Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Universities and Revenue

Assembly Bill 102

Relating to: reducing the eligibility threshold to claim the veterans and surviving spouses property tax credit.

By Representatives Edming, Macco, Allen, Andraca, Armstrong, Baldeh, Brandtjen, Conley, Dittrich, Goeben, Green, Michalski, Mursau, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Penterman, Petryk, Plumer, Rozar, Shankland, Sinicki, Summerfield, Tusler and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Testin, James, Quinn, Spreitzer, Taylor and Wirch.

February 26, 2024 Referred to Committee on Universities and Revenue

March 06, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass,

Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys and

Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Andre Jacque 1st Senate District
- Representative James Edming 87th Assembly District
- Dr. Patricia Lillis Disabled American Veterans
- Rock Larson CVSO TVSO ASSOC OF WISCONSIN
- Paul Fisk American Legion, Department of Wisconsin
- Nicholas Crooks Village President of Blanchardville
- Director of Government Affairs Paul Rozeski -Wisconsin Property Taxpayers

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Michelle Adams Wisconsin American Legion
- Commander D2 Karen Singer Veterans of Foreign Wars, Department of Wisconsin
- Greg Bloch VVA CHAP 635

- Vice Commander Thomas Visintainer American Legion
 1st District and Kenosha County
- Dennis Criel
- Phillip Morris American Legion
- 1st District Communications Officer Paul Ciarelli American Legion Post 21
- Janelle Gallatin WI CVSO Association
- Gundel Metz Veterans of Foreign Wars
- Donald Lynch Veterans of Foreign Wars
- Wesley Hackensmith DAV DEC-3 NORTHWEST WI
- Commander Nathan Bond American Legion
- VVA 635 Dennis Criel VVA 635
- Adjutant Morris Sadicario American Legion Post 501 Madison Wi
- Forbes McIntosh Oneida Nation
- Assistant Deputy Secretary Joey Hoey Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 07, 2024 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (8) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass,
Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys and
Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Assembly Bill 102** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (6) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass, Ballweg, Larson and Smith.

Noes: (2) Senators Cabral-Guevara and Roys.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 2

Patrick Kanarowski

Committee Clerk