## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Ways and Means**

### Assembly Bill 658

Relating to: a sales tax exemption for road-building equipment; increasing the income tax withholding threshold for nonresidents; modifying the certification requirement for a qualified opportunity fund; prohibiting certain lottery games; and extending the capital gains exclusion to family members who inherit certain farms organized as a partnership or limited liability company.

By Representatives Katsma, Born, Dallman, Edming, Kurtz, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Plumer, Schutt, Steffen, Wichgers and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Pfaff and Tomczyk.

November 09, 2023 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

January 04, 2024 **Public Hearing Held** 

> Present: Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, (12)

> > Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan,

Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer

and Baldeh.

None.

Absent: (0)None. Excused: (0)

Appearances For

- Representative Terry Katsma 26th WI Assembly District
- Senator Howard Marklein 17th WI Senate District
- Jodi Jensen WTBA

### Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

Secretary Peter Barca - WI Department of Revenue

#### **Registrations For**

John Schulze - Associated Builders and Contractors of Wisconsin

## Registrations Against

None.

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

## January 11, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (11) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks,

Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan,

Binsfeld, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Gustafson.

Moved by Representative Callahan, seconded by Representative Dittrich that **Assembly Bill 658** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representative Macco; Representatives

Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Conley, Ohnstad,

Riemer and Baldeh.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Reanna Rasmussen Committee Clerk