Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Universities and Revenue

Senate Bill 2

Relating to: eliminating the personal property tax.

By Senators Stroebel, Testin, Jacque, Feyen, Hutton, James, Bradley, LeMahieu, Nass, Quinn, Tomczyk, Wanggaard, Wimberger and Cabral-Guevara; cosponsored by Representatives Knodl, Armstrong, Allen, Callahan, Dittrich, Donovan, Duchow, Edming, Goeben, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, S. Johnson, Kitchens, Magnafici, Maxey, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, Neylon, Novak, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Plumer, Rettinger, Rozar, Sapik, Schraa, Snyder, Sortwell, Steffen, Summerfield, Tittl, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Zimmerman, Brooks, Brandtjen, Bodden and Krug.

January 27, 2023 Referred to Committee on Universities and Revenue

April 25, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys, Smith and Pfaff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Rep. Dan Knodl 24th Assembly District
- Representative John Macco 88th AD
- Michelle Kussow
- John Atlee Water Doctors of Waukesha
- CEO Keith Trafton The Bartolotta Restaurants
- Mr David Phaneuf Wisco Hotel Group and the Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Industry.
- Director Of Tax, Transportation, And Legal Affairs Evan Umpir - Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- State Director Bill Smith National federation of independent business
- Mike Semmann Wisconsin Grocers
- Mike Olwig Wi Grocers
- Michael Doble Taxation of business The Explorium brewpub
- Executive Director Dan Newberry Lift for the 22 Wi

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

 County Treasurer Adam Gallagher - Wisconsin County Treasurers' Association

Registrations For

- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Thomas Rocque Business
- Gov Relations Director John Jacobson Wisconsin Property Taxpayers Inc
- Mattias Gugel National Taxpayers Union
- Tom Moore WI Cable Communications Association
- Chris Reader IRG Action Fund
- Alex Ignatowski IRG Action
- Tom Moore WI Cable Communications Association
- President Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Tom Moore WI Financial services Association
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative network
- Bill Elliott Wisconsin hotel and lodging association
- Mark Adam
- Thomas Rocque Business
- Kathi Kilgore Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Jordan Lamb WI Veterinary Medical Association
- Jason Johns NWRA-WI Chapter
- Jordan Lamb BioForward
- John Schulze Associated builders and contractors of Wisconsin
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Association
- Mr William Meisel Self
- Michelle Kussow Great Lakes Credit & Collection Assn
- Rebecca Hogan Wisconsin Funeral Directors Association
- Michelle Kussow Wisconsin Propane Gas Assn
- Michelle Kussow Wisconsin Association Of Meat Processors
- Beth Bennett WI newspaper association
- Megan Novak Americans For Prosperity
- Rebecca Hogan 3M
- Mr. Andy Franken Wisconsin Insurance Alliance

- Executive director Brad Boycks Wisconsin Builders Association
- Jason Culotta Midwest Food Products Association
- Natalie White Professional Insurance Agents of Wisconsin
- Matt Kussow Bell Ambulance
- Matt Kussow 7 Eleven
- Tom Diehl Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Andy Engel Association of Wisconsin Surgery Centers
- Jim Engel Skiing Wisconsin
- Lisa Nelson Wal-Mart
- Tom Diehl Association of Wisconsin Tourism Attractions
- Matt Phillips Tavern League Of Wisconsin
- Jeffery Knight Greater Whitewater Committee
- Matt Phillips Alliance Of Wisconsin Retailers
- Jeff Gaecke Mechanical contractors association of wisconsin
- Jonathan Kowalski Plumbing and Mechanical Contractors Association of Milwaukee and SE Wisc.
- Jonathan Kowalski SMACCA
- Misha Lee Midwest Hardware Association
- Matt Banaszynski Independent Insurance Agents of Wisconsin
- President And CEO Matthew Hauser WI Fuel & Retail Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

County Treasurer Laura Henning-Lorenz - WCTA

Nicholas Esbeck Committee Clerk