under ch. 227.

2. The department's decision to grant a permit under this section regardless

of an objection filed under par. (d) is subject to judicial review under ch. 227.

(g) The department may not issue a permit under this section to any person

that does not hold a valid certificate under s. 73.03 (50).

(2) Each person that applies for a permit under this section shall submit with

the application a \$250 fee. Each person that is granted a permit under this section

shall annually pay to the department a \$2,000 fee for as long as the person holds a

valid permit under this section. A permit issued under this section is valid for one

year and may be renewed, except that the department may revoke or suspend a

permit prior to its expiration. A person is not entitled to a refund of the fees paid

under this subsection if the person's permit is denied, revoked, or suspended.

- (3) The department may not issue a permit under this section to operate any premises that is within 500 feet of the perimeter of the grounds of any elementary or secondary school, playground, recreation facility, child care facility, public park, public transit facility, or library.
- (4) Under this section, a separate permit is required for and issued to each class of permittee, and the permit holder may perform only the operations authorized by the permit. A permit issued under this section is not transferable from one person to another or from one premises to another. A separate permit is required for each place in this state where the operations of a marijuana producer, marijuana processor, marijuana distributor, marijuana retailer, or microbusiness occur, including each retail outlet. No person that has been issued a permit to operate as a marijuana retailer, or that has any direct or indirect financial interest in the operation of a marijuana retailer, shall be issued a permit to operate as a marijuana producer, marijuana processor, or marijuana distributor. A person that has been issued a permit to operate as a microbusiness is not required to hold separate permits to operate as a marijuana processor, marijuana distributor, or marijuana retailer, but shall specify on the person's application for a microbusiness permit the activities that the person will be engaged in as a microbusiness.
- (5) Each person issued a permit under this section shall post the permit in a conspicuous place on the premises to which the permit relates.
- **139.973 Regulation.** (1) (a) No permittee may employ an individual who is under the age of 21 to work in the business to which the permit relates.
  - (b) Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, no permittee may employ an

individual if any of the conditions under s. 139.972 (1) (c) 1. to 7. applies to the individual.

- (2) A retail outlet shall sell no products or services other than usable marijuana or paraphernalia intended for the storage or use of usable marijuana.
- (3) No marijuana retailer may allow a person who is under the age of 21 to enter or be on the premises of a retail outlet in violation of s. 961.71 (2m), unless that person is a qualifying patient, as defined in s. 73.17 (1) (d).
- (4) The maximum amount of usable marijuana that a retail outlet may sell to an individual consumer in a single transaction may not exceed a permissible amount, as defined in s. 961.70 (3).
- (4m) A marijuana retailer may not collect, retain, or distribute personal information regarding the retailer's customers except that which is necessary to complete a sale of usable marijuana.
- (5) No marijuana retailer may display any signage in a window, on a door, or on the outside of the premises of a retail outlet that is visible to the general public from a public right-of-way, other than a single sign that is no larger than 1,600 square inches identifying the retail outlet by the permittee's business or trade name.
- **(6)** No marijuana retailer may display usable marijuana in a manner that is visible to the general public from a public right-of-way.
- (7) No marijuana retailer or employee of a retail outlet may consume, or allow to be consumed, any usable marijuana on the premises of the retail outlet.

(7m) A marijuana retailer may operate a retail outlet only between the hours of 8 a.m. and 8 p.m.

- (8) Except as provided under sub. (5), no marijuana producer, marijuana processor, marijuana distributor, marijuana retailer, or microbusiness may place or maintain, or cause to be placed or maintained, an advertisement of usable marijuana in any form or through any medium.
- (9) (a) On a schedule determined by the department, every marijuana producer, marijuana processor, and microbusiness shall submit representative samples of the marijuana and usable marijuana produced or processed by the marijuana producer, marijuana processor, or microbusiness to a testing laboratory registered under s. 94.57 for testing marijuana and usable marijuana in order to certify that the marijuana and usable marijuana comply with standards prescribed by the department by rule, including testing for potency and for mold, fungus, pesticides, and other contaminants. The laboratory testing the sample shall destroy any part of the sample that remains after the testing.
- (b) Each marijuana producer, marijuana processor, and microbusiness shall submit the results of the testing provided under par. (a) to the department in the manner prescribed by the department by rule.
- (c) If a representative sample tested under par. (a) does not meet the standards prescribed by the department, the department shall take the necessary action to ensure that the entire lot from which the sample was taken is destroyed. The department shall promulgate rules to determine lots and lot numbers for

department.

purposes of this subsection and for the reporting of lots and lot numbers to the

- (10) (a) A marijuana processor or a microbusiness that operates as a marijuana processor shall affix a label to all usable marijuana that the marijuana processor or microbusiness sells to marijuana distributors. The label may not be designed to appeal to persons under the age of 18. The label shall include all of the following:
- 1. The ingredients and the tetrahydrocannabinols concentration in the usable marijuana.
  - 2. The processor's business or trade name.
  - 3. The processor's permit number.
  - 4. The harvest batch number of the marijuana.
  - 5. The harvest date.
  - 6. The strain name and product identity.
  - 7. The net weight.
  - 8. The activation time.
- 9. The name of the laboratory performing any test, the test batch number, and the test analysis dates.
- 10. The logotype for recreational marijuana developed by the department of agriculture, trade and consumer protection under s. 100.145.
- 11. Warnings about the risks of marijuana use and pregnancy and risks of marijuana use by persons under the age of 18.
  - (b) No marijuana processor or microbusiness that operates as a marijuana

processor may make usable marijuana using marijuana grown outside this state.

The label on each package of usable marijuana may indicate that the usable marijuana is made in this state.

- (11) (a) No permittee may sell marijuana or usable marijuana that contains more than 3 parts tetrahydrocannabinols to one part cannabidiol.
- (b) No permittee may sell marijuana or usable marijuana that tests positive under sub. (9) (a) for mold, fungus, pesticides, or other contaminants if the contaminants, or level of contaminants, are identified by a testing laboratory to be potentially unsafe to the consumer.
- (12) Immediately after beginning employment with a permittee, every employee of a permittee shall receive training, approved by the department, on the safe handling of marijuana and usable marijuana and on security and inventory accountability procedures.
- 139.974 Records and reports. (1) Every permittee shall keep accurate and complete records of the permittee's production and sales of marijuana and usable marijuana in this state. The records shall be kept on the premises described in the permit and in such manner as to ensure permanency and accessibility for inspection at reasonable hours by the department's authorized personnel. The department shall prescribe reasonable and uniform methods of keeping records and making reports and shall provide the necessary forms to permittees.
- (2) If the department determines that a permittee's records are not kept in the prescribed form or are in such condition that the department requires an unusual amount of time to determine from the records the amount of the tax due,

the department shall give notice to the permittee that the permittee is required to

revise the permittee's records and keep them in the prescribed form. If the

permittee fails to comply within 30 days, the permittee shall pay the expenses

reasonably attributable to a proper examination and tax determination at the rate

of \$30 a day for each auditor used to make the examination and determination. The

department shall send a bill for such expenses, and the permittee shall pay the

amount of such bill within 10 days.

(3) If a permittee fails to file a report when due, the permittee shall pay a late

filing fee of \$10. A report that is mailed is filed on time if it is mailed in a properly

addressed envelope with postage prepaid, the envelope is officially postmarked, or

marked or recorded electronically as provided under section 7502 (f) (2) (c) of the

Internal Revenue Code, on the date due, and the report is actually received by the

department or at the destination that the department prescribes within 5 days of

the due date. A report that is not mailed is timely if it is received on or before the

due date by the department or at the destination that the department prescribes.

For purposes of this subsection, "mailed" includes delivery by a delivery service

designated under section 7502 (f) of the Internal Revenue Code.

(4) Sections 71.78 (1), (1m), and (4) to (9) and 71.83 (2) (a) 3. and 3m., relating

to confidentiality of income, franchise, and gift tax returns, apply to any

information obtained from any permittee under this subchapter on a tax return,

report, schedule, exhibit, or other document or from an audit report relating to any

of those documents, except that the department shall publish production and sales

statistics.

139.975 Administration and enforcement. (1) The department shall administer and enforce this subchapter and promulgate rules necessary to administer and enforce this subchapter.

- (2) The duly authorized employees of the department have all necessary police powers to prevent violations of this subchapter.
- (3) Authorized personnel of the department of justice and the department of revenue, and any law enforcement officer, within their respective jurisdictions, may at all reasonable hours enter the premises of any permittee and examine the books and records to determine whether the tax imposed by this subchapter has been fully paid and may enter and inspect any premises where marijuana or usable marijuana is produced, processed, made, sold, or stored to determine whether the permittee is complying with this subchapter.
- (4) The department may suspend or revoke the permit of any permittee that violates s. 100.30, any provision of this subchapter, or any rule promulgated under sub. (1). The department shall revoke the permit of any permittee that violates s. 100.30 3 or more times within a 5-year period.
- (5) No suit shall be maintained in any court to restrain or delay the collection or payment of the tax levied in s. 139.971. The aggrieved taxpayer shall pay the tax when due and, if paid under protest, may at any time within 90 days from the date of payment sue the state to recover the tax paid. If it is finally determined that any part of the tax was wrongfully collected, the secretary of administration shall pay the amount wrongfully collected. A separate suit need not be filed for each separate

payment made by any taxpayer, but a recovery may be had in one suit for as many payments as may have been made.

- (6) (a) Any person may be compelled to testify in regard to any violation of this subchapter of which the person may have knowledge, even though such testimony may tend to incriminate the person, upon being granted immunity from prosecution in connection with the testimony, and upon the giving of such testimony, the person shall not be prosecuted because of the violation relative to which the person has testified.
- (b) The immunity provided under par. (a) is subject to the restrictions under s. 972.085.
- (7) The provisions on timely filing under s. 71.80 (18) apply to the tax imposed under this subchapter.
- (8) Sections 71.74 (1), (2), (10), (11), and (14), 71.77, 71.91 (1) (a) and (c) and (2) to (7), 71.92, and 73.0301 as they apply to the taxes under ch. 71 apply to the taxes under this subchapter. Section 71.74 (13) as it applies to the collection of the taxes under ch. 71 applies to the collection of the taxes under this subchapter, except that the period during which notice of an additional assessment shall be given begins on the due date of the report under this subchapter.
- (9) Any building or place of any kind where marijuana or usable marijuana is sold, possessed, stored, or manufactured without a lawful permit or in violation of s. 139.972 or 139.973 is declared a public nuisance and may be closed and abated as such.
  - (10) At the request of the secretary of revenue, the attorney general may

represent this state or assist a district attorney in prosecuting any case arising

under this subchapter.

subsection shall be destroyed.

139.976 Theft of tax moneys. All marijuana tax moneys received by a permittee for the sale of marijuana or usable marijuana on which the tax under this subchapter has become due and has not been paid are trust funds in the permittee's possession and are the property of this state. Any permittee that fraudulently withholds, appropriates, or otherwise uses marijuana tax moneys that are the

property of this state is guilty of theft under s. 943.20 (1), whether or not the

permittee has or claims to have an interest in those moneys.

139.977 Seizure and confiscation. (1) All marijuana and usable marijuana produced, processed, made, kept, stored, sold, distributed, or transported in violation of this subchapter, and all tangible personal property used in connection with the marijuana or usable marijuana, is unlawful property and subject to seizure by the department or a law enforcement officer. Except as provided in sub. (2), all marijuana and usable marijuana seized under this

- (2) If marijuana or usable marijuana on which the tax has not been paid is seized as provided under sub. (1), it may be given to law enforcement officers to use in criminal investigations or sold to qualified buyers by the department, without notice. If the department finds that the marijuana or usable marijuana may deteriorate or become unfit for use in criminal investigations or for sale, or that those uses would otherwise be impractical, the department may order it destroyed.
  - (3) If marijuana or usable marijuana on which the tax has been paid is seized

as provided under sub. (1), it shall be returned to the true owner if ownership can be

ascertained and the owner or the owner's agent is not involved in the violation

resulting in the seizure. If the ownership cannot be ascertained or if the owner or

the owner's agent was guilty of the violation that resulted in the seizure of the

marijuana or usable marijuana, it may be sold or otherwise disposed of as provided

in sub. (2).

**BILL** 

(4) If tangible personal property other than marijuana or usable marijuana is seized as provided under sub. (1), the department shall advertise the tangible personal property for sale by publication of a class 2 notice under ch. 985. If no person claiming a lien on, or ownership of, the property has notified the department of the person's claim within 10 days after last insertion of the notice, the department shall sell the property. If a sale is not practical, the department may destroy the property. If a person claiming a lien on, or ownership of, the property notifies the department within the time prescribed in this subsection, the department may apply to the circuit court in the county where the property was seized for an order directing disposition of the property or the proceeds from the sale of the property. If the court orders the property to be sold, all liens, if any, may be transferred from the property to the sale proceeds. Neither the property seized nor the proceeds from the sale shall be turned over to any claimant of lien or ownership unless the claimant first establishes that the property was not used in connection with any violation under this subchapter or that, if so used, it was done without the claimant's knowledge or consent and without the claimant's knowledge

of facts that should have given the claimant reason to believe it would be put to such

use. If no claim of lien or ownership is established as provided under this subsection, the property may be ordered destroyed.

139.978 Interest and penalties. (1) Any person that makes or signs any false or fraudulent report under this subchapter or that attempts to evade the tax imposed by s. 139.971, or that aids in or abets the evasion or attempted evasion of that tax, may be fined not more than \$10,000 or imprisoned for not more than 9 months or both.

- (2) Any permittee that fails to keep the records required by s. 139.974 (1) and (2) shall be fined not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both.
- (3) Any person that refuses to permit the examination or inspection authorized under s. 139.975 (3) may be fined not more than \$500 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both. The department shall immediately suspend or revoke the permit of any person that refuses to permit the examination or inspection authorized under s. 139.975 (3).
- (4) Any person that violates any of the provisions of this subchapter for which no other penalty is prescribed shall be fined not less than \$100 nor more than \$1,000 or imprisoned not less than 10 days nor more than 90 days or both.
- (5) Any person that violates any of the rules promulgated in accordance with this subchapter shall be fined not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both.
- (6) In addition to the penalties imposed for violating the provisions of this subchapter or any of the department's rules, the department shall revoke the

permit of any person convicted of such a violation and not issue another permit to that person for a period of 2 years following the revocation.

- (7) Unpaid taxes under this subchapter bear interest at the rate of 12 percent per year from the due date of the return until paid or deposited with the department, and all refunded taxes bear interest at the rate of 3 percent per year from the due date of the return to the date on which the refund is certified on the refund rolls.
- (8) All nondelinquent payments of additional amounts owed under this subchapter shall be applied in the following order: penalties, interest, tax principal.
- (9) Delinquent marijuana taxes bear interest at the rate of 1.5 percent per month until paid. The taxes imposed by this subchapter shall become delinquent if not paid by any of the following due dates, whichever is applicable:
- (a) In the case of a timely filed return, no return filed, or a late return, on or before the due date of the return.
- (b) In the case of a deficiency determination of taxes, within 2 months after the date of demand.
- (10) If due to neglect an incorrect return is filed under this subchapter, the entire tax finally determined is subject to a penalty of 25 percent of the tax exclusive of interest or other penalty. A person filing an incorrect return has the burden of proving that the error or errors were due to good cause and not due to neglect.
- 139.979 Personal use. An individual who possesses no more than 6 marijuana plants that have reached the flowering stage at any one time is not

subject to the tax imposed under s. 139.971. An individual who possesses more than 6 marijuana plants that have reached the flowering stage at any one time shall apply for the appropriate permit under s. 139.972 and pay the appropriate tax imposed under s. 139.971.

139.980 Agreement with tribes. The department may enter into an agreement with a federally recognized American Indian tribe or band in this state for the administration and enforcement of this subchapter and to provide refunds of the tax imposed under s. 139.971 on marijuana sold on tribal land by or to enrolled members of the tribe or band residing on the tribal land.

**SECTION 28.** 157.06 (11) (hm) of the statutes is created to read:

157.06 (11) (hm) Unless otherwise required by federal law, a hospital, physician, procurement organization, or other person may not determine the ultimate recipient of an anatomical gift based solely upon a positive test for the use of marijuana by a potential recipient.

**SECTION 29.** 157.06 (11) (i) of the statutes is amended to read:

157.06 (11) (i) Except as provided under par. pars. (a) 2. and (hm), nothing in this section affects the allocation of organs for transplantation or therapy.

**SECTION 30.** 289.33 (3) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

289.33 (3) (d) "Local approval" includes any requirement for a permit, license, authorization, approval, variance or exception or any restriction, condition of approval or other restriction, regulation, requirement or prohibition imposed by a charter ordinance, general ordinance, zoning ordinance, resolution or regulation by a town, city, village, county or special purpose district, including without limitation

ch. 60, or subch. III of ch. 91.

**BILL** 

because of enumeration any ordinance, resolution or regulation adopted under s.

because of enumeration any ordinance, resolution or regulation adopted under s. 91.73, 2007 stats., s. 59.03 (2), 59.11 (5), 59.42 (1), 59.48, 59.51 (1) and (2), 59.52 (2), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (11), (12), (13), (15), (16), (17), (18), (19), (20), (21), (22), (23), (24), (25), (26) and (27), 59.53 (1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (7), (8), (9), (11), (12), (13), (14), (15), (19), (20) and (23), 59.535 (2), (3) and (4), 59.54 (1), (2), (3), (4), (4m), (5), (6), (7), (8), (10), (11), (12), (16), (17), (18), (19), (20), (21), (22), (23), (24), (25) (a), and (26), 59.55 (3), (4), (5) and (6), 59.56 (1), (2), (4), (5), (6), (7), (9), (10), (11), (12), (12m), (13) and (16), 59.57 (1), 59.58 (1) and (5), 59.62, 59.69, 59.692, 59.693, 59.696, 59.697, 59.698, 59.70 (1), (2), (3), (5), (7), (8), (9), (10), (11), (21), (22) and (23), 59.79 (1), (2), (3), (5), (7), (8), and (10), 59.792 (2) and (3), 59.80, 59.82, 60.10, 60.22, 60.23, 60.54, 60.77, 61.34, 61.35, 61.351, 61.353, 61.354, 62.11, 62.23, 62.231, 62.233, 62.234, 66.0101, 66.0415, 87.30, 196.58, 200.11 (8), 236.45, 281.43 or 349.16, subch. VIII of

**SECTION 31.** 349.02 (2) (b) 4. of the statutes is amended to read:

349.02 **(2)** (b) 4. Local ordinances enacted under s. 59.54 (25) <u>(a)</u> or (25m) or 66.0107 (1) (bm).

**SECTION 32.** 961.01 (14) of the statutes is renumbered 961.70 (2) and amended to read:

961.70 (2) "Marijuana" means all parts of the plants of the genus Cannabis, whether growing or not; the seeds thereof; the resin extracted from any part of the plant; and every compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant, its seeds or resin, including if the tetrahydrocannabinols concentration of the plant part, seeds, resin, compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or

preparation is greater than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. "Marijuana" does include the mature stalks if mixed with other parts of the plant, but does not include fiber produced from the stalks, oil or cake made from the seeds of the plant, any other compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the mature stalks (except the resin extracted therefrom), fiber, oil, or cake or the sterilized seed of the plant which is incapable of germination. "Marijuana" does not include hemp, as defined in s. 94.55 (1).

**SECTION 33.** 961.11 (4g) of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 34.** 961.14 (4) (t) of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 35.** 961.32 (2m) of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 36.** 961.34 of the statutes is renumbered 961.75, and 961.75 (title), as renumbered, is amended to read:

961.75 (title) Controlled substances Marijuana therapeutic research.

**SECTION 37.** 961.38 (1n) of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 38.** 961.41 (1) (h) of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 39.** 961.41 (1m) (h) of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 40.** 961.41 (1q) of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 41.** 961.41 (1r) of the statutes is amended to read:

961.41 (1r) DETERMINING WEIGHT OF SUBSTANCE. In determining amounts under s. 961.49 (2) (b), 1999 stats., and subs. (1) and (1m), an amount includes the weight of cocaine, cocaine base, fentanyl, a fentanyl analog, heroin, phencyclidine, lysergic acid diethylamide, psilocin, psilocybin, amphetamine, methamphetamine, tetrahydrocannabinols, synthetic cannabinoids, or substituted cathinones, or any

controlled substance analog of any of these substances together with any compound, mixture, diluent, plant material or other substance mixed or combined with the controlled substance or controlled substance analog. In addition, in determining amounts under subs. (1) (h) and (1m) (h), the amount of tetrahydrocannabinols means anything included under s. 961.14 (4) (t) and includes the weight of any marijuana.

**SECTION 42.** 961.41 (1x) of the statutes is amended to read:

961.41 (1x) CONSPIRACY. Any person who conspires, as specified in s. 939.31, to commit a crime under sub. (1) (cm) to (h) (g) or (1m) (cm) to (h) (g) is subject to the applicable penalties under sub. (1) (cm) to (h) (g) or (1m) (cm) to (h) (g).

**SECTION 43.** 961.41 (3g) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

961.41 (3g) (c) Cocaine and cocaine base. If a person possesses or attempts to possess cocaine or cocaine base, or a controlled substance analog of cocaine or cocaine base, the person shall be fined not more than \$5,000 and may be imprisoned for not more than one year in the county jail upon a first conviction and is guilty of a Class I felony for a 2nd or subsequent offense. For purposes of this paragraph, an offense is considered a 2nd or subsequent offense if, prior to the offender's conviction of the offense, the offender has at any time been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor under this chapter or under any statute of the United States or of any state relating to controlled substances, controlled substance analogs, narcotic drugs, marijuana, or depressant, stimulant, or hallucinogenic drugs.

**SECTION 44.** 961.41 (3g) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:

961.41 (3g) (d) Certain hallucinogenic and stimulant drugs. If a person

possesses or attempts to possess lysergic acid diethylamide, phencyclidine, amphetamine, 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine, methcathinone, cathinone, N-benzylpiperazine, a substance specified in s. 961.14 (4) (a) to (h), (m) to (q), (sm), (u) to (xb), or (7) (L), psilocin, or psilocybin, or a controlled substance analog of lvsergic acid diethylamide. phencyclidine. amphetamine, 3.4methylenedioxymethamphetamine, methcathinone, cathinone, N-benzylpiperazine, a substance specified in s. 961.14 (4) (a) to (h), (m) to (q), (sm), (u) to (xb), or (7) (L), psilocin, or psilocybin, the person may be fined not more than \$5,000 or imprisoned for not more than one year in the county jail or both upon a first conviction and is guilty of a Class I felony for a 2nd or subsequent offense. For purposes of this paragraph, an offense is considered a 2nd or subsequent offense if, prior to the offender's conviction of the offense, the offender has at any time been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor under this chapter or under any statute of the United States or of any state relating to controlled substances, controlled substance analogs, narcotic drugs, marijuana, or depressant, stimulant, or hallucinogenic drugs.

**SECTION 45.** 961.41 (3g) (e) of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 46.** 961.41 (3g) (em) of the statutes is amended to read:

961.41 (3g) (em) *Synthetic cannabinoids*. If a person possesses or attempts to possess a controlled substance specified in s. 961.14 (4) (tb), or a controlled substance analog of a controlled substance specified in s. 961.14 (4) (tb), the person may be fined not more than \$1,000 or imprisoned for not more than 6 months or both upon a first conviction and is guilty of a Class I felony for a 2nd or subsequent

offense. For purposes of this paragraph, an offense is considered a 2nd or subsequent offense if, prior to the offender's conviction of the offense, the offender has at any time been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor under this chapter or under any statute of the United States or of any state relating to controlled substances, controlled substance analogs, narcotic drugs, marijuana, or depressant, stimulant, or hallucinogenic drugs.

**SECTION 47.** 961.47 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:

961.47 (1) Whenever any person who has not previously been convicted of any offense under this chapter, or of any offense under any statute of the United States or of any state or of any county ordinance relating to controlled substances or controlled substance analogs, narcotic drugs, marijuana or stimulant, depressant, or hallucinogenic drugs, pleads guilty to or is found guilty of possession or attempted possession of a controlled substance or controlled substance analog under s. 961.41 (3g) (b), the court, without entering a judgment of guilt and with the consent of the accused, may defer further proceedings and place him or her on probation upon terms and conditions. Upon violation of a term or condition, the court may enter an adjudication of guilt and proceed as otherwise provided. Upon fulfillment of the terms and conditions, the court shall discharge the person and dismiss the proceedings against him or her. Discharge and dismissal under this section shall be without adjudication of guilt and is not a conviction for purposes of disqualifications or disabilities imposed by law upon conviction of a crime, including the additional penalties imposed for 2nd or subsequent convictions under s. 961.48.

There may be only one discharge and dismissal under this section with respect to any person.

**SECTION 48.** 961.48 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:

961.48 (3) For purposes of this section, a felony offense under this chapter is considered a 2nd or subsequent offense if, prior to the offender's conviction of the offense, the offender has at any time been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor offense under this chapter or under any statute of the United States or of any state relating to controlled substances or controlled substance analogs, narcotic drugs, marijuana or depressant, stimulant, or hallucinogenic drugs.

**SECTION 49.** 961.48 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:

961.48 (5) This section does not apply if the person is presently charged with a felony under s. 961.41 (3g) (c), (d), (e), or (g).

**SECTION 50.** 961.49 (1m) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

961.49 (1m) (intro.) If any person violates s. 961.41 (1) (cm), (d), (dm), (e), (f), or (g) or (h) by delivering or distributing, or violates s. 961.41 (1m) (cm), (d), (dm), (e), (f), or (g) or (h) by possessing with intent to deliver or distribute, cocaine, cocaine base, fentanyl, a fentanyl analog, heroin, phencyclidine, lysergic acid diethylamide, psilocin, psilocybin, amphetamine, methamphetamine, or methcathinone or any form of tetrahydrocannabinols or a controlled substance analog of any of these substances and the delivery, distribution or possession takes place under any of the following circumstances, the maximum term of imprisonment prescribed by law for that crime may be increased by 5 years:

**SECTION 51.** 961.571 (1) (a) 7. of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 52.** 961.571 (1) (a) 11. (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:

961.571 (1) (a) 11. (intro.) Objects used, designed for use or primarily intended for use in ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing marijuana, cocaine, hashish or hashish oil into the human body, such as:

**SECTION 53.** 961.571 (1) (a) 11. e. of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 54.** 961.571 (1) (a) 11. k. and L. of the statutes are repealed.

**SECTION 55.** Subchapter VIII of chapter 961 [precedes 961.70] of the statutes is created to read:

### CHAPTER 961

### SUBCHAPTER VIII

## REGULATION OF MARIJUANA

# **961.70 Definitions.** In this subchapter:

- (1) "Extreme measure to avoid detection" means any of the following:
- (a) A system that aims to alert a person if law enforcement approaches an area that contains marijuana plants if the system exceeds a security system that would be used by a reasonable person in the person's region.
- (b) A method of intimidating individuals who approach an area that contains marijuana plants if the method exceeds a method that would be used by a reasonable person in the person's region.
- (c) A system that is designed so that an individual approaching an area that contains marijuana plants may be injured or killed by the system.
- (1m) "Legal age" means 21 years of age, except that in the case of a qualifying patient, as defined in s. 73.17 (1) (d), "legal age" means 18 years of age.

- (3) "Permissible amount" means one of the following:
- (a) For a person who is a resident of this state, an amount that does not exceed 2 ounces of usable marijuana.
- (b) For a person who is not a resident of this state, an amount that does not exceed one-quarter ounce of usable marijuana.
  - (4) "Permittee" has the meaning given under s. 139.97 (10).
  - (5) "Retail outlet" has the meaning given in s. 139.97 (11).
  - (5m) "Tetrahydrocannabinol" means any of the following:
  - (a) Tetrahydrocannabinolic acid.
- (b) Any tetrahydrocannabinol including delta-8-tetrahydrocannabinol, delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol, and delta-10-tetrahydrocannabinol, however derived.
- (6) "Tetrahydrocannabinols concentration" means the percentage of tetrahydrocannabinol content per dry weight of any part of the plant Cannabis, or per volume or weight of marijuana product, or the combined percentage of tetrahydrocannabinol and tetrahydrocannabinolic acid in any part of the plant Cannabis regardless of moisture content.
  - (7) "Underage person" means a person who has not attained the legal age.
  - (8) "Usable marijuana" has the meaning given in s. 139.97 (13).
- **961.71** Underage persons prohibitions; penalties. (1) (a) 1. No permittee may sell, distribute, or deliver marijuana to any underage person.
- 2. No permittee may directly or indirectly permit an underage person to violate sub. (2m).
  - (b) A permittee that violates par. (a) 1. or 2. may be subject to a forfeiture of

not more than \$500 and to a suspension of the permittee's permit for an amount of time not to exceed 30 days.

- (c) In determining whether a permittee has violated par. (a) 2., all relevant circumstances surrounding the presence of the underage person may be considered. In determining whether a permittee has violated par. (a) 1., all relevant circumstances surrounding the selling, distributing, or delivering of marijuana may be considered. In addition, proof of all of the following facts by the permittee is a defense to any prosecution for a violation under par. (a):
- 1. That the underage person falsely represented that they had attained the legal age.
- 2. That the appearance of the underage person was such that an ordinary and prudent person would believe that the underage person had attained the legal age.
- 3. That the action was made in good faith and in reliance on the representation and appearance of the underage person in the belief that the underage person had attained the legal age.
- 4. That the underage person supported the representation under subd. 1. with documentation that they had attained the legal age.
- (2) Any underage person who does any of the following is subject to a forfeiture of not less than \$250 nor more than \$500:
  - (a) Procures or attempts to procure marijuana from a permittee.
- (b) Falsely represents their age for the purpose of receiving marijuana from a permittee.
  - (c) Knowingly possesses or consumes marijuana.

- (d) Violates sub. (2m).
- (2m) An underage person not accompanied by their parent, guardian, or spouse who has attained the legal age may not enter, knowingly attempt to enter, or be on the premises of a retail outlet.
- (3) An individual who has attained the legal age and who knowingly does any of the following may be subject to a forfeiture that does not exceed \$1,000:
- (a) Permits or fails to take action to prevent a violation of sub. (2) (c) on premises owned by the individual or under the individual's control.
  - (b) Encourages or contributes to a violation of sub. (2) (a).
- **961.72 Restrictions; penalties.** (1) No person except a permittee may sell, or possess with the intent to sell, marijuana. No person may distribute or deliver, or possess with the intent to distribute or deliver, marijuana except a permittee. Any person who violates a prohibition under this subsection is guilty of the following:
  - (a) Except as provided in par. (b), a Class I felony.
- (b) If the individual to whom the marijuana is, or is intended to be, sold, distributed, or delivered has not attained the legal age and the actual or intended seller, distributor, or deliverer is at least 3 years older than the individual to whom the marijuana is, or is intended to be, sold, distributed, or delivered, a Class H felony.
- (2) (a) A person who is not a permittee who possesses an amount of marijuana that exceeds the permissible amount by not more than one ounce is subject to a civil forfeiture not to exceed \$1,000.

- (b) A person who is not a permittee who possesses an amount of marijuana that exceeds the permissible amount by more than one ounce is one of the following:
- 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., subject to a fine not to exceed \$1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 90 days, or both.
- 2. Guilty of a Class I felony if the person has taken action to hide how much marijuana the person possesses and has in place an extreme measure to avoid detection.
- (c) A person who is not a permittee who possesses more than 6 marijuana plants that have reached the flowering stage at one time must apply for a permit under s. 139.972 and is one of the following:
- 1. Except as provided in subds. 2. and 3., subject to a civil forfeiture that is not more than twice the permitting fee under s. 139.972.
- 2. Except as provided in subd. 3., subject to a fine not to exceed \$1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 90 days, or both, if the number of marijuana plants that have reached the flowering stage is more than 12.
- 3. Guilty of a Class I felony if the number of marijuana plants that have reached the flowering stage is more than 12, if the individual has taken action to hide the number of marijuana plants that have reached the flowering stage and if the person has in place an extreme measure to avoid detection.
- (d) Whoever uses or displays marijuana in a public space is subject to a civil forfeiture of not more than \$100.
  - (3) Any person who sells or attempts to sell marijuana via mail, telephone, or

Internet is subject to a fine not to exceed \$10,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 9 months, or both.

**SECTION 56.** 967.055 (1m) (b) 5. of the statutes is repealed.

**SECTION 57.** 971.365 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:

971.365 (1) (a) In any case under s. 961.41 (1) (em), 1999 stats., or s. 961.41 (1) (cm), (d), (dm), (e), (f), or (g) or (h) involving more than one violation, all violations may be prosecuted as a single crime if the violations were pursuant to a single intent and design.

**SECTION 58.** 971.365 (1) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:

971.365 (1) (b) In any case under s. 961.41 (1m) (em), 1999 stats., or s. 961.41 (1m) (cm), (d), (dm), (e), (f), or (g) or (h) involving more than one violation, all violations may be prosecuted as a single crime if the violations were pursuant to a single intent and design.

**SECTION 59.** 971.365 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

971.365 (1) (c) In any case under s. 961.41 (3g) (a) 2., 1999 stats., or s. 961.41 (3g) (dm), 1999 stats., or s. 961.41 (3g) (am), (c), (d), (e), or (g) involving more than one violation, all violations may be prosecuted as a single crime if the violations were pursuant to a single intent and design.

**SECTION 60.** 971.365 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:

(e), (f), or (g), or (h) or (3g) (am), (c), (d), (e), or (g) on which no evidence was received at the trial on the original charge.

**SECTION 61.** 973.016 of the statutes is created to read:

- 973.016 Special disposition for marijuana-related crimes. (1)
  RESENTENCING PERSONS SERVING A SENTENCE OR PROBATION. (a) A person serving
  a sentence or on probation may request resentencing or dismissal as provided under
  par. (b) if all of the following apply:
- The sentence or probation period was imposed for a violation of s. 961.41 (1)
   (h), 2023 stats., s. 961.41 (1m) (h), 2023 stats., or s. 961.41 (3g) (e), 2023 stats.
  - 2. One of the following applies:
- a. The person would not have been guilty of a crime had the violation occurred on or after the effective date of this subd. 2. a. .... [LRB inserts date].
- b. The person would have been guilty of a lesser crime had the violation occurred on or after the effective date of this subd. 2. b. .... [LRB inserts date].
- (b) 1. A person to whom par. (a) applies shall file a petition with the sentencing court to request resentencing, adjustment of probation, or dismissal.
- 2. If the court receiving a petition under subd. 1. determines that par. (a) applies, the court shall schedule a hearing to consider the petition. At the hearing, if the court determines that par. (a) 2. b. applies, the court shall resentence the person or adjust the probation and change the record to reflect the lesser crime, and, if the court determines that par. (a) 2. a. applies, the court shall dismiss the conviction and expunge the record. Before resentencing, adjusting probation, or

dismissing a conviction under this subdivision, the court shall determine that the action does not present an unreasonable risk of danger to public safety.

- 3. If the court resentences the person or adjusts probation, the person shall receive credit for time or probation served for the relevant offense.
- (2) REDESIGNATING OFFENSE FOR PERSONS WHO COMPLETED A SENTENCE OR PROBATION. (a) A person who has completed their sentence or period of probation may request under par. (b) expungement of the conviction because the conviction is legally invalid or redesignation to a lesser crime if all of the following apply:
- 1. The sentence or probation period was imposed for a violation of s. 961.41 (1) (h), 2023 stats., s. 961.41 (1m) (h), 2023 stats., or s. 961.41 (3g) (e), 2023 stats.
  - 2. One of the following applies:
- a. The person would not have been guilty of a crime had the violation occurred on or after the effective date of this subd. 2. a. .... [LRB inserts date].
- b. The person would have been guilty of a lesser crime had the violation occurred on or after the effective date of this subd. 2. b. .... [LRB inserts date].
- (b) 1. A person to whom par. (a) applies shall file a petition with the sentencing court to request expungement or redesignation.
- 2. If the court receiving a petition under subd. 1. determines that par. (a) applies, the court shall schedule a hearing to consider the petition. At the hearing, if the court determines that par. (a) 2. b. applies, the court shall redesignate the crime to a lesser crime and change the record to reflect the lesser crime, and, if the court determines that par. (a) 2. a. applies, the court shall expunge the conviction. Before redesignating or expunging under this subdivision, the court shall

determine that the action does not present an unreasonable risk of danger to public safety.

(3) EFFECT OF RESENTENCING, DISMISSAL, REDESIGNATION, OR EXPUNGEMENT. If the court changes or expunges a record under this section, a conviction that was changed or expunged is not considered a conviction for any purpose under state or federal law, including for purposes of s. 941.29 or 18 USC 921.

## SECTION 9128. Nonstatutory provisions; Legislature.

(1) Joint Legislative council study on the implementation of the marijuana tax and regulation provided under subch. IV of ch. 139 and identify uses for the revenues generated by the tax. The joint legislative council shall report its findings, conclusions, and recommendations to the joint committee on finance no later than 2 years after the effective date of this subsection.

(END)