# **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Universities and Revenue**

#### Senate Bill 380

Relating to: Wisconsin grants and other financial aid for higher education. By Senators Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Feyen, Smith, Spreitzer, Tomczyk and Roys; cosponsored by Representatives Murphy, Andraca, Armstrong, Baldeh, Edming, Goeben, Gundrum, Jacobson, Joers, Mursau, O'Connor and Stubbs.

August 09, 2023 Referred to Committee on Universities and Revenue

August 23, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (7) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass,

Ballweg, Larson, Roys and Smith.

Absent: (1) Senator Cabral-Guevara.

Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Helen Faith University of Wisconsin-madison
- Financial Aid Director Robert Bode Wisconsin Assoc. Of Student Financial Aid administrators on SB 380
- Financial aid Director Triena Bodart Wisconsin Technical College System
- Associate Vice Provost for Financial Aid and Enrollment Services Susan Teerink - Waicu and Marquette University
- Senator Joan Ballweg 14th Senate District

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- Deej Lundgren UW-System
- Executive secretary Connie Hutchison Higher educational aids boars
- Rep Dave Murphy Assembly Author. Not speaking. In favor. Submitting written testimony.
- Chancellor Maria Gallo Uw-River Falls
- Senior Director of Financial Aid and Educational Funding Patty Taylor Waicu and Lakeland University

- Policy Advisor Brandon Trujillo WI Technical College System
- Executive vice president for external relations Rebecca Larson Waicu
- Mary Czech-Mrochinski Marquette University

#### **Registrations Against**

None.

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

## September 06, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (8) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Hutton, seconded by Senator James that **Senate Bill 380** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys and Smith.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Nicholas Esbeck Committee Clerk