Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Senate Bill 206

Relating to: maintaining a supply of usable opioid antagonist at a school.

By Senators James, Hesselbein, Feyen and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Zimmerman, Allen, C. Anderson, Behnke, Brandtjen, Cabrera, Dittrich, Duchow, Kitchens, Moses, Mursau, O'Connor, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Sinicki, Spiros and Wichgers.

April 03, 2023 Referred to Committee on Education

May 23, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (6) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Cabral-

Guevara, Larson and L. Johnson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Stroebel.

Appearances For

- Richard Niles ARC
- George Moore SB 206
- Prevention education manager Joe Kiel
- Senator Jesse James 23rd Senate District
- SB 206 Michelle Kullmann Self
- Erin Rachwal Love, Logan
- Jessica Geschke Recovery advocacy project

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• School Programs Coordinator Daniel Henderson - Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools

Registrations For

- Paul Fisk American legion
- Veneeta Fraser Love logan
- Sen Dianne Hesselbein 27th Senate District
- Rep Shannon Zimmerman
- Hannah Huffman UMOS

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

- Ms Kevyn Radcliffe DPI
- Jack O'Meara Wisconsin Association of School Nurses.
- Dan Rossmiller Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Teacher Ryan Mussack
- Teacher Adam Brager
- Dee Pettack SAA

February 05, 2024 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (7) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel,

Cabral-Guevara, Larson and Agard.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that **Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel, Cabral-Guevara, Larson and Agard.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Moved by that **Senate Bill 206** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (7) Senator Jagler; Senators Quinn, Nass, Stroebel, Cabral-Guevara, Larson and Agard.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 0

Charlie Bellin Committee Clerk