Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation and Local Government

Senate Bill 691

Relating to: water and sewerage system connections and annexation of territory and extraterritorial zoning in certain towns.

By Senators Testin, James, Quinn, Stafsholt and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Hurd, Krug, Macco, Mursau, O'Connor, Petryk, Schmidt and Wittke.

November 21, 2023 Referred to Committee on Transportation and Local Government

January 10, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Tomczyk; Senators Cowles, Hutton,

Carpenter and Pfaff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Charlene Lynum Resident Town of Washington
- Chairman town of Brookfield Keith Henderson Town of Brookfield
- Administrator Tom Hagie Town of Brookfield
- Doug Rowen Town of Troy
- Attorney, Town of Brookfield Michael Van Kleunen -Town Of Brookfield
- Deputy Clerk Jackie Vold Town Of Washington
- Bob Solberg Town of Wahington
- Administrator Janelle Henning Town of Washington
- Town chair GENESEE SHARON LEAIR TOWN OF GENESEE
- Tina Ball Town Of Washington
- Jeffrey White Town of washington
- Town chsir Cynthia Richson Town of middleton
- Rep Karen Hurd 68th Assembly District
- Joe Ruth Wisconsin Towns Association
- Senator Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- ADMONISTRAR T0wn 0f Norway Thomas Kramer -Self
- Executive Director Mike Koles Wisconsin Towns Association

Appearances Against

- Deputy City Manager Ryan McCue City of Janesville
- Joshua Clements American Planning Association Wisconsin Chapter
- Village Manager Joel Gregozeski Village Of Ashwaubenon
- Mayor Rick Petfalski City of Muskego
- Executive Director Scott Mittelsteadt Mid-Moraine Municipal Association
- Director of public utilities Joel Lemke City of Stevens Point
- Mayor Jake Woodford City of Appleton
- Mike Golat City ofvaltoona
- SB 691 Mark Rohloff City of Oshkosh
- Deputy City Attorney Doug Hoffer City of Eau Claire
- Mayor Emily McFarland City of Watertown
- Mayor Brendan Pratt City of ALTOONA
- Council President and league of wi president Emily Berge City of Eau Claire
- CITY MANAGER REBECCA HOUSEMAN CITY OF FORT ATKINSON
- DEPUTY CITY MANAGER DAVID SOLBERG CITY OF EAU CLAIRE
- City Administrator Mark Frye City of OCONOMOWOC
- Derek Punches MEG Wastewater
- Mayor Mark Herter City of new London
- ADMINISTRATOR TRAVIS COENEN VILLAGE OF WRIGHTSTOWN
- Executive Director Jerry Deschane League Of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Mr Don Houston Village of waterford
- Adam Swann City of elkhorn
- Government Affairs Director Toni Herkert League Of Wi Municipalities
- Administrator Zeke Jackson Village of waterford

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Kim Lynum Resident Town of Washington
- SIERRA ROESKE SELF
- David Christian Self
- Chair Jerry Derr Wis Towns

- Jolene Plautz Wi Towns Aasn
- Senator Jesse James
- Chair Town Of Hull Dave Wilz
- Representative Robert Wittke 62 Assembly District
- Joe Raguse

Registrations Against

- PAUL HOLZINGER HOLZINGER HOMES CDPG DEVELOPERS
- CORI LAMONT WI REALTORS ASSOC
- Mr. Chad Hoerth City Of New London
- MAYOR ROB NELSON CITY OF BARABOO
- RICK NIEMEISR CITY OF ONALASKA
- COMMON COUNCIL LEANNE STOKES CITY OF ONALASKA
- TRUSTEE MARK LEONARD VILLAGE OF WRIGHTSTOWN
- VILLAGE ADMINISTRATOR BILL CHANG -VILLAGE OF DEFOREST
- NICK ZAVOS CITY OF MADISON
- City Administrator Beaver Dam Nathan Thiel
- Forbes McIntosh Dane County Cities & Villages Association
- Executive Director Brad Boycks Wisconsin Builders Association

Registrations for Information Only

- James Bohl City of Milwaukee
- Steve Elmore WI DNR

April 11, 2024 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Mitch Sands
Committee Clerk