Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs

Assembly Bill 356

Relating to: grants for incumbent local exchange carriers for costs associated with Next Generation 911 and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Kurtz, Novak, Armstrong, Callahan, Dittrich, Donovan, Kitchens, Krug, Moses, Oldenburg, Ortiz-Velez, Petryk, Schmidt, Schraa, Snyder, Spiros, Steffen, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tranel, VanderMeer and Rozar; cosponsored by Senators Testin, James, Marklein, Pfaff, Quinn and Cowles.

October 18, 2023 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

December 20, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Summerfield, Brooks, Moses, Callahan,
		Gustafson, Sinicki, Baldeh and Hong.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(5)	Representatives Green, Schraa, Spiros, Ohnstad
		and Cabrera.

Appearances For

- Rep, Tony Kurtz 50th Assembly District
- Bill Esbeck WSTA
- Jamie Jones TDS

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Pat Testin 24th Senate District
- Buddy Julius AT&T
- Kelly Shipley Brightspeed

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 10, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present:	(11)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Green, Summerfield, Brooks, Spiros, Moses,
		Callahan, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Baldeh and Hong.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Cabrera.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Schraa and Gustafson.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Sinicki and Ohnstad.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Baldeh and Hong.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 356** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (11) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Baldeh and Hong.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk