Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

Assembly Bill 772

Relating to: the tuition grant program for national guard members administered by the Department of Military Affairs.

By Representatives Duchow, Joers, Allen, C. Anderson, Bare, Brandtjen, Conley, Considine, Dittrich, Edming, Emerson, Goeben, Goyke, Gustafson, Jacobson, S. Johnson, Madison, Magnafici, Maxey, Michalski, Murphy, Mursau, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Ratcliff, Shankland, Sinicki, Subeck, Tittl and Haywood; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Hesselbein, Cabral-Guevara, Carpenter, James, Marklein, Nass and Spreitzer.

December 08, 2023 Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

January 11, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Edming; Representatives

VanderMeer, Allen, Michalski, Penterman, Petryk, Snyder, Sortwell, Summerfield, Tittl,

Riemer, Sinicki, Ratcliff and Goyke.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Ortiz-Velez.

Appearances For

- Sen Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- Rep. Alex Joers 79th Assembly District
- Yolanda Medina UW-Milwaukee
- James Cocroft UW-Milwaukee
- Joe Rasmussen UW-Madison

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Rep. Cindi Duchow 99th Assembly District
- Sen. Dianne Hesselbein 27th Senate District
- Bridget Esser Department of Military Affairs
- Deej Lundgren Universities of Wisconsin
- Nicole Stockman UW-Green Bay

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 25, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Edming; Representatives

VanderMeer, Allen, Michalski, Penterman, Petryk, Snyder, Sortwell, Summerfield, Tittl, Riemer, Sinicki, Ortiz-Velez, Ratcliff and

Goyke.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Tittl, seconded by Representative Ratcliff that **Assembly Bill 772** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Edming; Representatives

VanderMeer, Allen, Michalski, Penterman, Petryk, Snyder, Sortwell, Summerfield, Tittl, Riemer, Sinicki, Ortiz-Velez, Ratcliff

and Goyke.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Tyler Longsine Committee Clerk