## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Universities and Revenue**

#### Senate Bill 1

Relating to: establishing a flat individual income tax rate.

By Senators LeMahieu, Ballweg, Bradley, Cabral-Guevara, Feyen, James, Nass, Stroebel, Tomczyk, Hutton, Kapenga and Felzkowski; cosponsored by Representatives Brooks, Allen, Bodden, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Gundrum, Gustafson, Knodl, Magnafici, Murphy, Penterman, Rettinger, Rozar, Spiros, Tusler, Behnke, Schraa, Moses and Donovan.

January 27, 2023 Referred to Committee on Universities and Revenue

## April 25, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Senator Hutton; Senators James, Nass, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, Roys, Smith and Pfaff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Ananth Seshadri CROWE, UW Madison
- Director Of Tax, Transportation, And Legal Affairs Evan Umpir - Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Tom Nichols Wicca sbw
- CEO Douglas Fearing Fearing's Audio Video Security
- Executive Vice President Chris Reader IRG Action Fund
- Alex Ignatowski IRG Action
- Policy Director Kyle Koenen Wisconsin Institute for law and liberty
- Thomas Rocque Business
- Ms. Miranda Hinderman Americans for Prosperity
- Michael Cody
- Executive Director Dan Newberry Lift for the 22 Wi
- Mr William Meisel Self
- Michael Doble Myself
- Thomas Rocque Business
- Bill Meisel

#### **Appearances Against**

David Earleywine - Wisconsin Catholic Conference

### **Appearances for Information Only**

• Badger institute President Mike Nichols - Badger institute

#### **Registrations For**

- Representative Rob Brooks
- State Director Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Mattias Gugel National Taxpayers Union
- Mark Adam
- President and CEO Patrick Flesch Self, Gordon Flesch Company
- Megan Novak Americans For Prosperity
- Tom Larson Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Ryan Furchenicht
- Michael Knutson
- Jamie Schwarz
- Jason Lang
- Steven Janke

#### **Registrations Against**

None.

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 11, 2024 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Patrick Kanarowski Committee Clerk