Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Shared Revenue, Elections and Consumer Protection

Senate Bill 464

Relating to: nonrecourse civil litigation advances and providing a penalty. By Senators Wimberger, Ballweg and Roys; cosponsored by Representatives Tusler, Allen, Born, Callahan, Kitchens, O'Connor and Steffen.

September 29, 2023 Referred to Committee on Shared Revenue, Elections and Consumer Protection

December 12, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen, Quinn, Spreitzer and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- State Director Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- RJ Pirlot Wisconsin Civil Justice Council
- Evan Umpir Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Representative Ron Tusler 3rd AD
- Senator Eric Wimberger

Appearances Against

• President Eric Schuller - Alliance For Responsible Consumer Legal Funding

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Brad Boycks Wisconsin Builders Association
- Neal Kedzie Wisconsin Motors Carriers Association
- Kristine Hillmer Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- John Mielke Associated Builders and Contractors of Wisconsin
- Jason Culotta Midwest Food Products Association
- Matthew Hauser Wisconsin Fuel Retailers Association
- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society

- Mr. Andrew Franken Wisconsin Insurance Alliance
- Natalie White Professional Insurance Agents of Wisconsin
- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- President Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Mr. John Cronin Sentry Insurance

Registrations Against

- Jack Kelly American Legal Finance Association
- President Jay Stone Hot government
- Ruth Villareal

Registrations for Information Only

Cory Borremans

January 11, 2024 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen, Quinn, Spreitzer and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Bill 464** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen and Quinn.

Committee Clerk

Noes: (2) Senators Spreitzer and Smith.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

William Neville