Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

Assembly Bill 8

Relating to: expanding veterans benefits to individuals who served in Laos in support of the United States during the Vietnam War.

By Representatives Murphy, Armstrong, Baldeh, Brandtjen, Cabrera, Donovan, Gustafson, Kitchens, Mursau, Ortiz-Velez, Penterman, Pronschinske, Shankland, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Subeck, Tittl, Tusler and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Wanggaard, Carpenter, Hesselbein, Pfaff and Spreitzer.

February 07, 2023 Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

March 23, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Edming; Representatives
		VanderMeer, Allen, Michalski, Penterman,
		Petryk, Snyder, Sortwell, Summerfield, Tittl,
		Riemer, Sinicki, Andraca, Ortiz-Velez and
		Ratcliff.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Dave Murphy 56th Assembly District
- Sen. Andre Jacque 1st Senate District
- Paul Fisk American Legion
- William Rosenau CVSO Association of Wisconsin

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Michele Rathke Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW)
- Corey Geisler Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW)
- Michael Furgal Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW)
- MaryAnn Christopherson Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW)
- Adam Wallace Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW)
- Ali Nelson CVSO Association of Wisconsin
- Karl Stuvengen American Legion

• Julie Muhle - American Legion

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 19, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Edming; Representatives
		VanderMeer, Michalski, Penterman, Snyder,
		Sortwell, Summerfield, Tittl, Riemer, Sinicki,
		Andraca, Ortiz-Velez and Ratcliff.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Allen and Petryk.

Moved by Representative Tittl, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Bill 8** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (13) Representative Edming; Representatives VanderMeer, Michalski, Penterman, Snyder, Sortwell, Summerfield, Tittl, Riemer, Sinicki, Andraca, Ortiz-Velez and Ratcliff.
- Noes: (0) None.

Representatives Allen and Petryk indicated that they would have voted Aye if they had been present.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Tyler Longsine Committee Clerk