Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Shared Revenue, Elections and Consumer Protection

Senate Bill 528

Relating to: top-five primaries and instant runoff voting for the offices of U.S. senator and U.S. representative in Congress.

By Senators James, Smith, Cowles and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Representatives Tusler, Riemer, Kurtz, Andraca, Donovan, Doyle, Drake, Joers, S. Johnson, Kitchens, Mursau, Novak, Shankland, Steffen, Subeck, Zimmerman and J. Anderson.

October 16, 2023 Referred to Committee on Shared Revenue, Elections and Consumer Protection

December 12, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(5)	Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen, Quinn,
		Spreitzer and Smith.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Jim Doll
- Senator Jesse James
- Representative Ron Tusler 3rd AD
- Mr. Douglas Alexander Myself
- UW Students Chris Kemp Self Interest
- Reid Ribble Former Congressman
- Sara Eskrich Democracy Found Action
- Kevin Miller Veterans for Wisconsin Voters
- Matt Germer R-Street
- John Pudner Take Back Our Republic Action
- Katherine Gehl Democracy Found Action
- Bob Maline Bridge the Divide and voters first WI
- Josh Wilson Veterans for Wisconsin Voters
- Lena Eng Bridge the divide and voters first WI
- Kelly Grebe Democracy Found Action
- Reece Vydrzal Bridge the divide and Votersfirst WI
- Kendall Park
- Senator Jeff Smith 31st SD
- Rep Dan Riemer 7th AD
- Scott Walter Capitol Research Center

Appearances Against

- Peter Bernegger
- Representative Janel Brandtjen 22nd Assembly District
- Russ Otten
- Ken Dragotta
- Captain James Tesauro
- Scott Milheiser We the People
- Leonard Boltz Vice Chair Republican Party of Langlade County
- Mr. Jerry Mullen
- Steve Hufton Election Integrity for Wisconsin
- Russ Vinkavich
- Sheboygan County Clerk Jon Dolson
- Mr. Jordan Kittleson America First Policy Institute
- John Klinzin JBS
- Annette Kuglitsch Self
- President Jay Stone Hot government
- Congressman Bruce Poliquin Himself -former Maine Congressman
- Madeline Malisa Opportunity Solutions Project
- Roy Leonardson Opportunity Solutions Project
- Steve Rydzewski
- Matt Dean Heartland Impact
- Mr. Trent England Save Our States
- Vice President Chad Ennis Honest Elections Project
- Mr. Harry Roth Stop Ranked-Choice Voting Coalition

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- William Horns
- Tyler Stank
- Beverly Speer Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- John Imes Wisconsin Business for Democracy Collaborative
- UW Student Jonah Schmidtke Self interest
- Jakob Cornell
- Rich Eng
- Mike DeRubis
- Gary Bluemel
- Bob Betzig
- Susan Olson
- Austin Ramirez Husco

- Daniel Gurerra, Jr. Business For Democracy
- Josh Daniels Former Utah County Clerk

Registrations Against

- Mr Donald Gasser Self
- Jefferson Davis Election Integrity for Wisconsin Ad-Hoc Committee
- Kathy Kiernan
- Randy Lippert
- Kevinl Kamps Self
- Deb Werner-Allen
- Tammy Scovronski
- Terri LaFond
- Peter Allard
- Kevin Sande
- Erin Yager
- Sandy Weidner
- Agnes Jackson
- Oriannah Paul
- John Plesetz
- Bill Paul Myself
- Jennifer Milheiser We The people
- Cory Borremans
- Ruth Villareal
- Ardis Cerny
- Rebecca Hogan Wisconsin Defense Counsel
- Sam Rogers Opportunity Solutions Project
- Marvin Munyon Self
- Sandy Juno Brown County Republican Party
- Senator Steve Nass 11th Senate District
- Director of Tax, Transportation, and Legal Affairs Evan Umpir
- Mrs. Carol Vaclavicek Self
- Mr Brian Sikma Self
- Matt Batzel Himself
- Tyler Lamensky
- Rep Glenn Grothman Candidate
- Eli Huber Heritage Action
- Ken Cuccinelli Election Transparency
- Andrew Mangione AMAC Action
- Gina Swoboda Voter Reference Foundation
- Lori Roman American Constitutional Rights Union Action Fund
- Patrick Moynihan Brown County Clerk

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 11, 2024 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

William Neville Committee Clerk