Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Shared Revenue, Elections and Consumer Protection

Senate Joint Resolution 78

Relating to: prohibiting state and local governments from using privately sourced moneys or equipment in connection with the conduct of elections and specifying who may perform tasks related to the conduct of an election (second consideration).

By Senators Wimberger, Wanggaard, Nass, Stroebel, Feyen, Ballweg, Testin, Marklein, Cowles, Felzkowski, Tomczyk, Stafsholt and Cabral-Guevara; cosponsored by Representatives August, Bodden, Sortwell, Dittrich, Allen, Steffen, Plumer, Hurd, Maxey, O'Connor, Rettinger, Schutt, Armstrong, Magnafici, Nedweski, Snyder, Petersen, Rozar, Gundrum, Behnke, Mursau, Penterman, Swearingen, Edming, Murphy, Brooks, Binsfeld, Callahan, Green, Summerfield, Moses, Donovan, Dallman, Schmidt, Goeben, Wittke, Duchow, Melotik, S. Johnson, Brandtjen, Born and Gustafson.

October 16, 2023 Referred to Committee on Shared Revenue, Elections and Consumer Protection

October 24, 2023 Public Hearing Held Present: (5) Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen, Quinn, Spreitzer and Smith. Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None. Appearances For

- Sen Eric Wimberger 30th SD
- Steve Lohr
- Gerry Mullen
- Rep Tyler August 32nd AD
- Ron Heuer WI Voter Alliance

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Kathryn Bartelli

Registrations For

- Madeline Malisa Opportunity Solutions Project
- Kyle Koenen WILL
- Steve Heefton Election Integrity for Wisconsin

Registrations Against

- Peter Burress WI Conservation Voters
- Nick Ramos WI Democracy Campaign

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 02, 2023 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present:	(5)	Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen, Quinn,
		Spreitzer and Smith.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by that **Senate Joint Resolution 78** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (3) Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen and Quinn.
- Noes: (2) Senators Spreitzer and Smith.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

William Neville Committee Clerk