### Assembly

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Tourism**

#### **Assembly Bill 856**

Relating to: grants awarded by the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation for the purpose of attracting opportunities and events to Wisconsin.

By Representatives Dallman, Kurtz, C. Anderson, Dittrich, Kitchens, Krug, Mursau, Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Plumer, Schraa, Stubbs, Swearingen and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Bradley, Carpenter, Feyen, Marklein, Spreitzer and Testin.

December 22, 2023 Referred to Committee on Tourism

January 17, 2024 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Magnafici; Representatives
		Swearingen, Kitchens, Krug, Mursau, Plumer,
		Summerfield, VanderMeer, Billings, Stubbs,
		Myers and Joers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Alex Dallman Assembly District 41
- Senator Joan Ballweg Senate District 14
- Claire Koenig Visit Milwaukee
- Bob Cook Milwaukee Bucks
- Bill Elliott Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

**Registrations For** 

- Katie Scott League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Dells Visitors and Convention Bureau
- Susan Guam Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Julia Hertel Destination Wisconsin
- Pam Seidl Fox Cities CVB
- Kalhleen Eickhoff
- Meredith Kleker Wisconsin Rapids

- Matt McLean Visit Marsfield
- Celestino Ruffin Visit Beloit

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### January 31, 2024 Executive Session Held

- Present:(11)Representative Magnafici; Representatives<br/>Swearingen, Kitchens, Krug, Mursau, Plumer,<br/>Summerfield, VanderMeer, Billings, Stubbs<br/>and Myers.Absent:(0)None.
- Excused: (1) Representative Joers.

Moved by Representative Kitchens, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 856** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (11) Representative Magnafici; Representatives Swearingen, Kitchens, Krug, Mursau, Plumer, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Billings, Stubbs and Myers.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Jensen Vendette Committee Clerk