Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ways and Means

Assembly Bill 386

Relating to: lowering the individual income tax rates in the third bracket and increasing and expanding the retirement income subtraction.

By Representatives Steffen, Katsma, O'Connor, Allen, Armstrong, August, Born, Behnke, Binsfeld, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Donovan, Duchow, Edming, Goeben, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, Hurd, S. Johnson, Krug, Kitchens, Kurtz, Macco, Magnafici, Maxey, Melotik, Michalski, Moses, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, Penterman, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Rettinger, Rodriguez, Rozar, Sapik, Schmidt, Schraa, Snyder, Sortwell, Swearingen, Summerfield, Tittl, Tusler, VanderMeer, Vos, Wittke, Zimmerman and Oldenburg; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara, Bradley, Knodl, Jagler and Wanggaard.

August 29, 2023 Referred to Committee on Ways and	Means
---	-------

August 30, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks,
		Snyder, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld,
		Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and
		Baldeh.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Dittrich.

Appearances For

- Representative David Steffen 4th WI Assembly District
- Senator Rachel Cabral-Guevara 19th WI Senate District
- Representative Terry Katsma 26th WI Assembly District
- Representative Karen Hurd 68th WI Assembly District
- Evan Umpir Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businessses

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- John Gentry Legislative Fiscal Bureau
- Dan Spika Legislative Fiscal Bureau
- Sean Moran Legislative Fiscal Bureau

Registrations For

- Sean O'Gorman American Foreign Service Association
- Alex Ignatowski IRG Action
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 06, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan,
		Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Gustafson, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 386** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(9)	Representative Macco; Representatives
		Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong,
		Callahan, Binsfeld, Gustafson and Ohnstad.

Noes: (3) Representatives Conley, Riemer and Baldeh.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 3

Reanna Rasmussen Committee Clerk