Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 176

Relating to: permitting pharmacists to prescribe certain contraceptives, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Kitchens, Magnafici, Duchow, Tusler, Binsfeld, Sapik, Rodriguez, August, Born, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Green, Hurd, S. Johnson, Knodl, Krug, Kurtz, Macco, Maxey, Michalski, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, Oldenburg, Plumer, Rozar, Snyder, Spiros, Steffen, Subeck, Summerfield, Swearingen, Vos, Wittke, Sinicki and Clancy; cosponsored by Senators Felzkowski, Cabral-Guevara, James and Marklein.

June 23, 2023 Referred to Committee on Health

July 12, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin,

Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Dr Marina Maes Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin
- Dr Amy Domeyer ACOG
- Representative Joel Kitchens 1st Assembly District

Appearances Against

- Dr. Elizabeth Anderson
- Barbara Sella Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Matt Sande Pro-Life Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Kim Waltz Walgreens
- Executive Director Gina Dennik-Champion Wisconsin Nurses Association
- Kim Walz Walgreens
- Lisa Nelson Walmart
- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Association of Health Departments and Boards

- Representative Donna Rozar
- Danielle Womack Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin

Registrations Against

- Mr Jack Hoogendyk Wisconsin family action
- Physician and pharmacist John Bohn Wisconsin Catholic Medical Guilds

Registrations for Information Only

- HJ Waukau Department of Health Services
- HJ Waukau Department of Health Services

September 13, 2023 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (6) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Jacque, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Assembly Bill 176** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (5) Senator Cabral-Guevara; Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Hesselbein and Carpenter.

Noes: (1) Senator Jacque.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 1

Michael Moscicke Committee Clerk