# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Transportation**

## **Assembly Bill 511**

Relating to: permits for certain oversize or overweight vehicles transporting forest products.

By Representatives Mursau, Callahan, Edming, Gustafson, Green, Magnafici, Michalski, O'Connor, Schmidt, Snyder and Swearingen; cosponsored by Senators Tomczyk, Ballweg, Cowles, Felzkowski, Quinn, Testin and Nass.

October 18, 2023 Referred to Committee on Transportation

December 05, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (12) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Hurd, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Moore Omokunde and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Plumer and Ortiz-Velez.

### Appearances For

- Representative Jeff Mursau 36th Assembly District
- Henry Schienebeck Great Lakes Timber Professionals Association
- Pete Johnson Lake States Lumber Association
- Larry Krueger Lake States Lumber Association

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### **Appearances for Information Only**

None.

## **Registrations For**

Amy Boyer - Lake States Lumber Association

## Registrations Against

Peter Kammer - WI Railroad Association

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 09, 2024 **Executive Session Held** 

Present: (13) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives
Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson,
Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood,
Moore Omokunde and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Ortiz-Velez.

Moved by Representative Schmidt, seconded by Representative Johnson that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative VanderMeer;
Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros,
Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey,
Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Moore
Omokunde and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Johnson, seconded by Representative Hurd that **Assembly Bill 511** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative VanderMeer;
Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros,
Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey,
Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Moore
Omokunde and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Had I been present for the Assembly Committee on Transportation Executive Session on January 9th, 2024, I would have voted Aye on Assembly Bill 511.

~Rep. Ortiz-Velez

Jesse Johnson

Committee Clerk