Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 395

Relating to: requirements for and insurance related to peer-to-peer motor vehicle sharing programs.

By Representatives Duchow, Neylon, Goeben, Gundrum, Kitchens, Mursau, O'Connor, Rettinger, Schmidt, Zimmerman and Stubbs; cosponsored by Senators Stafsholt, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara and Cowles.

September 05, 2023 Referred to Committee on Transportation

October 24, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

> Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Present: (13)

> > Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Ortiz-Velez, Moore Omokunde and Drake.

Absent: (0)None.

Excused: Representative Haywood. (1)

Appearances For

None.

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

None.

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

December 05, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12)Representative VanderMeer; Representatives

Hurd, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt,

Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Moore Omokunde and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Plumer and Ortiz-Velez.

Appearances For

- Representative Cindi Duchow 99th Assembly District
- Kinza Malik Turo
- Erin Benett Turo
- Andy Franken WI Insurers Alliance

Appearances Against

• Al Foeckler - Wisconsin Association for Justice

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Rob Stafsholt 10th Senate District
- Selina Leitner Turo Host
- Tom Fonfara Turo
- Misha Lee American Family Insurance
- Natalie White Professional Insurance Agents of Wisconsin

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 30, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson,

Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Ortiz-Velez, Moore Omokunde and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Haywood.

Moved by Representative Johnson, seconded by Representative Maxey that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Ortiz-Velez and Drake.

Noes: (1) Representative Moore Omokunde.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Hurd, seconded by Representative Johnson that **Assembly Bill 395** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey and Schutt.

Noes: (4) Representatives Considine, Ortiz-Velez, Moore Omokunde and Drake.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Jesse Johnson Committee Clerk