## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety**

### Senate Bill 38

Relating to: expungement of records of certain crimes and discrimination based on expunged conviction.

By Senators Cabral-Guevara, Wimberger, Roys, Felzkowski, James, L. Johnson, Larson, Spreitzer, Taylor, Wanggaard and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Steffen, Tittl, Goyke, C. Anderson, Andraca, Armstrong, Baldeh, Bare, Billings, Brooks, Cabrera, Clancy, Conley, Considine, Donovan, Doyle, Drake, Edming, Emerson, Gundrum, Gustafson, Haywood, Hong, Joers, Kitchens, Krug, Macco, Madison, McGuire, Moore Omokunde, Moses, Mursau, Myers, Novak, O'Connor, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Ratcliff, Riemer, Rozar, Schmidt, Schraa, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Snyder, Sortwell, Stubbs, Subeck, Vining and Zimmerman.

February 03, 2023	Referred to Committee of	on Judiciary and Public Safet
1001uary 03, 2023		m Judiciary and I ublic Salet

## April 18, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(8)	Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque,	
		Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor, Roys and	
		Larson.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(0)	None.	

#### Appearances For

- Mr Benjamin Czap Himself
- Tom Bjornson Himself
- President Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Representative Evan Goyke
- Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara
- Executive Assistant Marianne Oleson EXPO of Wisconsin
- EXPO of Wisconsin fellow Dennis Franklin EXPO of Wisconsin
- Brittany Lee Moes Dream.Org
- David Earleywine Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- State representative David Steffen
- Executive director Shanyeill Mccloud Second chances staffing services
- Eric Howland MOSES and WISDOM

### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## **Registrations For**

- Mr. Jim Palmer WPPA
- Ms. Alice O'Connor WPPA
- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender
- Lynne Davis State Bar of Wisconsin
- Hannah Huffman UMOS
- State Director Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Executive Director Jerome Dillard EXPO of Wisconsin
- Cynthia Ortega MMAC
- Supervisor of grassroots operation Jamiroquan Kittler AFP WI
- Mark Wadium Outagamie County Board of Supervisors
- Steve Lyons WI Chiefs of Police
- Catherine McDermott Badger State Sheriffs
- Catherine McDermott Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association

## **Registrations Against**

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

- Matthew Allord
- Jim Steineke Badger Institute

April 11, 2024 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Eric Barbour Committee Clerk