Record of Committee Proceedings

Joint Committee on Finance

Assembly Bill 846

Relating to: exemptions from public utility regulation regarding electric vehicle charging stations, installation and operation of electric vehicle charging stations by state agencies or local governmental units, and imposing an excise tax on electric vehicle charging.

By Representatives VanderMeer, Gustafson, Oldenburg, Brandtjen, Duchow, Goeben, Gundrum, Hurd, Mursau, Petersen and Tranel; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Quinn, Ballweg, Bradley, Felzkowski, Knodl, Stafsholt, Taylor and Testin.

January 10, 2024 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance

January 11, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Senator Marklein; Representative Born;
Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin
and L. Johnson; Representatives Katsma,
Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Dallman, McGuire
and Andraca.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Senators Wimberger and Roys; Representative

Kurtz.

Moved by Representative Born, seconded by Senator Marklein that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin and L. Johnson; Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.

Tito Suite una i marace

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Born, seconded by Senator Marklein that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin and L. Johnson; Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Born, seconded by Senator Marklein that **Assembly Bill 846** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin and L. Johnson; Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Joe Malkasian Committee Clerk