Record of Committee Proceedings

Joint Committee on Finance

Senate Bill 389

Relating to: adopting changes to the federal Internal Revenue Code for state tax purposes.

By Senator Marklein; cosponsored by Representative Katsma.

September 22, 2023 Referred to Joint Committee on Finance

September 26, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Senator Marklein; Representative Born;

Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin, Wimberger, L. Johnson and Roys; Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kurtz.

Moved by Representative Andraca, seconded by Representative McGuire that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (15) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin, Wimberger, L. Johnson and Roys; Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman,

Rodriguez, Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE AMENDMENT 2 INTRODUCTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Andraca, seconded by Representative McGuire that **Senate Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Senators L. Johnson and Roys; Representatives McGuire and Andraca.

Noes: (11) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin and Wimberger; Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman, Rodriguez and Dallman.

SENATE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION, Ayes 4, Noes 11

Moved by Representative Born, seconded by Representative Katsma that **Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin, Wimberger, L. Johnson and Roys; Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.

Noes: (0) None.

SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Born, seconded by Representative Katsma that **Senate Bill 389** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Senator Marklein; Representative Born; Senators Stroebel, Felzkowski, Ballweg, Testin, Wimberger, L. Johnson and Roys; Representatives Katsma, Zimmerman, Rodriguez, Dallman, McGuire and Andraca.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Joe Malkasian

Committee Clerk