Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 243

Relating to: designating and marking the Operations Desert Storm and Desert Shield Memorial Highway.

By Representatives Kurtz, VanderMeer, C. Anderson, Behnke, Binsfeld, Brandtjen, Donovan, Duchow, Emerson, Goeben, Green, S. Johnson, Kitchens, Macco, Magnafici, Maxey, Michalski, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Penterman, Petryk, Rettinger, Shankland, Sinicki, Spiros, Subeck, Tranel, Wichgers and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Felzkowski, James, Nass, Spreitzer, Taylor, Testin and Wanggaard.

April 28, 2023 Referred to Committee on Transportation

June 06, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives
Hurd, Plumer, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt,
Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Moore

Omokunde and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Spiros and Ortiz-Velez.

Appearances For

- Representative Tony Kurtz 50th Assembly District
- John Weitzel Desert Shield & Desert Storm Memorial
- Paul Fisk American Legion
- Mike Forgal Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW)

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

June 20, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros, Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey, Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Ortiz-Velez, Moore Omokunde and Drake.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Hurd that **Assembly Bill 243** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative VanderMeer;
Representatives Hurd, Plumer, Spiros,
Edming, S. Johnson, Schmidt, Maxey,
Schutt, Considine, Haywood, Ortiz-Velez,
Moore Omokunde and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Jesse Johnson Committee Clerk