Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture and Tourism

Senate Bill 619

Relating to: a transition to grass pilot program and making an appropriation. By Senators James, Cowles, Pfaff, Smith, Spreitzer and Testin; cosponsored by Representatives Novak, Shankland, Tranel, Oldenburg, Dittrich, C. Anderson, Goeben, Gundrum, Hurd, Jacobson, Joers, Kitchens, Krug, Kurtz, Moses, Mursau and Schmidt.

November 07, 2023 Referred to Committee on Agriculture and Tourism

January 30, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Senator Ballweg; Senators Marklein, Testin,

Quinn, Pfaff, Smith and Spreitzer.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Senator Tomczyk.

Appearances For

- Drew Carlson
- Rep Todd Novak 51st Assembly District
- Mat Boerson
- Shelly Rothman Foxhead Regenerative Agriculture
- Associate Policy Director Chuck Anderas Michael Fields Agricultural Institute
- Farmer Ron Schoepp Schoepp Farms Llc
- Senator Jesse James
- Sara Walling Clean Wisconsin
- Amy Penterman Dairy Business Association
- Exec. Director Matt Krueger WI Land and Water Conservation Assn
- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- Rep. Katrina Shankland
- Owner operator farmer Justin Price Grace Acres Farms LLC Grass Pilot Program
- Linda Ceylor Hillside dairy
- Policy Coordinatlr Michelle White Wisconsin Farmers Union With Lauren Langworthy

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Professor Adena Rissman - Informational - research

Registrations For

- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative network
- Katie Scott League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Conservation Manager Melissa Schlupp Sauk County Land Resources & Environment Dept
- Joe Tomandl Legacy Grass Dairy LLC
- ANGIE SULLIVAN DAIRY GRAZING APPRENTICESHIP
- PAUL HEINEN WI GREENFIRE
- Tim Fiocchi Wisconsin Farm Bureau
- Tom Bressner WI Agri Business Assn.
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Cattlemens Association
- Amy Winters WI Dairy Products Assoc

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 11, 2024 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

David Specht-Boardman Committee Clerk