Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Universities and Revenue

Senate Bill 332

Relating to: creating the Division of Alcohol Beverages attached to the Department of Revenue; the regulation of alcohol beverages and enforcement of alcohol beverage laws; interest restrictions relating to, and authorized activities of, brewers, brewpubs, wineries, manufacturers, rectifiers, wholesalers, and retailers; shipping alcohol beverages by means of fulfillment houses and common carriers; the consumption of alcohol beverages in a public place; creating a no-sale event venue permit; creating an operator's permit; liquor licenses transferred from one municipality to another; retailers' authorized activities; liquor license quotas; the safe ride program; the presence of underage persons and conduct of other business on licensed premises; the occupational tax on alcohol beverages; repealing a rule promulgated by the Department of Revenue; granting rule-making authority; and providing a penalty.

By Senators LeMahieu, Feyen and Testin; cosponsored by Representatives Vos, August, Swearingen, Zimmerman and Doyle.

June 14, 2023 Referred to Committee on Universities and Revenue

August 17, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass,

Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys and

Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Matt Swenkofske MolsonCoors
- Mike Wittenwyler Wisconsin Beer Distributors
 Wisconsin Wine & Spirit Institute
- Kristine Hillmer Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Sen. LeMahieu Devin LeMahieu
- William Glass Wisconsin Brewers Guild, Craft Beverage Coalition
- Executive Jason Childress Kwik trip
- State Gov Affairs Sam DeWitt Brewers Association
- Joe Zietlow Kwik trip
- Mr Bill Elliott Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging Association
- Brian Boeckenstedt Tavern League of Wisconsin
- Keith Kern TAVERN league of WISCONSIN

- Rep Rob Swearingen 34AD
- Mr. Zak Koga Karben4 Brewing
- Owner Brad Schmiling Von Stiehl Winery
- Julie Coquard Wollersheim Winery & Distillery

Appearances Against

- Owner Bonnie Keyes Mulberry Lane Farm
- Ms Jean Bahn Farmview Event Barn
- Owner Pamela Pennington Bridle Barn & Gardens
- Owner Greg Schauf Country Reflections
- Member David Muehl Badger Farms, LLC
- Owner Afton Krysiak Busy Barn Farm Adventures
- Mr. Phillip Molina Still Point Farm, LLC
- Owner Shelly Mayer Folk Song Farm
- Lucas Vebber WI Institute for law and liberty
- Megan Forbes Institute for Justice

Appearances for Information Only

- Geralyn Lasher The Wine Institute
- Director State Government Affairs Jonathan Chowansky
 UPS
- Director WI Alcohol Policy Project Maureen Busalacchi -Myself
- Secretary Barca Peter Department of Revenue

Registrations For

- Lawrence Cary Handen Distillery
- Founder Jeff Olson Awildan Distilling
- President Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Amy Boyer Total wine & more
- Executive Vice President Susan Quam Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Tom Moore Mark Anthony Brands
- Ryan Prellwitz Vines and Rushes Winery
- Andrew Davis MMAC
- Scott Meyer WI craft beverage assoc
- Andy Engel Anheuser Busch
- Mike Semmann WI Grocers Association
- Matthew Hauser Wisconsin Fuel & Retail Association
- Steve Lyons New Glarus Brewing
- Shaun Schmiling Von Stiehl Winery
- Evan Hughes Central standard distillery
- Tom Fonfara Wisconsin Craft Beverage coalition
- Nick Reistad Raised Grain Brewing Co

Registrations Against

- Mother Of Groom Wisconsin Farm Wedding Private
 Event Venue Sheila Everhart Everhart Family Farms
- Event Coordinator Alyson Buchholz Folk Song Farm
- Mrs Penny Molina Still Point Farm
- Employee Felicia Mendoza Mulberry Lane Farm
- Susan Rochon Mulberry lane farm
- Attorney Skylar Croy Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty
- Laura Huser Self
- Tim Fiocchi Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation
- John Stolle Self
- Policy Coordinator Michelle Ramirez-White Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Hunter Acton Mayer Farms Beef

Registrations for Information Only

Ms Anne Marie - Self

April 11, 2024 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Patrick Kanarowski Committee Clerk