## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Economic Development and Technical Colleges**

#### Senate Bill 894

Relating to: a technology and innovation hub grant to BioForward, Inc., and making an appropriation.

By Senators Stroebel, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Quinn, Smith and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Representatives Nedweski, Zimmerman, Gustafson, C. Anderson, Armstrong, Dittrich, Duchow, Goeben, Gundrum, Kitchens, Macco, Maxey, Murphy, Mursau, Petryk, Rettinger, Sapik and Steffen.

January 05, 2024 Referred to Committee on Economic Development and Technical Colleges

January 17, 2024 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (4) Senator Feyen; Senators Stafsholt, Cowles and

Pfaff.

Absent: (1) Senator Knodl. Excused: (1) Senator Taylor.

### Appearances For

- Daniel Biank Accuray
- Senator Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Lisa Johnson BioForward
- Rep Amanda Nedweski Bill Author
- Wendy Harris Wisconsin Biohealth Tech Hub
- Aaron Olver UW Research Park

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- Crystal Potts UW-Madison
- Secretary Missy Hughes WEDC
- Kevin Walters WARF
- President Jay Rothman Universities of wi
- Nathan Franklin Bellin and Gundersen Health System
- Connie Schulze UW Health & UW school of medicine and public health
- Bill McCoshen GE HealthCare

## Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## January 19, 2024 **Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot**

Present: (6) Senator Feyen; Senators Stafsholt, Cowles,

Knodl, Pfaff and Taylor.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that Senate Bill 894 be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senator Feyen; Senators Stafsholt, Cowles,

Knodl and Pfaff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Tim Lakin Committee Clerk