### **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety**

### Senate Bill 75

Relating to: statutory changes to implement the constitutional amendment relating to conditions of release.

By Senators Wanggaard, Bradley, Cowles, Marklein, Stroebel and Tomczyk; cosponsored by Representatives Duchow, Behnke, Brooks, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Kitchens, Magnafici, Michalski, Murphy, Novak, O'Connor, Rettinger, Rodriguez, Rozar, Spiros, Steffen, Wichgers, Wittke and Neylon.

February 21, 2023 Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

March 07, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(8)	Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque,
		Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor, Roys and
		Larson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Ryan Windorff Wisconsin Fraternal Order of Police
- Senator Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District
- Mr. Soslan Temanson
- Vice President Alexander Ayala Milwaukee Police Association
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police association

Appearances Against

• Adam Plotkin - State Public Defender

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

**Registrations For** 

- Rep Cindi Duchow 99th Assembly District
- Steve Lyons WI Chiefs of police association

**Registrations Against** 

• Amanda Merkwae - ACLU of Wisconsin

**Registrations for Information Only** 

• None.

### March 16, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(8)	Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor, Roys and
		Larson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
	(0)	

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Wanggaard, seconded by Senator Jacque that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (5) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton and James.
- Noes: (3) Senators Taylor, Roys and Larson.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Moved by Senator Wimberger, seconded by Senator Hutton that **Senate Bill 75** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (5) Senator Wanggaard; Senators Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton and James.
- Noes: (3) Senators Taylor, Roys and Larson.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Eric Barbour Committee Clerk