Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Universities and Revenue

Assembly Joint Resolution 6

Relating to: the appropriation authority of the legislature and the allocation of moneys Wisconsin receives from the federal government (second consideration).

By Representatives Wittke, Sortwell, Armstrong, Born, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Gundrum, Knodl, Kurtz, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Penterman, Rozar, Sapik, Spiros, Tusler, Bodden, Green, Schutt, Rettinger, O'Connor, Donovan and Allen; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Felzkowski, Feyen, James, Quinn, Stroebel and Tomczyk.

September 20, 2023 Referred to Committee on Universities and Revenue

January 31, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (8) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass,

Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys and

Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

Senator Howard Marklein - 17th Senate District

Appearances Against

• Jennifer Giegerich - WI Conservation Voters

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Representative Robert Wittke 62nd Assembly District
- Director of Tax, Transportation, and Legal Affairs Evan Umpir Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

Registrations Against

- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Tom Moore Energy Action Fund

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 05, 2024 **Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot**

Present: (8) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass,

Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys and

Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass, Ballweg and Cabral-Guevara.

Noes: (3) Senators Larson, Roys and Smith.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Moved by that **Assembly Joint Resolution 6** be recommended for concurrence as amended.

Ayes: (5) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass, Ballweg and Cabral-Guevara.

Noes: (3) Senators Larson, Roys and Smith.

CONCURRENCE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Patrick Kanarowski Committee Clerk