## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Shared Revenue, Elections and Consumer Protection**

#### Senate Bill 301

Relating to: county and municipal aid; imposing a city sales tax and an additional county sales tax to pay the unfunded actuarial accrued liability of city and county retirement systems; requiring newly hired city and county employees of certain city agencies and counties to be enrolled in the Wisconsin Retirement System; fire and police commissions of first class cities; eliminating the personal property tax; reporting certain crimes and other incidents that occur on school property or school transportation; advisory referenda; local health officers; local public protection services; exceptions to local levy limits; local regulation of certain quarry operations; emergency services; local approval of projects and activities under the Warren Knowles-Gaylord Nelson Stewardship 2000 Program; requiring a referendum; and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Felzkowski, Cabral-Guevara, James, Quinn and Knodl; cosponsored by Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Vos, August, Born, Armstrong, Behnke, Binsfeld, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Donovan, Duchow, Edming, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, Hurd, Katsma, Kitchens, Krug, Magnafici, Maxey, Michalski, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Rozar, Sapik, Schmidt, Schraa, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tusler and Zimmerman.

May 18, 2023 Referred to Committee on Shared Revenue, Elections and Consumer Protection

#### May 23, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen, Quinn,

Spreitzer and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Mahlon Mitchell Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin
- Mayor Casey Jones City of Brodhead
- Mayor Dennis McBride City of Wauwatosa
- President Jerry Derr Wisconsin Towns Assoc
- City Manager Kevin Lahner and Stephanie Hirsch Lahner
  Cities of Janesville and Eau Claire
- Mayor Ryan Sorenson City of Sheboygan
- Wta director Sharon Leair Wisconsin ten assn

- WTA Executive Director Mike Koles Wisconsin Towns Association
- Eric Daun Milwaukee Professional Firefighters
- City Administrator William Jones City of Mequon
- Vice President Alexander Ayala Milwaukee Police Association
- Representative Tony Kurtz 50th Assembly District
- Mayor Mitch Reynolds City of La Crosse
- Senator Mary Felzkowski
- Mayor Dan Devine West Allis with Rebecca Grill City Administrator
- Andrew Davis MMAC
- Bob Bingen Aggregate Producers of Wisconsin
- Joel Brennan Greater Milwaukee Committee
- Mark OConnell Jerry Deschane Mike Koles Na -Counties Assoc, towns assoc, league of municipalities
- Jerry Deschane
- Administrator Audrey Fredrick City Of Niagara
- City manager Joe Moore City of Fond du Lac
- Chief Angela Moreau Niagara
- Erin Longmire Aggregate Producers of WI
- City Administrator Michael Bablick City of Portage
- Mayor Mitchel Craig Portage
- Alderwoman Tomika Vukovic City of Glendale
- Mayor Steven Ponto City of brookfield
- Retired city council Eileen Nickels Platteville WI
- City council President Barbara Daus City of Platteville citizens
- Alderperson at Large Kathy Kopp City of Platteville

#### Appearances Against

- Executive director Matt Rothschild Wis Democracy Campaign
- Supervisor Peter Burgelis
- County exec Thomas Nelson Outagamie county
- Michael McKittrick Rep Scott Allen
- Carlene Bechen Village of Oregon
- Amanda Peterson Village Of Oregon
- Carlene Bechen Village of Oregon

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Mayor Anissa Welch City of Milton
- Alderman Matt Bieser City of Delavan
- Mrs Darla Leclair City of two rivers

- Mayor Jake Woodford City of Appleton
- Councilor Lindsey Graskey City of Superior
- Sb 301 Mayor Cavalier Johnson City of milwaukee
- Sb 301 David Crowley Milwaukee county
- 301 President jose Perez Make city council
- Sb 301 Marcielia Nicholson

## **Registrations For**

- Joe Strohl Professional FireFighters
- Bob Cook Milwaukee bucks
- Vice President Jarod Miller IAFF L425
- City Administrator Amanda Jackson City of Onalaska
- Finance Director Sabrina Steger Onalaska
- Village Clerk Treasurer Diana Dykstra Village
- Director Of Public Works Carsten Holter City Of Onalaska
- Mayor Joel Ongert City of West Bend
- City Administrator Jay Shambeau City of West Bend
- Trustee Art Bahr Gresham
- Mayor Mary Motiff City of Washburn
- Citizen Dave Stone
- Mayor Gordon Ringberg City of Bayfield
- City Manager Mark Rohloff City Of Oshkosh
- George Klaetsch Wi State Fire Chiefs Assn
- Finance Director Bobbi Zauner Village of Cross Plains
- Village Administrator Brian Mooney Village of Cross Plains
- Administration Director Nicola Maurer City of Platteville
- City Manager Clinton Langreck City of Platteville
- Fire Chief Steve Hansen Fire Department
- Mayor Rob Nelson City of Baraboo
- Michael Nikolai Racine Firefighters L-321
- Steve Wilding Professional Fire Fighters of Wis. f
- Alan DeYoung Wisconsin EMS Association

#### **Registrations Against**

None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

- Executive Director Sharon Schmeling Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools
- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards

- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- President Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Mr Ryan Schwenkner Greendale Local 1777
- Director of Tax, Transportation, and Legal Affairs Evan Umpir Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Mayor Jenifer Quimby City Waterloo
- Mayor Jenifer Quimby City Waterloo
- Susan Quam Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging association
- Beth Bennett WI Newspaper Association
- Michelle Kussow Coalition to Repeal Personal Property Tax

### June 12, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen, Quinn,

Spreitzer and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Spreitzer, seconded by Senator Smith that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (2) Senators Spreitzer and Smith.

Noes: (3) Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen and Quinn.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Moved by Senator Spreitzer, seconded by Senator Smith that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (2) Senators Spreitzer and Smith.

Noes: (3) Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen and Quinn.

SENATE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION, Ayes 2, Noes 3

Moved by Senator Quinn, seconded by Senator Feyen that **Senate Bill 301** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (3) Senator Knodl; Senators Feyen and Quinn.

Noes: (2) Senators Spreitzer and Smith.

# PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

William Neville	
Committee Clerk	