Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Utilities and Technology

Senate Bill 791

Relating to: exemptions from public utility regulation regarding electric vehicle charging stations, installation and operation of electric vehicle charging stations by state agencies or local governmental units, and imposing an excise tax on electric vehicle charging.

By Senators Marklein, Quinn, Ballweg, Bradley, Felzkowski, Knodl, Stafsholt, Taylor and Testin; cosponsored by Representatives VanderMeer, Gustafson, Oldenburg, Brandtjen, Duchow, Goeben, Gundrum, Hurd, Mursau, Petersen and Tranel.

December 08, 2023 Referred to Committee on Utilities and Technology

December 19, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Bradley; Senators Wanggaard, Quinn,

Smith and Pfaff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Sen. Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Representative Nancy VanderMeer 70th AD
- Matt Hauser WI Fuel & Retail Association
- Chelsea Chandler Clean Wisconsin
- Executive director Rob Richard WECA
- Nate Boettcher Pierce Pepin Cooperative Services
- Jennifer Malcore Kwik Trip
- Government Affairs Director Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Beata Wierzba Renew Wisconsin
- Orrie Walsvik Renew Wisconsin
- Advocacy Director Molly Collins American Lung Association
- Jordan Primakow City Of Milwaukee
- Craig Summerfield Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Adam Schwartz Kwik Trip

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Emma Heins Electrification Coalition
- Assistant Deputy Secretary Joel Nilsestuen Wisdot
- Electric Vehicle Project Manager Kaleb Vander Wiele -Wisdot
- Allison Carlson Wisconsin local government climate coalition
- Government Affairs DIRECTOR Jennifer Giegerich -Wisconsin Conservation Voters
- Bill Ehlrich TESLA

Registrations For

- Jason Pitcock Francis Energy
- Chris Snyder Wi automobile and truck dealers association
- Kristin Gilkes Customers First Coalition
- Matt Spencer MG and E
- Brandon Scholz WI conservation energy forum
- Michael Semmann WI Grocers Association
- Tom Moore Energy Action Fund
- Zachary Hill Alliant Energy
- Joseph Owen WPPI Energy
- Susie Schooff Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Tyler Vorpagel Municipal Electric Utilities of Wisconsin
- Chris LaRowe WEC Energy
- Matt Pagel Xcel energy

Registrations Against

• Regan Watts - Eau Claire County

Registrations for Information Only

- Carly Eaton BlueGreen Alliance
- Dane County government affairs director Carrie Springer
 Dane County

January 10, 2024 **Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot**

Present: (5) Senator Bradley; Senators Wanggaard, Quinn, Smith and Pfaff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Bradley; Senators Wanggaard, Quinn, Smith and Pfaff.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by that **Senate Bill 791** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senator Bradley; Senators Wanggaard, Quinn, Smith and Pfaff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Lucas Fuller
Committee Clerk