Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Senate Bill 689

Relating to: licensure of dental therapists; extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures; providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures; providing an exemption from rule-making procedures; and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Felzkowski, Hutton, James, Marklein, Roys, Spreitzer, Testin and Ballweg; cosponsored by Representatives Plumer, Behnke, Binsfeld, Callahan, Dittrich, Emerson, Goeben, Jacobson, Joers, Mursau, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Ortiz-Velez, Rozar, Snyder and Tusler.

November 15, 2023 Referred to Committee on Health

December 07, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin,

Felzkowski, Jacque, L. Johnson and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Robin Hemerley Wisconsin Dental Hygienists' Association
- Immediate Past President Jennifer Lehto Wisconsin Dental Hygienists' Association
- Richelle Andrae Wisconsin primary health care association
- Matt Crespin Children's health alliance
- Dr Morna Foy Wtcs
- Layla Merrifield Wis Technical College District Boards Assoc
- Senator Mary Felzkowski 12th Senate District
- Annie Meece Ascension WI

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rep Jon Plumer
- Andy Engel Delta dental of wisconsin

- James Bender The Badger Institute
- Connie Schulze UW Health
- Jodi Bloch Children's wisconsin
- Tracy Wymelenberg Ascension Wisconsin
- Tim Lundquist Wisconsin Association of Health Plans
- Joe Strohl Menominee Indian tribe
- RJ Pirlot Alliance of Health Insurers
- Forbes McIntosh Oneida Nation
- Forbes McIntosh Wisconsin Assisted Living Association
- Melissa Duffy Common Ground Healthcare Cooperative
- Jack O'Meara Wisconsin Association of School Nurses
- Jodi Bloch Children's wisconsin
- Senior Government Relations Director Elisabeth Portz -Elevance Health, Formerly Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

Mary Czech Mrochinski - Marquette University

December 19, 2023 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, L. Johnson and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Bill 689** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, L. Johnson and Carpenter.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 0

Michael Moscicke

Committee Clerk